We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare bones Affordable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Whale Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnegat Light
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Whale Motel
Save Saved
You added White Whale Motel to your Saves list
20 West Seventh Street, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006   |  
Hotel amenities
Kingston, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bare bones Affordable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a downstairs room which was just large enough for a double bed and bathroom with a shower. The air conditioner didn't work, but it cooled off at night and was not a problem. I would not want to stay there on a hot night without a working air conditioner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George B, Owner at White Whale Motel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Walt, you did not tell us that there was a problem with the air conditioner in your room.
We keep spare AC units on the premises; if you told us we would have immediately rectified the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

After walking by this quaint motel countless times during trips to LBI, we decided to stay here as a partial-week alternative to the weekly beach house rental. We stayed in the HUGE Bay Suite and I'm writing this review because I couldn't be happier with our decision to stay here. With a sun porch and private deck, kitchen, living room, dining room, 2 bedrooms, and full bath, you cannot beat the value factor. Beach badge use is included, there is an outdoor shower, and it's within walking distance of all Barnegat Light has to offer. The beach at the end of the block is pretty wide, but the town offers frequent on-beach shuttles to the shoreline. Alternatively, you can walk, bike or drive a bit south to a block that has less of a sandy trudge to the ocean. For those accustomed to staying at a rental, there is an added bonus: linens/towels are included, daily maid service is provided, and there's no Saturday/departure day scrub-down. The extremely accommodating manager let us hold on to our badges after check-out for a bonus beach day, and allowed use of the outdoor shower when we returned the badges. It's not fancy, but this place is remarkably perfect. (The downstairs rooms look pretty small but are very reasonably priced.)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We visited preseason. Four adults and an infant. We stayed in room 201, which is a huge 2 bedroom suite. More like an apartment. Fully equipped kitchen, great dining space, huge sun porch, we immediately felt right at home. No trouble cooking up a great meal with fresh seafood from Cassie's. If you are planning on cooking, bring spices and condiments you may need. If we lived closer,we would be regular guests. We all loved the easy going ambience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burdett, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

So close to all that Barnegat Light offers the serious birders and yet affordable, clean, comfortable with very friendly, concerned owners and....very reasonable rates. We walked everywhere and appreciated the great diner around the corner for coffee early in the AMs and a next door restaurant for some very good food and drink.

Room Tip: We were the first guests of the season and had a downstairs front room which for us was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was our first time staying here when our other hotel on Long Beach Island was not available. The rooms are very small (very, no exaggeration) but, as others have commented here, they are clean and the motel's location can't be beat. Just minutes away from the beach, from several good restaurants, and from the bay. The price is also a huge plus and, really, what more do you need besides a clean room and affordable rates when your destination is a New Jersey beach vacation?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley, Alabama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My son and I were on Long Beach Island during the months of Nov.2012 and Dec.2012 for storm claims from SSSandy. We found White Whale Motel while on the island working.After many days of being on the road we found the motel by accident .It was Thanksgiving day -we were able to get a room that night. It was wonderful the room was very nice super clean ,the owners were great in helping us with everything , WiFi and directions around the island. We will return to White Whale again but this trip will be to relax and enjoy the island . We were there about 3 weeks in room 104. Worked in another area of New Jersey and came back for 1 week in room 101. Both rooms were great. I have told many friends and family about this true island treasure.

Room Tip: all of the rooms will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

First stay at the motel, in a 2 bedroom hotel room. Was very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and friendliness of the staff. Within walking distance to the light house, restaurants and a 10 minute walk to a gorgeous beach. In a very quiet area, perfect for a weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Whale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Whale Motel

Address: 20 West Seventh Street, Barnegat Light, Long Beach Island, NJ 08006
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Barnegat Light
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnegat Light
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly motel located in Barnegat Light, a small quiet town on the northern tip of Long Beach Island A short walk to the ocean, bay, inlet and some of the best beaches at the Jersey ShoreResturants, gift shops and antique shops located nearby We are the closest motel to the Barnegat Lighthouse and the Barnegat Inlet ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Whale Hotel Barnegat Light
White Whale Motel Barnegat Light, NJ - Long Beach Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Whale Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.