We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chowda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Old Barney Restaurant

Kelly's Old Barney Restaurant
3rd and Broadway, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ
609-494-5115
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Boonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Chowda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Can't really review the restaurant per se as we only had take out. The NE style clam chowder was really scrumptious! Seemed like a nice little place for lunch or dinner and the two people who helped me with the take out were very friendly and customer oriented. I would definately go back if only for the chowda.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manahawkin, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Barnegat Light option ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a great place for a casual Diner style breakfast. CASH ONLY... We had dinner there at the recommendation of a friend, the seafood is outstanding, but it was too expensive! It might be worth it if the restaurant was a little better kept. Might? The wine glasses were very small and dishwasher foggy. For BYOB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“homemade clam chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This place is just down the street from Barnegat Light State Park and I wouldn't have gone in except a local recommended it. She was right. The restaurant advertises homemade Manhattan clam chowder. I usually prefer New England but tried Manhattan and it was delicious. Picturesque setting with a large back yard table area too. I bought a quart each of the Manhattan chowder and the Mew England chowder to take home. They doctor up their New England chowder from a base bought elsewhere. It turns out to be yummy too. Fresh fish every night, but I was there for lunch. I'd like to go back in the evening.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“"Most salivating Cuisine"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

"Every thing , Food ,Ambiance, Waiters', Sushi, Drinks", Love the Irish ". "Great hearty meals' for , Dinner and lunch. " Try the Sligos" Corn beef, lot's of mozzarella". "Definitely get your moneys' worth". Local well known spot and another great meeting place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, NJ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cute, local place. Food just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Recently went with 2 adults and 4 kids. Service was quick and good, unfortunately food was just ok. My son gets a taylor ham, egg and cheese anywhere we go that has it on the menu. For the first time ever, he wouldn't eat it. All of the other dishes were blah too. Great location, just wish I could say the same about the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Old Barney Restaurant also viewed

Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
 
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Kelly's Old Barney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's Old Barney Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.