We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in early is NOT Available!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jack O'Lantern Resort

Jack O'Lantern Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jack O'Lantern Resort to your Saves list
Jack O'Lantern Resort
Rt. 3, P.O. Box A, Woodstock, NH 03293   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Check in early is NOT Available!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We arrived at the resort at about 11:30am just a half hour after you could check in which we thought was great because we were only here for one night. We could not check in to the room it was not ready and we would need to come back. The women at the desk not friendly at all and gave us no reason and no time to return. We did come back at 1:30pm thinking the room would be ready by now, another women much nicer said "they only had one house keeper, one quit last week, and the other called out sick. Why didn't the first women notify us when we checked in first. We were able to check in at 1:30pm. Arriving in our room there were empty beer cans on top of the curtains! Strange? Rest of the room "ok". Beds uncomfortable. We decided to go swimming later on in the evening the pool was ice cold and the lighten in the pool area was pitch black. They only thing that was good was the food. We did have a nice breakfast buffet on Saturday, but when we checking in at the restaurant our name was not on the list. We did get a room with breakfast included. I do not recommend this resort. The hospitality was terrible and rooms need to be checked for random trash. If we could of checked in early we could of seen a lot more of NH. We will never stay here again. Don't recommended it!

Room Tip: Rooms with a mountain view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Having been going to the Jack for 11 years now. I have 12 guys in two condo's. We go in either June or July. I would not give this course 5 stars by it self but when you add in the Price, Condos, and Food it is for sure 5 stars.

Condos are spacious. They have a full kitchen, and plenty of room for us to all hang out at night and play cards.

Golf course is not the most interesting layout. Over the past 3 years you can tell there has been a effort to upgrade the course conditions.

Staff is always friendly . All and all its a great place to go. Staff is always friendly

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the 3 bedroom condo for a long weekend in January 2013. The condo is a decent size and the living room /kitchen area is on a smaller side. It has a screened in porch and a balcony. There is 2 1/2 bathrooms and a laundry room. It was great for families with kids. We did some sledding in the back. The heated pool is a decent size with a nice jacuzzi. The location is great downtown is close and loon mountain is 15 min away. This would be a great placeto visit in any season. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a fantastic get a way weekend. The unit was very clean, the bed was comfortable. Everything to make you feel at home. We were even able to watch the scenic train ride by, which was during the day. The grounds were beautiful and well kept.
The unit was very well kept and decorated nicely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Went there on a 3 day golf trip Monday-Wednesday. Played 18 on Monday, 36 Tuesday and 18 Wednesday. The course is in rough shape. There are no fairways to speak of - the grass is high everywhere. 4 of the greens were in rough shape. It's also a very strange layout - the 9th hole is no wear near the clubhouse. Everything closed at 5. The food in the bar was awful - the cheeseburgers were bad, continental breakfast was the same food all 3 days. The rooms were dirty. There were cobwebs in the patio and all over the patio. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Property is in need of some attention. These are individually owned condominiums, so the interior conditions vary greatly. The unit we had was tired and in need of upgrades. Golf course was in rough shape on the back nine due to flooding last fall. They have not invested the money to repair areas of this course.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were there at the end of the season, but at a great time for leaf peeping. The course was not in the best shape, we had got there right after a rain storm, but it was beautiful and the owners very nice. We weren't just there for golf, but for the fall colors and some hiking, which made this a great jumping off point for our days.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jack O'Lantern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack O'Lantern Resort

Address: Rt. 3, P.O. Box A, Woodstock, NH 03293
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jack O'Lantern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack o`Lantern Hotel Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack O'Lantern Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.