We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sky & Stay Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Foxboro, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Overall this was a great hotel and I would definitely recommend it as a place to stay, only knowing that the service at The Tavern has improved. The food was amazing, we could not believe how good it was, we just wish there was a fridge in the room so we could have taken the food to go. On Friday night there was only one bartender on staff and the bartender was complaining the whole time about how she was the only one working, making an excuse for her slow/poor service (gave us the wrong menus twice and then continued to mess up the food order). She completely gave off the vibe that she did not want to be there at all, making us not want to be there. For lunch our waitress was nice, just seemed unexperienced and also very slow. Saturday night was better with the two bartenders on, they just ran out of chairs at the tables and bar, but the food again saved the day. Besides the Tavern, everything else was great from the breakfast in bed to the gorgeous view, we just hope this helps improve the service there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear heather_orourke,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with the dining service in the Tavern. Thank you for speaking with me and providing additional details about your experience.

I have spoken to Chef Adam Parker, our Director of Food & Beverage. We have addressed your concerns with the bartender who served you and have provided additional training.

We appreciate your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Mountain View Grand in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    303
    95
    64
    46
See reviews for
516
484
20
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Get a room with a balcony! The beds are horrible, the hardest bed I ever slept on. Many ladybugs around the windows, called concierge and they did nothing about it. Didn't really bother us so we didn't make a big deal out of it.. Bar service is slow, lots of teenagers waiting on you it seemed. The cellar was ok, was expecting much better service and food. All in all the views were amazing won't be staying here again, we are spoiled though when it comes to travel and accommodations.

Room Tip: Balcony and bring your own wine, you will be waiting a long time to get a glass if you order room se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear aloha09,

Thank you for your feedback.

I contacted you with the hope of gathering more details about your stay, but I have not heard back. I have addressed your comments about the Front Desk and bar service with the appropriate managers, but without gathering more details I cannot speak with the specific staff members you came in contact with. I hope to speak with you soon so we may amend your concerns.

In response to the sleep quality of the mattress, I apologize for this inconvenience. We are in the continual process of updating our guest rooms and have upgraded nearly all of our mattresses.

I hope to hear from you. I would like to amend your feelings and make things right. Your feedback and comments are appreciated.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from MVG.
The pros: The location and the grounds are beautiful. The spa is excellent and relaxing. The room was comfortable and spacious. The staff was courteous and polite, and really interested in providing the best possible service. The pianist in the lobby every day was fantastic!
The cons: The Tavern Restaurant. While the staff is well meaning, they are poorly directed. We waited for nearly every meal, despite the fact that there were empty tables once we were seated. At one breakfast, we watched a bus person take 40 minutes to clean 3 tables! We were done eating before she was! They were apologetic, but there's clearly a lesson there somewhere for the management! Whitefield is also not a great location - there's not much else to choose, and little to do compared to the other towns in the White Mountains.
Bottom line: We had a great time, despite the frustration with the restaurant. We would probably go back, with adjusted expectations.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear 07869mom,

We appreciate your feedback.

I have attempted to contact you to further discuss your Tavern experience, but I have not heard back from you. I have discussed your concerns with Chef Adam Parker, our Director of Food & Beverage. We are implementing a complete revision to our restaurants.

We’re glad to hear you may return in the future and look forward to welcoming you back back to the White Mountains.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a great place to calm down from the hustle and bustle of the city. There were some issues when we first arrived. The resort must have been short of employees as we had to wait 20 minutes to get a drink order. They were also short of menus at dinner so we couldn't be seated at dinner until then! We were on the 3rd floor and that elevator was crazy. You have an attendant who operates it! The beds in the room were AMAZING! Best night sleep in ages! The room was spotless. Enjoyed the decor. Also enjoyed the rocking chairs on the veranda!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the White Mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Ward J,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced in the Tavern.

Your comments have been discussed with Chef Adam Parker, our Food & Beverage Director. Unfortunately a glass of wine had spilled onto a stack of menus, which we reprinted as quickly as possible. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were here during the week. Stayed one evening as an anniversary night. The appearance of the hotel is beautiful! We loved the amenities; a game room, movie theatre, cider, s'mores, wine tasting, to just name a few. The service was sub-par. A lot of teenagers that are clueless. The bar staff where the only exceptional staff. We had 10(yes we counted) lady bugs in our room. They never took care of it even after asking two separate front desk staff. Beds are not comfortable !! They are stiff and old. The food was fantastic !!! We had dinner then breakfast. The grounds immaculate and farm stand great !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Renee H,

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with our service. I have attempted to contact you to discuss your stay further, but unfortunately I have not heard back.

I have spoken with Mrs. Sue Valliere, our Guest Relations Manager, and she has addressed your concerns with the Front Desk staff. Additional training and procedures are being implemented to ensure these issues do not occur in the future.

Concerning the sleep quality of the mattress, again I apologize for this inconvenience. We are in the continual process of updating our guest rooms and have upgraded nearly all of our mattresses.

We are constantly striving to improve our performance and appreciate your feedback.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a magnificent resort! Beautiful setting in the White Mountains, gorgeous hotel and rooms. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We ate at both the Tavern and the Wine Cellar. The food was great at both restaurants and the wait staff very attentive. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary on this trip, ordered a special cake to be delivered after our Wine Cellar dinner. The cake was delicious and beautifully decorated. Our waiter included champagne to toast the special occasion. What a thoughtful touch. If you have the opportunity to stay at this hotel, do so. Lots of fun activities at the hotel, as well. Don't pass up the axe throwing contest. Ms. Baker, the instructor, makes it fun and entertaining.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony. The setting is so beautiful you will want to sit out on the balcony wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sherry F,

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for your review. Your considerate words have been shared and are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I just returned from my niece's wedding at the Mountain View Grand Resort and Spa. It is a beautiful hotel in a gorgeous setting. What really sets this place apart is the people who work there. When I needed help that was above and beyond the usual, Susannah Powell and her assistant pitched in to help.The housekeeping staff also went beyond what might have been expected and the valet/ porter/elevator operators were so kind and helpful. All of the wedding festivities were held at the hotel: rehearsal dinner, wedding and reception. The outdoor garden setting was lovely for the ceremony. There are lots of activities available for all age groups, as well as beautiful spaces (indoor and outdoor) to just sit and visit with family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear MargaretC64,

We appreciate your review and have shared your kind remarks about Susannah and our staff. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.