We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night long weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   595 Martinsville Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Boca Raton, FL
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“3 night long weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We arrived very late on a Thursday night. Had adjoining rooms for a family of 5. Rooms a bit small, amenities sparse. Not a lot of towels or shampoo/conditioner offered, no shower cap either which I don't often use, but my hair was just done! One room smelled a bit musty and had a heavy air freshener smell to it. King sized Bed mushy & bed pillows small!! Pull out couch used by my 9 year old not made up and when we arrived after midnight & had to make it up myself. Bistro area pleasant with limited food menu, alcohol served until 1am only due to local ordinance.

Was in the area for a family function so not too much time spent in the hotel. Grounds look beautiful! Easy access to highways.

Room Tip: Room 373 smelled musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
hnsadler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel, I know your time is valuable and we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. You mentioned a couple of the amenities were sparse or not present. We do stock each room with a standard amount of amenities but we are more than willing to provide you with additional items upon request. I am so sorry your room smelled musty, we have addressed this by completing in essence a deep clean of this room to eliminate the source of the odor. Our standard is to leave the sofa bed unmade in each room but a quick phone call to the front desk and we will have the bed made for you. It is wasteful and not ecologically friendly to continuously wash sheets and blankets on sofa beds that are not used and the majority of our guests do not use these beds. The Courtyard by Marriott has recently changed the standard of the pillows and we will be purchasing all new pillows in the near future.

Thank you,

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
65
21
12
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Jena at the Courtyard Marriott Front Desk was very pleasant and extremely helpful. I've stayed here several times and always recommend this hotel to my business associates. The amenities like the fitness center are wonderful and the french toast in the cafe is the best.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I frequently stay at this hotel. On my last trip, Ms Jena was extremely helpful and quickly resolved a minor concern I had. She also extended a free breakfast voucher which was much appreciated.

i would not hesitate in recommending this place to other business associates.

.
.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
HassanH,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel!! I am so glad Jena was able to handle your “minor” concern. We feel that resolving guest issues is extremely important. We know we are not perfect so we emphasize rectifying service lapses so all guest are satisfied with their stay with us. I will personally thank Jena for taking care of you! Also, thank you for recommending us!!

Sincerely,

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Love the atmosphere of the new bistro! I have been coming here for years and it still feels like home! Meliz greeted me with cookies and a warm welcome! It is no wonder our company comes here time and time again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
fflyer1,

So glad to here you like the new Bistro – we have been getting many great comments from others as well. Glad to here Meliz was so hospitable and offered cookies. She will be so happy you mentioned her. I will also thank her for taking care of you.

Thank you for being so loyal!!!

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

i have been staying here for 7 months and the staff has been excellent. service has been outstanding and overall hotel is excellent. Meliz, Kelly, patrice, jenna, jessica steven and the wait staff have been particularly helpful and responsive to all of my needs. You should be proud of this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
john t,

I am so glad you have stayed with us so long and that you appreciate many of our staff members. I am very proud of all of my associates at this hotel. I am always particularly impressed when they are so outstanding you remember their names. I will recognize the associates you mentioned and thank them for their great work!!

Thank you!!

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night, 8/25/12 with my husband as we had a family wedding that was nearby. The staff at check in were very nice and everything went smoothly. The room was very nicely appointed and spotless. The desk area had a high speed data port and there was an outlet in the desk lamp. There were also a couple other outlets in the room. We had brunch the next day with the wedding party in a private room and everything was quite nice. The only thing that I will complain about is your WiFi as it really is not very good at all but other than that I highly recommend this hotel. Just fix the WiFi and everything will be perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Sandi149,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel!! You had many kind words about our hotel which I am very appreciative!! We have recently upgraded our internet services. This upgrade enables us to have ten times the bandwidth over our previous service. This was a common complaint but now we no longer have these issues or complaints.

So glad you enjoyed our hotel while attending a wedding!!

Regards,

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The BR Courtyard is a great central Jersey option. Staff is very friendly and ready to meet your needs. Workout room has great equipment along with a pool option. Check staff greeted me like a long lost friend and by name. Nice touch!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaskingRidge, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Tim M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel!! I am so happy to here you were greeted as a long lost friend!! Our goal is take make all of our guest feel welcome. We do have great new exercise equipment with individual HD TVs on many of our aerobic machines and the room is also much larger than most Courtyards.

Thank you for staying with us!!!

Scott Selby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge

Address: 595 Martinsville Road, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920
Location: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Basking Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four story hotel; modern guest facilities for the business or leisure traveler; convenient location off Routes 78 and 287. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Basking Ridge Hotel Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Basking Ridge Marriott
Basking Ridge Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Basking Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.