We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place........will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Motel

Carriage Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage Motel
Save
You added Carriage Motel to your Saves list
180 Main Street, Woodstock, NH 03262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
mt clemens mi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“nice place........will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

dennis and frans run this mom and pop operation. they go out of their way to make u feel at home. clean rooms, and clean pool w/game room. they have a nightly fire and barbeque grills for you to cook the steaks you purchase from the meat market across street....... very nice set up. we stayed here on way to bar harbor and liked it so well , we returned on way back. its in town and short walk to local restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: I wish I could find a place like this every time I went out of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gardner, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place is awesome, yes it is old and dated, but it is probably the most clean room I have ever stayed in!! it still has vibrating beds, the rooms are small but it has everything you need. It is right on the river, they have full size gas grills to use to cook with, the place is very deceiving from the road, I had stayed there a few years back and the kids loved it. The game room is very nice, the out door pool is very clean and big, they have many things to do game wise hidden from the road, horse shoes and such. The owners are super friendly. Right across the street is a 24 hour store with a full deli/butcher shop with excellent cuts of beef for the grill, This is also very close to all attractions, My kids love this place and the rates are excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and the river is there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived in town with no plans other than looking for some moose, and we were lucky to get a room on a Saturday night. The owner was so helpful and friendly, the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The town overall is really charming, so we will be back and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at The Carriage Motel a few times. Usually after he has done a 2 or 3 day hike of the White Mountains. We always come back when we are in the area. It's cheap, clean, convenient and comfortable. The owner is such a nice person and very helpful and knowledgeable. You really can't beat the price. It's very close to a lot of excitement. Plus, our favorite, the Woodstock Inn Brewery. The fixtures and decor are outdated, but clean and comfortable. The pool is very nice and the game room is nostalgic.
Always a pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: Queen beds are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was our fourth stay at this little gem. Hikers, hostelers and anyone who appreciates simplicity will see the charm here. There are no fancy chairs, hairdryers, mini-bottles of shampoo or bathrobes. However, the rooms are spotless and the mattresses are super comfortable. Bear in mind that prior to spending a few nights here, we had just spent a night in a hotel which commands a price 4x higher -- and I slept much better at the Carriage Motel!

The owner is congenial and welcoming. He turned the heat on in preparation of our arrival on a cold early fall evening. He keeps an eye on who comes and goes at the motel, which gives one a nice sense of security (no late night parties to disturb you). The motel especially caters to AT through hikers, with a convenient "hiker box" in the lobby where hikers can exchange leftover supplies.

If a clean, affordable place to rest is your style, this is the place for you. You might want to bring your own towel if you absolutely need a big luxurious one, as these are on the small side. Other than that, you'll find it's the best kept secret in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The Carriage Motel is not a 5 star resort by any measure, however, that doesn't make it any less of a great spot to stay when in Woodstock or going to Loon Mt or hiking the Appalachian Trail.
The rooms are typical of a by-gone era of mountain motels. You will find wood paneling, a smallish tile bathroom and a little refrigerator waiting for you in your room. The beds are pretty comfortable and as an added bit of nostalgia (fun?) you can drop a couple of quarters in to the box next to the bed and the "Magic Fingers" will "massage" your cares away. You will even find a Carriage Motel comb in the room!
While this style may not be for everyone, rest assured that you will have a clean room and comfortable stay. There is a pool and game room on the property to keep everyone occupied and the stream behind the motel is a great spot to sit and relax or even to drop in a fishing line. If ever you need anything or want directions or advice on what to do in town, just ask Dennis, the owner, and he will point you in the right direction.
There are a few places to eat and a small convenience store across the road.
The Carriage Motel is a great location at a great price as long as your expectations are in the right place you are sure to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carriage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Motel

Address: 180 Main Street, Woodstock, NH 03262
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Woodstock
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woodstock
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.