We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant - CLOSED

The Restaurant
12 North Main Street, Wolfeboro, NH 03894
603.569.3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The simple name belies a unique place to dine. Since it was getting chilly, the back room had a elaborate heater with very visible flame. Menu varied and tasty...very homey atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This restaurant is located in town and one of, if not, the best. the ambience is excellant and the main dining room well done. The bar area was busy, as was a separate enclosed outdoor area. Make reservations. The menu selection and food quality is very good with a lot of specials. Good kiddie menu and options for all special diets. This kitchen is good as was the service.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good location, food not consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We visited this restaurant twice in a week for lunch. The first time I ordered the cob salad and it was fairly good. There was a good 3 ounces of recently grilled chicken on it, which was fairly suculent. We came back 2 days later and I ordered the same thing. This time there was only about an ounce and a half of chicken, the only protein on the plate besides half an egg. I complained about the lack of chicken and the waitress agreeded with me, and they brought about 2 more ounces. If I hadn't eaten here before I would have assumed that this small amount of chicken was normal. The salad is a tad overpriced for what you get on the plate. The service was slow the first time, but fine on the second occassion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were happy with our dinner at The Restaurant. Veggie rangoons to start (although take note, this seems to mean "vegetarian" rather than "with vegetables" - - these are tasty but filled with cream cheese; no vegetables in sight. The entrees of grilled steak tips and shrimp in thai red curry sauce were very good. Note that daily specials seem to sell out early thought. A good choice in an area with limited selections for dinner. Service mostly excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Got to sit outside and enjoy both the food and the watching the people in Wolfboro. Service was OK, nothing outstanding, but it seems to be summer college help.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.