We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Mixed Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed at this historic hotel earlier this week. They are doing so many things right, but we had some mis-connects that affected our stay. Firstly, the hotel has been beautifully renovated to preserve all the grace and splendor of the original grand hotel while providing modern day conveniences and amenities for today's guests. We appreciated having the choice of using air conditioning, ceiling fan or open windows in our room. Shower water pressure was terrific. Thank you for providing cable tv channel list right on the nightstand! The views are spectacular and we spent lots of time relaxing on the front porch.

Our frustrations came on the golf course and in the restaurant. Arriving a bit early for our tee time we were disappointed to find that there are no practice/warm-up spaces whatsoever. After our long drive to the hotel we asked to purchase bottled water for our round and were told that nothing opens until 11am so none was available,.. although we could find water jugs and paper cups at two holes on the course - not acceptable. Later after playing 18 holes we stopped in at the clubhouse restaurant to have a cold beer or two. We waited and waited and waited and finally the beers were brought out not opened and they did not have screw caps. We improvised (the old hand punch on the edge of the table trick) and got them open, and eventually ordered another round. Same thing...long delay, unopened delivery. Turns out, each time we ordered a beverage someone had to 'run' up to the inn and bring the beer back down to the clubhouse restaurant. How hard could it be to stock some beer at the clubhouse verandah?

We arrived early for dinner that evening and were rewarded with a wonderful mountain view table. Several in our party wanted to order filet mignon but our waitress explained that the chef could not prepare it to be red or pink...only medium-well to well-done. WHAT? So two of us ordered the sirloin and two chose fish dishes. The steaks were inedible - nicely pink but so tough and tasteless that they remained uneaten on the plate. The stuffed haddock and cioppino were delicious. So, lesson learned, order seafood. To the hotel's credit they were responsive to the uneaten dinners and offered alternative substitutions. We also found Chris and Eric at the bar to be very gracious and friendly and excellent bar tenders. We retired to the front porch to sip Irish Coffees and watch the sun set - perfect.

Breakfast turned into another dining disaster. We waited quite awhile for the waitress to come to take our order. We didn't want lots of food so decided not to do the breakfast buffet, but ordered off the menu. Simple eggs and pancakes were ordered. We waited, and waited, and waited, as folks who arrived after us got their food, ate and left. Finally after 45 minutes and many apologies our food arrived. Second lesson learned, do the breakfast buffet!

So all-in-all we had a nice stay, but it pains me that we can't say - we loved it! Some improvements to the food and beverage service are definitely needed, but the hotel itself is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Obviously rooms at the front of the hotel enjoy spectacular views of the mountain ranges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Boston-Travel-Diva,

I appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns in regards to your recent visit. We have attempted to contact you via email in response to the guest survey you submitted, and have also contacted you through TripAdvisor direct message. In your written reply to our TripAdvisor message, you stated you would give us a call, but we have not heard from you.

I would like to offer my sincere apologize for the inconveniences you experienced in our restaurants. I have reviewed your comments with the individuals involved to improve our performance. For training purposes, I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in the hope of amending your concerns. If you are willing, please feel free to contact me directly.

Adam Parker
Director of Food and Beverage Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    318
    103
    67
    47
See reviews for
549
524
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful three day stay at MVG. There is always something to do at this hotel-sit on the veranda and enjoy the view, hike one of the many trails on the property, participate in one of the many activities offered, play a round of golf, have a spa treatment (we did the Sok Tub- amazing views from the top of the hotel) or hang out by the pool. The Axe Throwing competition is so much fun and that is due to Miss Baker and her contagious enthusiasm. My husband even placed in the competition. So much fun. They also offer a campfire and s'mores at night. Yum! All of the staff was kind and helpful but we found the front desk to be outstanding. They were always smiling and never seemed bothered by a request. They went above and beyond as did our waiter, Joe, from the tavern who offered to run to the clubhouse to get the beer we wanted because the tavern didn't offer it. Excellent stay. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front of the hotel for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Carolann J,

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you and your husband had such an enjoyable stay with us. Your kind words about the resort and our staff are appreciated and have been passed along. We look forward to welcoming you for a return visit in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I just stayed for 3 nights and felt the property and location itself were amazing but the horribly amateur service was so bad that it nearly wrecked the trip for us - in the end we just laughed about a lot of it. We felt like everyone working there from the bellmen to the hostesses to the waitstaff had been plunked down in the job with zero training - told "be a waitress now" or "go be a bellhop". It was a bit odd actually. The waitress on the veranda (a popular place to sit and have a glass of wine or ice tea while visiting or reading) took at least 20 minutes to come over to us every time we went out there (and it wasn't busy). Then after coming out and taking our order for 2 drinks it took another 15 minutes to get the drinks. And then once I had my ice tea and was reading peacefully she came over about 10 times to take it (when it was still 1/2 full) - it's like the timing was completely off - very odd. At one point I heard the people next to me ask for a glass of Malbec and the server said "I don't know what Malbec is".

On our last day at breakfast we asked to be seated at a window table (after being seated in the back of the room the day before and looking out at 5 empty window tables!) The hostess told us we could if we would wait a couple of minutes while they set the table. We waited. While waiting (about 10 minutes) an older couple came in and walked right past the hostess station and started talking to a waitress about getting a seat. We could tell they were going to take the table that was being set for us so with the hostess nowhere to be found we walked over and sat down at that table - the couple was upset until the hostess showed up and we said "this is the table you were preparing for us, right?" It was like one person on staff didn't know what the other person was doing.

After dinner the evening before we asked for a dessert menu - when they told us they have a ton of ice cream flavors we asked to see an ice cream list (the bartender couldn't think of what they were) - after waiting about 20 minutes we gave up on the list of flavors and on dessert. We were sitting AT THE BAR! The bartender never once came back to us to find out if we wanted something from that dessert menu we had asked for, never once brought the ice cream menu, and when we called him over to get the check he never said "oh, you were going to get dessert weren't you?" - and there were only 2 other couples at the bar!

Another evening we were at the bar around 10 pm and we flagged the bartender down - my husband said "we'd like to settle up" - the bartender nodded and smiled and walked away. We thought he was going to get our check but he never came back. He was just standing against the back of the bar talking to another bartender (there was only one other couple at the bar this night). Then he came over about 15 minutes later and asked if it would be ok if he got us our check because he was ending his shift. That's when we realized he had no idea what "settle up" means. Really???

I could go on and on - it's a shame because the room was neat and clean. The location is amazing. The grounds are beautiful. The resort itself is well kept. They just need to invest in some training for their staff!

The food was only mediocre and the pub and "fancy restaurant" had the same menu so not a ton of choices. The veranda has a small menu but you can't get a real lunch out there - the only place to get lunch outside is down at the pool/golf club and that is only pizzas and salads. If you want a sandwich or burger or something like that you have to eat inside. Odd again since it's clearly one kitchen - why wouldn't a hotel offer a full lunch menu on the veranda on a beautiful summer day?

Oh - and we had to switch rooms because our first room didn't have wifi - it supposedly did (the hotel advertises that there is free wifi throughout) but we couldn't connect. When I went to the front desk to ask what we were doing wrong they said "oh that whole hallway doesn't have wifi - it just doesn't work in that part of the hotel." To their credit they did change us to another room after I asked to be moved to a room with wifi.

We probably won't be back - unless they get bought by some big chain that will train the staff running the place!

Room Tip: Don't go on the hallway that room 233 is on (whatever that is) - no wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Director of Food and Beverage Operations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear TripplannerVT,

Thank you for taking time to express your feelings regarding your visit with us. I have attempted to contact you through Trip Advisor and by telephone to address your experience and amend your concerns, but have not received a response back.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. I have addressed your concerns with both the individuals you came in contact with and the entire Food and Beverage service staff. I have also implemented additional training and procedural guidelines to prevent your experience from happening again.

I would still value the opportunity to speak with you directly to gather more information about the events you described. Please let me know the best way to contact you.

Thank you for your helpful feedback.

Adam Parker
Director of Food and Beverage Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family planned a trip to the white mountains for Santa's village, the polar caves etc with the kids. We wanted to stay at a decent hotel with all of the amenities we like to enjoy when we are in vacation. We were very pleased with our first stay at the mountain view grand and will definitely return. The views were unbelievable, the hotel was historic but remodeled and beautiful inside and out with gorgeous landscaped grounds and a beautiful panoramic view of the mountains from the relaxing front porch. The rooms were great; beds were very comfortable with a closet area for luggage, which I appreciate. The bathroom was large enough for our family of four with two young children. The kids loved the campfire with s'mores at night, the indoor pool and the farm visit with meeting all of the animals and collecting the chickens eggs. There seems to be so many organized activities throughout the day here, you could be thoroughly entertained all day without leaving. The food was good, a little pricy and the service a little bit slower than we are used to, coming from Boston, but all in all a good experience. I was hoping we could stay an extra day! We were happy with the price as well for our stay. In comparison to other white mountain hotels/motels the little bit extra you spend (not much more than crappy motels) it is totally worth it to have a "nice" vacation. We will absolutely be back and try out another season of activities at the mountain view grand.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear krizz6,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate your kind words about the hotel. It sounds like you and your family were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we have to offer. We're glad you enjoy your stay and we hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future for a second visit.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EG
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Mountain View. It is a great family resort. Kids enjoyed the kids club and my husband and I had some free time to run, hit the gym and have breakfast. It was the best of both worlds. Kids loved the game room, movie theater and free popcorn. We all loved the restaurant each night, menu was diverse and the food was great. There are many activities we especially liked bingo with prizes and everything. Already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Jenn A,

We're glad you and your family enjoyed your return visit to the resort. We appreciate your kind remarks and we're glad to know that everyone in your family had fun. We look forward to welcoming you for your third stay.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a wonderful overnight celebration of our 50th anniversary. This is a beautiful 149 year of hotel that has adapted to today but maintained the charm of yesteryear. There are vistas to be enjoyed from nooks and crannies all through the hotel as well as from the rockers on the extended porch and Adirondack chairs placed around the grounds. There are plenty of activities for all ages but we chose to have a massage at the spa, drinks on the porch, and a delicious dinner at the gourmet restaurant "The Wine Cellar." There was a wedding party gathering and many families with children around but we found our own quiet space, relaxed and enjoyed. Next time I hope to partake of more of the amenities and there WILL be a next time.

Room Tip: We registered late so accepted a small room with a queen bed. It was very comfortable, with charm a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Baron-1960,

It's great to hear you're planning a return visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're truly proud of our historic past and look forward to celebrating our 150th anniversary next year. We anticipate welcoming you back!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a very nice, romantic hotel with beautiful scenery and landscaping. We wanted a romantic, historic type lodging that would be close to Mt Washington. The staff were very friendly and the Bell "boys" were very attentive.
We didn't have much time to enjoy the activities on site, but from what we saw, everyone was having a great time.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear KMSTOCKS,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for reviewing and for your complements about the Bell Staff. We hope to welcome you again and that you are able to take advantage of the many activities we have to offer.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.