We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma's Kitchen

Grandma's Kitchen
187 Lancaster Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598
+1 603-837-2525
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Description: NO RESERVATIONS~ FIRST COME - FIRST SERVED ~WE CAN SERVE PARTIES OF ANY SIZE.- MAXIMUM AT ONE TABLE IS TEN..IN THE SUMMER OUR PATIO IS ALSO OPEN WITH LARGE PICNIC TABLES *Classic American Diner food ! Good Home cooking** Fresh Seafood **Fresh Roasted Meats*** Fresh homemade pies*** Our Menu has a large variety of . Burgers.. Sandwiches ..Subs... Dinners, Daily Specials & A Kids Menu.. Reasonable Prices .
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Went here recently for breakfast. Food was very good and reasonably priced. Definitely get a sticky bun, delicious. It was a Sunday morning so they were busy and the waitstaff seemed to be a little flustered trying to keep up. Service could have been a little better. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    66
    18
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, NH
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Casual Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I stopped here for lunch a short while ago - the service was friendly and the food was good, the atmosphere is very casual. One caveat however, they do not accept credit cards - cash only, although this was not a problem because the prices are quite reasonable. We have stopped there before and have no reservations about stopping again when we are in the are.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“absolutely amazingly home-made delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

we were driving aimlessly, looking for a restaurant to eat at with our 4 kids. we came across grandma's, and based on the number of cars in the parking lot, figured it must be ok. we had a little bit of a wait, since there's not much else in the area, and once we saw a few plates pass by us, we knew it was worth the wait. first on the table was an order of onion rings. OMG. i've never had onion rings so delicate before. then, 4 orders of home made mac and cheese, 1 order of lasagna, and 1 order of spaghetti with red sauce. blown away again by the homemade deliciousness of all our food. we were switching plates so everyone could share. ordered another side of onion rings for dessert. worth the drive. worth the wait. even in the rain, eating outside on the patio was outstanding. bring a sweater just in case. not many restaurants like this out there. thank you, chefs and staff at grandma's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Second review”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The owners had my first review taken down...for no reason other than it said their food was junk. My waitress was rude and the food was horrible. The waitress wasn't nice to my 3 little girls who were doing nothing wrong. This place is the local greasy spoon. Perhaps the breakfast is good, it seems that all the reviews are based on that. I had dinner...don't subject your taste buds to the horror.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lstreeter, Owner at Grandma's Kitchen, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
I'm very sorry you had a bad experience at our establishment. After serving at least 350 people per day during the 4'th of July week. I recall one instance where our customers were unhappy. They had 3 girls that came into our restaurant barefooted, the father called me out of the kitchen to complain about slow service. It probably wasn't as quick as usual because we were extremely busy. I explained my concern about his children in bare feet. As he insisted they were not, one of his daughters around the age of 12 came in from the patio with bare feet. Not only is this a health code issue it also is dangerous. The quality of the food is very unusual, if it was unsatisfactory you should have sent it back so we could take care of it right then & there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Only us and in restaurant on Friday morning??? Surprised after reading reviews ...our server was very efficient and friendly.They have $1 up charge for home made bread. Don't do it, not worth it! Food was simple, but we would definitely next time go back to Waterwheel...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lstreeter, Manager at Grandma's Kitchen, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Grandma's Kitchen is always trying to improve and one of the ways is to listen to our customers.
The week end after the fourth is always a bit slower, A lot of our locals go south for Nascar weekend, and most of the travelers were here the week before. Though this year, our number of customer visits was above average for that day. I am the chef, and one of the three people who make the home made breads. We would like to know what time you were in, how many were in your party, what you had for a meal and which one of our homemade breads you tried. That will help us to identify if there was a problem and we can work to improve it. I will let Lori and Jen know that you were pleased with the service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Kitchen also viewed

 
Whitefield, White Mountains
 

Been to Grandma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.