We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will return again and again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sky & Stay Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Winthrop, Massachusetts
1 review
“You will return again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Have spent the last six birthdays celebrating at the MVG, and there's no need to go elsewhere. Absolutely fabulous grounds, spectacular food, and activities for everyone. the SPA experience is top knotch. Visit the barn for a learning experience for all ages, and welcome the three week old baby llamas. Even the most "type A" personalities will relax here. its got everything you need, state of the art fitness center, spa, golf, barn, two pools, even an indoor movie theatre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear sharon763,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Mountain View Grand to celebrate your special occasions. Your comments are appreciated and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    303
    95
    65
    46
See reviews for
516
484
20
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our family of 4 spent 3 nights at this hotel for the 4th and had a fabulous time. The hotel overall was very clean including the rooms. My best experience was the axe throwing for me and my husband with Ms. Baker - totally addicting. Also, our girls were entertained from the pools to the movie theater to the game room. The outdoor pool was sensational - fabulous pizza and cocktails. The staff were undeniably great and extremely accommodating. We will definitely be back, and to quote our 4 year old to the front desk our first day there "this is the best day ever".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Alabama-Slammah,

Thank you for reviewing. It sounds like your family was able to take advantage of many of the amenities we have to offer. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and that you are looking to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Six years later we returned with 2 kids in tow this time, ages 4 and 7, and having been able to take advantage of even more activities and amenities. Husband loved the ax-throwing, and we all enjoyed the fourth of July festivities, which included a parade, kids' carnival, and fireworks. Large studio room was bright and accommodated us very well. Adored breakfast each morning, especially the service and views... Enjoyed our dinner out on the porch - will do that now every time we're there. New hiking trails offered a lot of choices, and the farm tour entertained parents and kids alike. Thanks to the awesome activities staff at the Mountaineering Club, and to Ms. Baker for enthusiastically welcoming us! We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear ko13,

It was great you were able to return to us for another visit! We're glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind remarks about Ms. Baker and the staff. They are appreciated and have been shared. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

just returned from another FABULOUS 4th at the MVG! Ms. BobbySue Baker makes this stay extra-special as she is the Director of Activities and (if you so choose) will keep you busy and entertained all day long! The outdoor pool is very relaxing as are the drinks served poolside!

The restaurant could use some of her EXPERTISE direction ..... FOOD IS ABSOLUTELY DELISH!!!! Staff, inexperienced and the whole restaurant/bar isn't used to it's full potential. Will look forward to returning!!!

The SPA is incredible and offer haircuts!! Who knew! ;-)

Room Tip: If you want to spend the extra few bucks...be sure to ask for a room with a view of the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear karenann0567,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate your feedback about the resort and its staff. We have shared your comments with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This resort was an amazing family vacation. The MVG is the perfect balance of kid time and adult time with family time. My husband and 2 girls (10 and 8) enjoyed every moment of our stay. The hotel was gorgeous, the views stunning. Our room (a queen bed with a queen sofa pullout) was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. We didn't spend any time in our room other than to shower and sleep and it served our needs very well. The game room, theater and board games kept us busy when it got too hot and when it rained. The pools were fabulous.

All the staff we encountered were courteous, polite and helpful. The Mountaineering Club staff was so good with our girls. I felt absolutely safe leaving our children in their care. There is one person who stands out for making sure we ALL had a fabulous time - Ms. Baker, activities director. She was equally comfortable with adults as she was with children. And when Arthur threatened the 4th of July activities, she still managed to pull off a spectacular parade and carnival that was just as much fun for me as it was for my girls. And having her teach my husband and I how to throw an axe will go down as one of our all time favorite things we have ever done together. You MUST do the axe throwing - no "axe-cuses" for missing this!!! The 4th of July fireworks were unbelievable and rivaled that of the small city that I live in.

The pizza at the Club House was fantastic. The Tavern food was delicious although service was a little slow especially at dinner on the 4th. There was a great buffet for kids at the Tavern on the 4th though so they were able to eat quickly and then wander off to the game room while the adults waited for their dinner.

We did not utilize the spa nor did we have breakfast at the hotel so I cannot rate those aspects.

Overall, a perfect family getaway. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were on the front side of the hotel directly above the porch and it was very quiet for sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear 4H-Club,

Thank you for your review. We're glad you and your family had a memorable 4th of July and were able to enjoy many of the activities we have to offer. We appreciate your kind remarks and we hope to welcome you back to the resort again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Mountain View Grand for 2 nights and watched the fire works from our balcony. We ate in the Tavern. I asked to get a peek into the Wine Cellar dinning area but the manager said they only have eight tables and the only way I could see it was if I made reservations???

Room Tip: We stayed in the Summit Suite. The fireworks were great! They were right in front of our room. We wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Gene P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. You spoke with Sue Valliere, our Guest Relations Manager. At the time you spoke with her, we were in the middle of evening service. She did explain that the Wine Cellar is an intimate and unique dining venue with limited space and seating. As I am sure you can understand, providing tours during service would disrupt the discreet atmosphere of the restaurant and negatively affect the dinning experience of guests enjoying dinner.

She also explained we do offer opportunities to tour the Wine Cellar when the restaurant is not open, such as during our daily Property Tour. I apologize for any misunderstanding and any inconvenience it may have caused.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yarmouth, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We arrived on a Saturday, and although there was a wedding scheduled, and clearly lots of activity surrounding it, we were greeted and given instructions and taken to our room. The room was small, but the bed was wonderful, soft and comfortable. We were over the front veranda, but no noise disturbed us either night.

Since this was a spur of the moment trip, we weren't planning any special events,like golf, but there were plenty available. At the evening turn down service we received a listing of the following day's activities, which was wonderful.

We enjoyed the foreign students who were at the bar and restaurant. They were helpful and enthusiastic, and a delight to visit with. We did not find any language barrier, especially when you are there to enjoy the moment and the people.

We would definitely return here, at any time of year. Although we visited this time in June/July, It is very clear that the winter months would be as inviting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear BookyNancy,

Thank you for taking the time to review. It sounds like you had a relaxing and enjoyable visit with us. We're happy to learn that you are looking to return. We look forward to welcoming you during the winter months.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.