We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afton Inn Bed & Breakfast

Afton Inn Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolfeboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Afton Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Afton Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
31 Waumbeck Road, P.O. Box 302, Wolfeboro, NH 03894   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great bed and breakfast 2 miles from downtown Wolfeboro. Beautiful well kept rooms. Breakfast excellent. Home and grounds immaculate. Paul and Debbie were great and had plenty of info to share about the area.

Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

First the pros - the inn is quiet, the rooms are clean, lots of parking. Debbie was able to accomodate us with breakfast half an hour early on our day of departure.
Cons - Water stains on the ceiling in our room, some peeling exterior paint
Inadequate lighting for reading in bed (no overhead light, just a very small lamp we were able to move from the dresser to the bedside table)
Thermostat in one upstairs bedroom controls both rooms.
Breakfasts were NOT "sumptuous" or "gourmet" as per the website, probably the worst we've ever had in a B&B
An old wooden trunk can be interesting decor, but an army green metal trunk? Not much sense of style.
Our bill was $300 to high. It was corrected when we called it to Debbie's attention. Then when we got home we realized we'd been charged the same rate for weekday and weekend night, although we'd been quoted a lower rate for the weekday. While the money was refunded promptly, we still felt this was unprofessional. (It was not larcenous, just disorganized.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the afton inn and we personally greeted by the inn keepers, Paul and Debbie. They should us our room which was lovely. We especially loved that we had our own heating zone and thermostat (essential for a cold New Hampshire weekend). We stayed in the Field side suite which had a whirlpool soaking tub and a seperate bathroom with a stall shower. Room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Debbie checked in with us to see if we needed information about dinner options. She also thoughtfully asked about any dietary restrictions and preferences for breakfast. We dined at The Resturant in town based on her recommendation. The next morning we awoke to freshly brewed coffee, fresh orange juice, and sliced fruit. The main breakfast was perfectly golden waffles with a generous serving of maple syrup. We then borrowed a book from the inn, "New Hampshire drives" we planned out to complete drive 8, a tour around Lake Winnipesaukee. It was a nice drive though little towns in the lakes region. That night we returned and relaxed and soaked in the tub. My only suggestion for improvement would be bigger and better quality towels. The inns towels were standard grade white towels which were sufficient. Larger, fluffier bath sheets would've been amazing after a soak. The next morning we had a different breakfast of eggs Benedict, also accompanied with juice, fruit, and coffee. Overall, this is a charming and intimate inn and we would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Afton Inn. The Inn is located on a quiet road, a couple miles from the center of town. The rooms are very clean and quite comfortable. We enjoyed using the living room in the evening. There is also a large porch for sitting, with one section screened. Breakfast was delicious, with coffee, pitcher of juice, fresh fruit cup, and an entree of egg dish or pancakes, with sausages. We found the innkeepers, Debbie and Paul, to be very pleasant and friendly, with advice about local events and attractions. There are a couple of free public beaches located a mile or two away, a 6 mile biking/walking trail, and multiple shops and restaurants to visit in Wolfeboro.

As a previous reviewer mentioned, one room has unusual bathroom accommodations, with the shower actually in an alcove in the bedroom, separated only by the shower curtain and a bit of tile. The toilet is in another alcove behind a folding door. Although it seems odd at first, you do get used to this quickly. But ask for a different room if you want more privacy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

The room was quiet and comfortable. However, the breakfast was extremely disappointing when compared to other B&Bs. There was no cereal. We were served a small glass of orange juice, small bowl of chopped fruit, scrambled egg on 1 slice of white toast with 2 tiny, tasteless sausages. Nothing else was offered. It was very stingy considering the price we paid for one night. I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — Lousy breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

The Afton Inn is a lovely old - yet spotless - converted home just outside Wolfeboro. Hosts Debbie and Paul are very welcoming and you are made to feel very much part of their tastefully decorated home - which people who like the intimacy of B&Bs will appreciate, although if you prefer the anonymity of hotels/not having someone know when you're coming and going you might find the friendliness a little overfamiliar.
Downside was it is rather far out of town - too far in my opinion to walk there and back for an evening out (at least 45 minutes for a fit person) which means one of your party needs to drive. Check the bathroom facilities before you book - ours had a separate ensuite but we understand some have a bath in the bedroom which might not suit everyone's need for privacy!

  • Liked — Tastefully decorated antique rooms
  • Disliked — Distance from Wolfeboro
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

Stayed at the Afton Inn last night. Very nice and clean room. The hosts were gracious and welcoming. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afton Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 31 Waumbeck Road, P.O. Box 302, Wolfeboro, NH 03894
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Wolfeboro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Wolfeboro
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afton Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.