We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Made Ice Cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrissey's Front Porch

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Morrissey's Front Porch
286 South Main Street, Wolfeboro, NH 03894
603-569-3662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Wolfeboro
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Mount Washington, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Home Made Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

It was a 90+ degree day and my husband, my self and our two friends were enjoying the scenery of New Hampshire, when hunger for something cold struck! We saw Morrissey's, and knowing nothing about them, we decided to throw caution to the wind, and give them a try.
Hubby and I are big fans of Rum Raisin Ice Cream, and although they did not have this on their menu, they had Frozen pudding. The nice waitress offered us a taste, and it was so creamy and refreshing that we both ordered this flavor, which is quite similar to Rum Raisin, in small waffle cones. Their servings are so generous and the pricing very fair! Our friends had dishes of Butter Crunch and Black Raspberry Chocolate Chip Frozen Yogurt, respectively and loved it. I can attest to the fact that our car was pretty quiet while we all enjoyed the rich, creamy, goodness!
We all talked about the fact that there are very few 'real' ice cream places left in the country. This was such a surprise and the staff was so kind and friendly!
We will be making another trip back (again and again)!
So, if you are in Wolfboro, NH plan a stop in for a meal and/or ice cream!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    7
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a nice, old-fashioned, family restaurant. They are most well known for their ice cream. It hasn't really changed in the forty something years I have been going there. The waitresses are always sweet and pleasant

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can't miss in Wolfeboro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Loved the casual atmosphere, and the food was homemade and delicious. Very affordable, and the servers were great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Every time we come to Wolfeboro we eat here for at least one meal. It is consistently good...food, service and atmosphere. Clean friendly, casual and relaxed. They also have senior citizen specials!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Homestyle Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Although we only visit Wolfeboro, NH every few years, a trip would be incomplete without at least one meal at our family favorite Morrissey's Front Porch. Last night, yet again, we were not disappointed. My DH ordered the fried whole belly clams, the ONLY way he loves them, and declared them to be as tasty as found on Cape Cod. I enjoyed the incredibly flavorful and stuffed French Dip Roast Beef sandwich. No room for the noteworthy ice cream that draws visitors on a nightly basis all summer long.
Our waitress could not have been nicer, and considering we arrived shortly before closing!

We have the rest of the week in Wolfeboro and I'm sure we will be stopping in at Morrissey's again because even though we are on vacation and like to try new restaurants, knowing there is a cozy local place that consistently serves delicious Homestyle meals is the best!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrissey's Front Porch also viewed

 

Been to Morrissey's Front Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrissey's Front Porch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.