We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in Whitehead” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma's Kitchen

Grandma's Kitchen
187 Lancaster Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598
+1 603-837-2525
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Description: NO RESERVATIONS~ FIRST COME - FIRST SERVED ~WE CAN SERVE PARTIES OF ANY SIZE.- MAXIMUM AT ONE TABLE IS TEN..IN THE SUMMER OUR PATIO IS ALSO OPEN WITH LARGE PICNIC TABLES *Classic American Diner food ! Good Home cooking** Fresh Seafood **Fresh Roasted Meats*** Fresh homemade pies*** Our Menu has a large variety of . Burgers.. Sandwiches ..Subs... Dinners, Daily Specials & A Kids Menu.. Reasonable Prices .
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not in Whitehead”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Not much choice in Whitehead - you pay too much or get too little and pay too much. The Mountain View Grand Hotel was terrible and we had to go in search of alternatives. This was about it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    66
    18
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Healthy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our family enjoyed eating at Grandma's kitchen while staying in Whitefield, NH. The food was excellent and service was terrrific. The menu was more suitable for families with young children. We elected to eat family style. There is no other restaurant in Whitefield that accomodates families with babies.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NY State
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Average little roadside diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had dinner one evening and breakfast the following morning at Grandma's Diner. It is basically a roadside diner with an inside dining area and a screened-in outside addition.

Dinner was excellent with excellent service. I had the Honey-baked Chicken which came with choice of soup (NE clam chowder), home-made french fries, broccoli, and rolls. My wife had a bowl of the New England Clam Chowder which was hearty and excellent and a piece of home-made raspberry pie which was unremarkable. All food was served hot, efficiently, and courteously by our waitress Heidi.

We each had 3 egg omelettes with toast, juice, and coffee the next morning. Food was served warm and was simply average. Service was good.

Typical diner fare, good service, decent food for the money. Actual rating would be 3.5 out of 5.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Used to be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Being a native of the area, born in Lancaster, I have eaten there for WELL over thirty years. The food used to be a LOT better!! This was my first visit back to Grandma's in quite some time, so I was remembering the way it used to be. Mistake.

On this visit, which will be our last, I'm sorry to say, my wife had the grilled cheese sandwich wih a bowl of fish chowder, which our waitress was hesitant on recommending....should have been a red flag. She covered by saying "I'm not much of a soup person". The fish had no flavor or texture, was almost like minced fish. Should have been listed as potato soup with fish flavoring. Absolutely no seasoning of any kind.

I had the Steak bomb. This was almost as dissapointing. Advertised as sliced sirloin. WAY overcooked! The homemade french fries were dark brown, limp, and also equally as tasteless. The saving grace for those was the salt and ketchup.

I have to agree with one of the other commenters about the staff. We walked in, saw no sign about either seating yourself, or please wait to be seated, and the 2 ladies at the counter didn't even look up to tell us what to do. We had to introduce ourselves and the were told to sit where you want. You could definitely tell the locals, as they got the smiles. We got not a one.

We also had a chocolate frappe and a coffee frappe. If I had been blindfolded and given this frappe, iI would not have been able to tell you what the flavor actually was. The chocolate was very light, and maybe was made with a tablespoon of ice cream.

Whoever has the reins in the kitchen at this place needs to take a look at their culinary skills. Grandma would be vastly disappointed in the "cuisine" being offered at this less-than-desirable destination. I'm usually at least a 20% tipper, basing my tips on service, friendliness and food quality. This time, we tipped low and got out of town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Okay place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff are nice, although not very cordial. The food wasnt great. It was very oily and if you are a vegetarian, there arent many choices really.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Kitchen also viewed

 
Whitefield, White Mountains
 

Been to Grandma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandma's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.