We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with the most stunnung views. The food was great and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. My four year old loved it - meet the farmer went down a treat, as did the swimming pools. The only downside was the room was a bit small but we hardly spent any time in it. It is a great palce to visit with lots fo places to visit - loved it and will return! It also has one of the best fitness centres I have ever seen in a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eehlert, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
It’s a pleasure to hear that your visit was a pleasant one and an honor to be perhaps your first Trip Advisor post. Thanks for the kind words about our fitness center, swimming pools and our Meet the Farmer activity. We hope that should you come to the U.S. in the future you’ll consider permitting us to host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    318
    103
    67
    47
See reviews for
549
524
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I stayed here in early summer with my two children. I booked a deluxe mountain view room. The mountain views from the front porch and the swimming pool are amazing, but I wouldn't bother with booking it in my room again. There's no balcony and no comfy place to sit looking out the window. The room was okay, nice and clean but considering they did an update in recent years, it felt very 80's.
We were there just prior to the pool club opening so there was no pool service, but the pool itself was in a lovely location with gorgeous views. It was chilly though! Luckily we were there on consecutive 90+ degree days or my kids might not have used it.
The restaurant is nice, the food was good, not great. The simpler salad/sandwich items were more tasty than the "fancier" options.
The staff was very nice in every interaction.
One weird thing: the elevator is old fashioned and requires a porter to operate making it inconvenient. Not a problem with two kids who enjoy running up three flights of stairs, but others might be annoyed.
We went to visit nearby kids' amusements. If I took my kids to Santa's Village again, I'd stay as the hotel was very convenient to the park, otherwise I would not return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eehlert, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Mountain View and we’re pleased that you would recommend it to friends. We regret that you felt that your room didn’t feature the convenience of a balcony for enjoying our mountain views. Many of our rooms do feature such balconies and we regret that the details were not made clear to you at the time of your reservation. We begin to heat our pool depending on the weather each year. It’s unfortunate that you just missed the first heated day in June. Our historic elevator is manned 24 hours a day for the convenience of our guests. As to room updates, we are constantly updating our historic facilities, spending over $1 million each year on these projects. We’re pleased that you found our staff to be pleasant in every interaction, that your room was nice and clean, and that you enjoyed your time at Santa’s Village, a truly excellent, nearby children’s theme park. We hope that you’ll return to Mountain View if you come to our region again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband and I came here the day after our wedding for our short honeymoon before returning to work. (See my other reviews as we continued our honeymoon in Vienna and Greece in July.)
The hotel is grand! It is stunning and the staff were great. It felt very old and we liked that. The view was amazing. One morning there was construction on the hotel and thank goodness it wasn't every day! We had our massages in the spa when in the middle, the fire alarm went off! In robes we piled onto the porch to watch the firemen/women. The alarm went off during boiler work. Because of this, we were treated to a hot soak for the next day in a small tower overlooking the stunning view! And we had our massages finished. The spa was great! The hotel wasn't booked, so it was nice.
The only downside...the rooms really need to be updated. The carpet needed updating. The bed was nice and the bathroom clean and updated with still maintaining that style, but the carpet..and we were in one of the best rooms in the place. Also, the tvs weren't even flat screen!!! Old school televisions. It would save on some space as well.
Very sweet..we were brought chilled champagne and nice note twice. That was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eehlert, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Congratulations on your marriage! We appreciate your kind words regarding your short honeymoon visit to our hotel. It’s gratifying to hear that our spa staff turned the alarm inconvenience into a very positive experience for you and that you enjoyed the chilled champagne amenity.
We spend over $1 million each year in updating our historic facility. We are in the midst of gradually replacing the older carpeting in our guest rooms and hope that we have the project completed if and when you return to Mountain View. Thanks for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

this hotel is in a beautiful spot bit the rooms are dissapointing basic and not as luxourios as one would expect ,, also if your elderley or not good on the stairs would not recommend it , its difficult to get the one lift which is very old and a member of staff has to be with you to use it , i stayed for two nights breakfast is not included , the reception staff were not the warmest of people unlike other places i stayed ,a cheery good morning would not have gone a miss . spa and beauty treaments are available but way overpriced

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eehlert, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write. We strive to offer consistently friendly reception service and are sorry that in your case that apparently did not occur. Please know that your concerns have been shared with our staff. We have been awarded Four Diamonds for Lodging by AAA for the past several years, though some of our rooms vary in size. We are not sure which room you occupied, so it’s difficult to respond with specifics. It’s also important to realize that we spend over $1 million each year to upgrade our historic resort, the most senior in the state of New Hampshire. If you visit us again, we hope you will find your room more to your liking. Though manually operated, our elevator is manned 24 hours a day and is available by the push of a button. Finally, our research indicates that our spa, rated #5 overall in 2008 among Resort Spas in North America by Conde Nast Traveler, is competitively priced when compared with similar facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My rental ended on a Friday but I wasn't ready to go home yet. Saw this place advertised in one of the tourist magazines and was intrigued by the wide open views and the farm. Got a last-minute reservation and was thrilled with the place! Sipping wine on the verandah watching the sun go down, watching the meteor shower out my window, the quiet, the beauty of the mountains - it was a little bit of magic. The room I originally got was very loud from the neighbor's AC - it was tucked into a corner - but they graciously moved me to a better room. Very comfortable bedding, plenty of towels. Disliked the fruity soaps - next time I'll bring my own. Looking forward to going again and staying a few days to take advantage of more that they offer. I went alone and did not feel at all strange.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eehlert, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you for your positive comments. We’re very pleased that you were able to extend your vacation to spend some time with us. Sorry that our new environmentally friendly soap seemed a bit too fruity. We’re always evaluating our in-room amenities and your comment has been noted and will be considered when we put in our next order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

The view is amazing. So much to do for everyone. Definitely better for families with kids than for singles or couples looking for quiet. My 4 year old made lots of new friends and loved the pools, theater, game room and the campfires. Dining at the resort was simple, reasonable priced and delicious. Stayed for 6 days and was not tired of the menus at all. Lots of choices for kids, too. Spacious, clean room with beautiful view. Great location if your trip includes Santa's Village.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eehlert, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
We love to hear from families twho had a positive experience at the hotel, especially six days’ worth. As you note, summer is busy with families, but remember that when schools re-open it’s a great time for singles and couples to come and enjoy the more serene atmosphere. Thanks for mentioning Santa’s Village, who we work closely with to provide fun family vacations. They are a great family attraction, only about 10 minutes away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Just returned from our third summer trip to Mountain View Grand. My two teenage sons and I had a wonderful time. The hotel was much more crowded than our previous trips, good for them! The staff was better than ever, well staffed in every aspect, and everyone totally helpful and friendly. We only ate in the Tavern, the food was MUCH improved from our previous trips. The whole hotel is beautiful and everyone there seemed to be enjoying it as much as us. PS....I really liked the soap and shampoo!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eehlert, Public Relations Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
We work hard to constantly improve our performance and it’s always nice to hear from return guests that we’re having success. We have been striving to further enhance our Tavern offerings and your kind words are much appreciated. We chose our new soap and shampoo from many environmentally friendly brands and we’re glad to know that you approve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.