We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd annual visit; still treated like royalty.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sand Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sand Castle to your Saves list
The Sand Castle
710 Bayview Avenue, P O Box 607, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“3rd annual visit; still treated like royalty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Words almost fail to describe the level of luxury and pampering that this Innkeeper maintains. Knowing that the Sandcastle is on the horizon helps me cope with our Minnesota sub-zero winters.
The rooms are beautifully appointed in sea shore themes. The breakfasts are sumptuous and include an array of fresh, ripe fruit, and entrees ranging from Eggs Benedict to waffles, and, oh, be sure to have the trademark scone with creme fraiche! Yummy!
Nancy is available 24/7 by cell phone to insure your every desire is fulfilled. She's the best!
If you want to experience the best, reserve now!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Simply stated, the inn keeper treats you they way she would like to be treated. This is evidenced by the quality amenities. Large, soft beach towels, comfortable beach chairs and an umbrella were available for use as well as newer bikes. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent! I would hightly recommend this B&B as it was probably the best B&B experience we've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Came straight here literally from a 3-night stay on Times Square. It was like coming to a ghost-town, and we loved it. Quiet, serene; we felt like we had the place to ourselves, although there were other guests right next to us. A well-run B&B, Nancy goes above and beyond to make the whole experience wonderful. Our room was large, clean, and had a DISTANT view of the bay (Sunset Vista Suite); in-room Jacuzzi was great. The bed was sooooo comfortable....didn't want to get out of it.

Breakfast: Best of our entire vacation. Everything fresh and home-made from their own recipes. Crème-brulee French-toast was the best!! Muffins or banana-bread; juice; hot, strong coffee. We were never really hungry enough to eat lunch!!

Had a 70 degree day and spent it on the beach with maybe 6 other people. The lighthouse is a short walk away and beach access is reasonable, if you know where to go (ask before you start out). The next day we had rain and enjoyed being in the room.

Nancy is what makes this B&B a cut above the rest. She made us feel very welcome, each morning at breakfast she spent individual time with each guest giving suggestions for the day and we felt like she was getting to know us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Sand Castle seemed like a charming New England Inn to me..... one where the owner is an interesting person, and also is interested in you as her guest. The 'other Nancy,' who we met in the breakfast area, was delightful as well. We enjoyed our room, Egret's Landing. It was fun having a drink on own porch with a view out to bay. We also thought it was convenient having an outside entrance directly from the room.

The breakfast was outstanding! And don't miss having a scone even though you have plenty to eat without it! It was the best scone I have had since I was in Scotland.

Sand Castle's location in Barnegat LIght is great...close to the lighthouse, restaurants and a 'shortish' walk to a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed there on our anniversary and we were not disappointed! This is a beautiful B&B located right on the bay in Barnegat Light, my wife's favorite part of LBI! Our room was small but very clean and very well appointed; but you don't go to LBI to sit in your room. The entire facility was very charming, especially the common area upstairs which was fabulous, with beautiful furniture, a piano, and decorated with tons of "Santa's" which give the place a very warm, inviting year-round holiday feeling. Also, don't miss breakfast, it was awesome. If you're looking for an amazing sunset with nothing in your way, make sure you go up to the roof top deck. "Hats off" to Nancy, our owner/hostess who makes her guests feel like family! We'll surely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at The Sand Castle for two nights in the Seascapes room. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable and the sheets are very high quality. Although the bathroom was small it was very clean. The property is very well kept. It has a pool that unfortunately we were not able to use since it was raining. The full breakfast was scrumptious!!! Awesome scones and coffee. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful place to stay! Can't think of anything to improve it! Nancy is a great host. Always happy to return! The breakfasts are delicious......and you even have choices! Enjoyed Chowderfest this weekend too!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Sand Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sand Castle

Address: 710 Bayview Avenue, P O Box 607, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnegat Light
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashore contemporary, sparkling clean bed and breakfast accommodation with water view rooms and spacious suites, all with private entrance from the outside, private bath, some with jacuzzi, some with a porch and all with a sumptuous full breakfast each morning. Modern amenities including free wifi, HDTV, DVD player, library of current DVD's,common areas with grand piano and game tables, in-room hair dryer, robes and beach towels, chairs and umbrella. Enjoy your day at the beach or out on the bay then return to our beautiful outdoor, heated pool (available summer only) and courtyard area or enjoy complimentary bikes to ride around town. We are close to restaurants and shopping and a short drive to golf. Relax on our beautiful rooftop deck overlooking a panoramic view of the Barnegat Bay and the Barnegat Lighthouse. Then celebrate our colorful sunsets as you pass another relaxing day at the Sand Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sand Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sand Castle Hotel Barnegat Light
The Sand Castle Barnegat Light, NJ - Long Beach Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sand Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.