We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very old fashioned inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spalding Inn

Save Saved
You added Spalding Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Spalding Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   199 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
Hotel amenities
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“very old fashioned inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A good place to be "unplugged" as you have no tv and just a playstation area for the kids. As if you were back in the 1950's...fine for me, but not exactly what we expected. My teenagers would have been bored if they weren't so tired from spending the day at Franconia Notch.

Dinner was really good and well priced, but maybe someone didn't show up for work that night, since it took forever to get service and only two people were working. I think one was the front desk clerk! The chicken parm was HUGE and delicious and the salmon was great.

Room Tip: some rooms are supposedly "haunted"..we slept fine in one that had no ghosts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    38
    18
    18
    11
See reviews for
43
88
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Didn't even stay the night. The room was very old and dated. One window was rotting and mildewed with water stains on the wall below. The mattress of the twin beds that were put together was clearly ancient and was filthy. The bathroom---really, update a little. Floor was dusty and clearly hadn't been cleaned. The tub and sink were clearly originals with stains and even a spider in the tub. The hall carpet was stained and dirty. Creepy all around. Not into the haunted thing, so the place creeped me out. The lady at the desk was very nice and offered another room or a cleaning(but I don't think they could change the mattress or replace the window!). No tvs in rooms, no a/c or refrigerator. If you are into rustic(old and creepy), then you'd be fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this inn as he had purchased a groupon, Amazing groupon deal, but the inn was not so amazing. The staff at the front desk were friendly enough. We had the opportunity to look at two rooms, just in case we wanted to stay another night. We ended up choosing a room on the first floor which was much quieter than the alternative 2nd floor room right across from a family with kids. The rooms were slightly different though. Whereas the 2nd floor had no AC, but a fan, the first floor had an AC. The king bed were two twin beds placed together which was annoying. We knew already that the rooms did not have any TV so that wasn't a surprise. I didn't have a problem that the inn was old, but I was surprised that it was not kept like it should have been. Some of the furniture had peeling paint, the sitting chair in the room we stayed in had a loose leg, and the bathroom lighting was terrible. After being on "Ghost Hunters" and being placed on the map, I would think that the rooms would have been a little nicer. Maybe they didn't want to change too many things because of the ghosts? I'm not sure. The prettiness of the outside front porch and the main building does not fit the look of the rooms. We were glad that we only booked this place for one night. The Spalding Inn was more like the Sputtering Inn. This place has great potential but is quite away from it as yet. On a good note, the grounds are nice and so are the views.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor as well as the carriage houses are said to be haunted. Nothing happened when we were o...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary weekend in the White Mountains and stayed in Room 15 of the Carriage House at the Spalding Inn. We loved every minute of our stay there. Although we went as a couple, we would love to go back and take our sons there - it's very family friendly. The staff is AMAZING - so friendly and unfailingly helpful. The food in the main dining room was delicious - I had a bourbon sauce salmon with maple glazed carrots and wild rice, my husband had a beautiful chicken fettucine alfredo. The service was very good and the chef has prepared a wonderful menu. Later in the weekend my husband won the 2 Kings Pub (also on the premises) hot wing challenge and got his photo on the "Wall of Pain." Lol - the staff made an event of this and it will remain a fond memory. Our room was clean and cute (we had no paranormal activity, although I don't doubt the premises are haunted) and spacious. We had one problem with the shower, and the staff was all over it immediately to get it fixed. The continental breakfast is a nice feature and a great way to start a day of hiking or sight seeing. I have seen reviews for this inn that complain that its condition is not fancy or polished enough, but it was evident to me that the owners have been making substantial and costly improvements to the structure (new standing seam roofs perhaps the most obvious) and that time will bring more. I've stayed in fancier and more "elegant" (and more expensive, let's not forget) hotels and never had as enjoyable a stay as this one. At the Spalding Inn you will feel immediately at home in a warm, relaxed environment. It reminds me of all the old time classic inns that pepper the landscape in the White Mountains, the Adirondacks and the Catskills. In a word, it's wonderful. Just go. :)

Room Tip: We loved the rooms in the Carriage House - they are large and apart from the main inn - a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

we stayed at this inn because we had a groupon. The inn is quite old. our king bed was actually two twin beds joined together and the beds were quite creaky. we could also hear all the noises around our room, thus disturbing our night sleep. The room is bright and neat, but does not have many amenities- like no A/c, no hair dryer, no wi-fi or tv (not complaining coz its a great opportunity to spend more time with family)

Its an okay place to stay if you are not planning to spend a lot of time in your room. Like in our case, we would go out early in the morning after breakfast and come back late after dinner around 10 pm. Essentially our room was used to sleep and to use the bathroom.

The breakfast included is not great - toast, bagels, waffles, cereals, tea and coffee everyday. i guess this is sufficient for a good start to the day and is convenient coz you dont have to go looking for a restaurant early in the morning.

The staff are really good and are also very helpful. The inn is clean and well kept, although it could do with some revamping.

And please, dont go by all the paranormal activity thing. There is no such thing there !

Room Tip: Any room is good. just remember to make a mention about the air conditioner incase you need one. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

First off let me start this off by saying we used a Groupon and that is why i am not really that mad with my stay. As you drive up you notice the blue main building and think it is a fancy inn. AS you park the car you realize it is not that at all. It actually feels like it is someone's house that has been taken over by a group of college students studying Hotel/Restaurant Management at local community college.....and are trying to do everything they can to keep it from being closed (picture it as a movie).

The room:
Big rooms - very spacious - and very sparse. Not allot to them. Wooden floors, antique furniture - we had a king size bed that was actually 2 twins pushed together. Still it was comfortable. The rooms lacked decoration. It felt like i was renting a room in someone's house. It was like a step up from a hostel. No TV or WI-fi in the room - (not complaining about that...just pointing out). Shower was not updated - but worked fine and was clean. No issues. Small - but fine. Not allot of towels - but also not complaining about that as well. The staff would bring up more if i needed them. They had this closet in the room that could double as a spare bedroom - that big!

There was a bar in below the first floor that locals seemed to hang out in. They offered some draft beers and about 15-20 bottles. We sat outside on this patio which i guess was the smoking area (or at least i thought it was confined to this area). Turns out people can smoke anywhere. They had this nice front porch with 5-8 rocking chairs on it - and between each chair was a small table with an ashtray that looked like it has not been cleaned in a week! You walked though smoke every time you walked around the inn. they should have one section away from the building to smoke - i read this in another review and cant believe they don't take it seriously. so easy to fix.

The restaurant was huge and empty...I know we were there on a sunday night so maybe that is why... It looks like it could be fancy - but is not.

Now is a good time to tell you about the staff - because the person who checks you in is also the same person who is the hostess and back up waitress....I also saw her delivering a mattress and a fridge....and room service. Not joking!

Back to the restaurant. The waitress covering that night came to the table and immediately asked what we wanted to eat. I had to ask to see a drink menu and she looked frustrated to bring that to me since it probably meant going downstairs to the bar to get the actually drinks.
Food was ok - nothing great. The restaurant could hold 100-150 people but when you are in there with one other family is just was weird.

Oh yeah - one observation - NO NAPKINS.....anywhere! We ordered nachos at the bar and the bartender delivered them with no utensils or napkins. same at the restaurant - we had to ask for them. Breakfast the next day - again - no napkins. (and lets not get your hopes up about breakfast....it is cereal, toast, tea, coffee, and granola bars).

Staff: great - very hard working - but you never saw a housekeeping person, or anyone cleaning, and like i said before - a group of 3-4 were the only people we saw and they were doing everything!!!

To wrap this up - i would say - this place looks like it could use investment to get it up to hotel standards. I know it is not a hotel - but it certainly doesn't scream - stay with me because i am a cozy inn.... It needs help - would i stay there again - not for anymore then the groupon was for...$65.00

Room Tip: Santa's Village is 15 mins away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Vt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Have stayed at the Spalging with my best friend several times. Staff treats you like you are home could not ask for better. Best staff EVER. Beautiful grounds and view of White Mts. Our most favorite thing to do is sit on the porch in the rocking chairs and look at the view. Have had several parnormal experience, have stayed in many different rooms but our favorite place is staying in the Carrage House. We hate to leave and can't wait until we can come back again.
Cin and Bon

Room Tip: They are all comfy and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spalding Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spalding Inn

Also Known As:
Spalding Hotel Whitefield
Spalding Hotel
Spalding Inn White Mountains, NH - Whitefield
Address: 199 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spalding Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Spalding Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spalding Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.