We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Unlimited Golf Package
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Whitefield
Groton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have visited the Mountain View Grand Resort for three summers in a row. Good friends recommended it to us. They visit in the winter, but we decided to give the summer a try. We have always LOVED our stays at the this resort, but the one thing we rated a little lower was the food. Well, based on our most recent visit this July, they have found a new chef and now the food is on par with the overall resort experience. The food was WONDERFUL and the menus, both for adults and children offered great variety and local ingredients. We were so happy as we just love visiting this resort every summer and now the food and wine was right up there with the rest!

Our entire family so enjoys this resort. In fact, our oldest, continually thanked us for going back this year! One, it is beautiful. The building, grounds and scenic landscape are breathtaking! The inside of the main building is just lovely from the lobby to the restaurant to the first floor game room. It brings you back to a time of understated elegance. The porch that envelopes the front of the main building is our favorite place to relax, play a boardgame, grab a glass of wine and also eat (the staff is always happy to serve out here - even the full course menu) - how can you leave this view! We always hit the fabulous campfire after dinner for a majestic sunset and s'mores (all set up with perfection for guests!)

There are many activities on site as well as wonderful programs on the onsite farm. Our children love the "Meet the Farmer" program in the morning and eagerly get up to gather the eggs for the day - such fun! There is a beautiful outdoor pool with poolside bar and restaurant. In the case of inclement weather, which we faced for the first time this year on one day, there is also plenty to do. The resort has not only an upstairs game room with board games, chess, etc, but also a downstairs game room with pool, ping pong, etc. There is also a wonderful movie theater - they will even bring you fresh popped popcorn!!!! And if you want to swim, no problem, there is an indoor pool as well.

As we have young children, we also love to visit Santa's Village which is down the road. It is sooooo much better than Storyland. So clean, quaint and many fun rides for all ages.

We visit many resorts with our children, but the Mountain View Grand holds a special place in all of our hearts.

Room Tip: There is a great variety in room sizes. Be sure to ask about where your room will be located and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear mcgwirejeter799,

Your considerate review is appreciated and has been shared! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and for your kind remarks about the resorts and its staff. We are happy to hear you and your family were all able to enjoy your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    688
    264
    75
    54
    42
See reviews for
454
410
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We made it to MVG again this year. We try to make a couple times a year but sometime can not. It was awesome as ever. Million dollar views of the mountains. We ate at the Clubhouse and really enjoyed it. We love the Chili that we get there and the service was awesome. I had left my camera on the chair and the girl that served us came out near the pool to find us which I truly appreciated. We enjoyed both the outside and inside pools. The exercise room is top notch and they had a sliding exercise mat or board that I wanted to try out this time. As we are kids at heart, every time we go, we truly enjoy the game room in the basement area where the movie cinema is. I was happy to see that they had replaced the old ping pong boards and balls that were worn out the last time we were there. We played pool which was very nice as well. They also have air hockey and other things there. The library area is very nice place to read books. They also have the Dodge Room where you can play board games which we enjoy as well. At night they had Smores by the fire which we enjoyed. If you are into golf, this is the place to go! We were a little saddened when we found out there are no more horses kept at the farm in back. We were looking forward to a carriage ride. Rumor was that the insurance did not allow them. They are getting more Alpacas and they do have an assortment of other animals to see and enjoy. They call it "Meet the Farmer" and it is every morning. Please make sure you pick up their daily activity newsletter. This place is a land cruise for sure, if you enjoy those!! Everything you need is there. We did go to the town not far from there called Littleton and enjoyed that this time. It is nice a Mayberry USA town if anyone remembers or watches reruns of Andy Griffith show. They also have a general store with the longest candy counter ever. If you want more pictures and more information please see the website below which I love.
http://www.thedistractedwanderer.com/2011/10/if-youre-looking-to-take-journey.html

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Susan D,

We appreciate your review and that you took the time to share your experience. Thank you for your continued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again next year!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent the past weekend here and throughly enjoyed this Historic Resort and Hotel. Service was excellent and the views of the White Mountains are outstanding. Outdoor pool near the golf clubhouse was great, the few children there were very well behaved. The fitness center was first class.

Did not play golf at the resort 9-hole course but took a glider flight in Franconia, took gondola to top of Cannon Mountain and rode the historic Cog Railway to the top of Mt. Washington for stunning views.

Much more to do in the area if you like outdoor activities.

Room Tip: Almost any room will have good views. Those on the front of the Hotel (south side) have views of se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear CalebBoston,

Thank you for reviewing. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you to the Mountain View Grand again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We got married here two years ago and have come back each year since! This last stay we had a beautiful balcony room overlooking the garden with the mountains in the background. We just loved it and the bed is so comfortable! I would highly recommend eating in the Wine Cellar. It is fine dining at it's best and we've had Keith as our waiter two years in a row. Just wonderful. The Filet Mignon was outstanding! We loved going to the spa and swimming in the heated outdoor pool. Everyone is so very friendly. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Outdoorsygal83,

Thank you for your review and continued patronage. Your kind words are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed extended our stay to 6 nights on a recent vacation. We used the resort as a jumping off spot to visit the White Mountains and also to hang out at the resort. We tried most of the activities and the restaurants, including eating at the 'Nook' in the wine cellar.

Pluses:
- Great activities. 7pm campfire with S'mores is a big hit. The 10am Ax Throwing Contest (disclaimer - I took first place) was a blast. Barn. Movies. Game room. Library. Staff - generally very attentive and willing to please. Drinks on Veranda. Outdoor and indoor pool.

Deltas:
- We ate in all three restaurants. Food service generally needs management attention. Wine cellar dining has great ambiance.
- Organization of the morning coffee is wrong - put the cups at one end, then the coffee, then cream, sugar, tops, and trash can.
- The clubhouse food / drink should be open longer - perhaps close at 9pm, not 8 pm in the summer.

Location:
About 30-35 minutes from Mount Washington and 20-25 minutes from Bretton Woods. Littleton is about 25 minutes away. 45 minutes from Lincoln.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Veranda have a nice view of the Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear PhillyCheeseSteak403,

Your review is appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and for your suggestions. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the Mountain View Grand in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro NH
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and I first visited the Mountain View Grand in 2002. We loved the hotel but were disappointed that there weren't many activities to do on site. We tried the hotel again in 2007 and were saddened to see that it was starting to deteriorate a bit (e.g. peeling paint, room heater not working, etc.) BUT, after reading the positive reviews from other patrons this year, we decided to visit this hotel one more time. WOW! The grounds and building are beautifully maintained, the food was delicious, and so many extra niceties have been added. For instance, a wonderful pianist plays music on the veranda while you take in the view and can eat dinner, you can make s'mores with your kids by a bonfire (without being charged extra), there is a play area and barn, they now offer activities such as hiking ventures for the kids, etc. I don't know who the new manager of this facility is but we will definitely be returning later this year. VERY HAPPY that we decided to give this place another chance years later!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear PickyMomandWife,

Thank you for giving the resort another try! We are very proud of our amenities and we're glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We are happy to hear you will be returning later this year. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were visiting for a wedding and to our surprise, it ended up being a place we will definitely return. Everything was top notch! People who worked there were so helpful. We took in a movie in the theatre--with popcorn to boot! The grounds are stunning, the views, magnificent. Had a wonderful tour of the farm. This is a perfect place for a family vacation. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Patty 187045,

Thank you for your review and your considerate words. The movie theater and Mountain View Farm are certainly some of our guests favorite amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.