We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Mountain View Grand was one of those places to get away from the big city and enjoy. It was very peaceful here. They have the best farm with several alpaca, sheep and goats. That was super fun. The food is good, not 5 star, but they don't pretend to be. The staff is foreign, that is true but they are learning English and are helpful to guests. We had the kind upgraded room and it was very spacious. The bed was comfortable. The best thing about it was the porch at sunset. Grab a glass of wine, sit, sip and relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Momopies,

Thank you for reviewing the resort. It's great to know you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate your kind words. We hope we will be able to welcome you for a return stay at some point in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    318
    103
    67
    47
See reviews for
549
524
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Love this place! We have a summer home close by but we still stay here every once in a while for a treat. Old classic charm with amazing hospitality and views are awe inspiring! Axe throwing and mountaineering club were a big hit for this family, worth the $!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear ENM26,

Thank you for your review and your continued patronage. Your kind words are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This resort has something for all of us. For kids, they have very organized game room. We ordered some movie and watched it in movie theater (popcorn included ).My husband and son was very happy in Big pool outside . Food was Excellent!!!!

Room Tip: Third floor is best for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear MarinochkaS,

Thank you for reviewing. We're glad you and your family enjoyed some of the numerous amenities we have to offer. We hope to welcome you again to the Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This resort has so much to offer. Totally enjoyed the view of the mountains while sipping coffee or a drink on the front porch. Food was excellent, popcorn delivered to your chair in the movie theatre, great wine tasting and cheese platter every afternoon, along with homemade cookies and ice tea in the lobby. All staff were so friendly and helpful. The wine cellar dinner was elegant and superb. Great service and huge assortment of wines! Can't wait to return! This is the place to be if you need to rest , relax and be pampered. Great accomodations too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear moosehunts,

Thank you for your review. It's great to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy many of the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you for a return visit in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This resort has something for everyone & the service is phenomenal. The door will always be opened as you enter/exit, and treat yourself to the Wine Cellar dining -- excellent service & wine. The staff at the bike shop & barn were so friendly & informative -- you can see they truly love their work. The kids also enjoyed picking out a movie to see in their mini theater as well as the pool, which has murals with "I Spy" pictures to find. The mountain views are gorgeous, and sitting on the Adirondack chairs on the veranda made it feel like a true worry-free vacation.

Room Tip: ask for mountain views - front side, not back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear LakeMom2,

We appreciate your review and have shared your comments with the staff. We're happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at the resort and we would be more than happy to welcome you again soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was a romantic getaway for our anniversary. We've been to this lovely resort before but haven't visited in several years and it lived up to our memories. This hotel knows the meaning of service from the bellman who greeted our car with an umbrella for our late arrival and took the car keys from us and had us check in while he brought in the luggage and valeted our car (all included in your room cost) to the maid who brought me oxegen bleach for a shirt I'd stained on my arrival trip. Turn down service each night where they service the bathroom for the 2nd time each day. Truly excellent, delicious and fairly priced dining (although we visited right after the arrival of their international summer dining room service staff who were still a little inexperienced). Leave yourself a few hours one evening for a leisurely and romantic gourmet dinner in the Wine Cellar. We hated to leave and will return again.

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room. When travelling in the past with our family, we had a suite which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear BusyMomNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We have shared your kind remarks with the staff and appreciate your praise of the hotel. We're happy to hear you are looking to return in the future as we would be more than happy to welcome you.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We recently spent a few days at the Mountain View to attend a wedding and we couldn't have been more pleased. Everything from reception to check-out was spot on the money. The hotel was faithfully restored with all the modern necessities we require. The unobstructed view of Mt. Washington was spectacular. Our room was excellent. Older hotels are generally noisy but our room was as quiet as can be. Bed and bedding were first rate. The bar was cozy, the food at the pub was good. We didn't have a chance to eat downstairs at their restaurant but an acquaintance told us it was one of the best dining experiences they've ever had. They offer some activities and the area is lovely. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel facing Mt Washington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Road_Maven,

Thank you for your review. Your kind remarks about the resort are appreciated and have been shared with the staff. We hope you will consider a return visit to the resort for a future stay.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.