We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post deployment vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Post deployment vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

i surprised my boyfriend when he came home from his deployment with a mystery vacation. he loved the mountain view grand so much that we already have plans to come back with friends. the spa was wonderful, the view breathtaking, and the food service was superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Kimberly P,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your kind remarks about the resort and we're happy to hear you are looking to return. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    318
    102
    67
    47
See reviews for
549
524
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shirley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hidden gem is a piece of heaven! Gorgeous views of the mountains and the hotel is immaculate and very nicely decorated. It is warm and comforting; felt like I was in someone's friendly home at times. The staff is very personable and attentive to your every need. They have top-notch customer service mastered!! Great people that work at this hotel. Overall, our stay was fantastic! So many things to do: hikes, smores at the firepit, visiting the barn animals, giant chess set, looking at the starts, moon and planets through their newly bought telescope, dinner in the wine cellar, ax throwing, swimming... the list goes on and on and everything that we participated in was a memorable experience! There is something to do for all ages. I would highly recommend a stay here for everyone!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Donna G,

Thank you for reviewing! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and for speaking so highly of our staff. We are happy you and your family we able to enjoy many of the amenities we have to offer. Thank you for recommending the Resort and we hope to see you and your family again soon!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is the best bang for your dollar. We went there for April vacation and there are so many free things to do with the family. The Mountaineering club is fantastic. My kids loved going there. We had been last year as well and a highlight was the frog catching! My husband also did the ax throwing, our family visited the farm, played junk food bingo, saw a movie in the movie theater, swam, and finally made some smores at the campfire. We did all of this without spending an additional penny. The views are amazing. The porch of this hotel has to be one of my favorite places in the world. You can rock in the rocking chair, drink some wine,and look at the 180 degrees of mountains. You can't miss Mount Washington off to the left. Last year we were there for Memorial Day and we made cardboard boats at the outdoor pool. My husband also played night golf. He said that was one of the best rounds of golf he has ever played.
This is overall a great hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sara A,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. We are glad to learn your family enjoyed both stays at the Resort. We appreciate your compliments about our staff and have shared your words with them. We hope to welcome you back to the Mountain View Grand in the future!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful Mother's Day weekend at the Mountain View Grand. We visit this area twice a year and this is the first time we've stayed at this property. Our only regret is that we didn't stay here before we had kids! That being said, we had a wonderful time even with a 1 and a 3 year old in tow. The staff was very accommodating, even tucking us into a back corner of the tavern (per our request) so that we could enjoy a nice meal on the property without disrupting anyone else. The highlight for us however was the farm! A very special thanks to Krista for making the farm tour such a special experience for our boys. We couldn't have been more pleased. Thank you Krista and the rest of the Mountain View Grand staff; we will be back to see you again soon!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Denise T,

We appreciate your review and your kind remarks about Krista and the rest of the Mountain View Grand staff. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and are looking to stay again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had driven by this grand old place in 1996 and had seen it at its worst. Learned only last fall that it had been saved and restored and finally went for a visit this past weekend; a long weekend with 3 generations to celebrate a birthday.
It was wonderful to see the restoration and walk in this storied building. Well worth the 2.5 hour drive up from the Boston suburbs. The Mountain view rooms were exactly that; the White Mountains rising up beyond the park-like golf course. Spacious, very comfortable, and an invisible but highly attentive housekeeping staff; never saw them but knew they were there!! The lobby is a great place to relax and unwind, but with the fantastic weather, we spent most of it in the Adirondack chairs on the front porch or the lawn, soaking up the sun and the view. Taught my granddaughter the basics of chess in the life size board on the front lawn, and watched her eyes light up on the farm tour. Have never experienced a staff so attentive and yet so subtle about being so; every aspect of this visit was perfection! Thanks to Sue and the staff for a truly magnificent experience, one we certainly will repeat!

Room Tip: Splurge a bit on the mountain view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Ken L,

Thank you for taking the time to review! Our staff always strive for the best. Your kind remarks certainly prove this was the case during your stay and we appreciate them. We are happy you and your family were able to enjoy your time at the Resort and that you are looking to return. We can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went for a weekend at the Mountainview Grand and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms were nice, but the sound proofing is not very good and we could hear people walking and kids running down the hallways very early in the morning.The service was top notch and the staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. The restaurants were great, especially the wine cellar which was very private, quiet and romantic. There is nothing to do in the town, but the hotel has plenty of activities to keep you busy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear gregtrzaski,

We appreciate your review and kind words about the Resort. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Directo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here once a few years ago for a couple of nights away and last weekend we were here again for a friend's wedding reception. Both times were very relaxing and enjoyable. From a guest at the wedding reception, the serving staff was pleasant and helpful. The banquet hall was beautifully set and the chicken dish I had was very good. As for our room, we had a basic room, which was still roomy, clean and well appointed. The bed was quite comfortable.

And I especially am happy to say, that after I realized I left my diamond stud earrings on the nightstand and my husband called to see if they were found, the hotel staff was very helpful. A woman from housekeeping staff called us and said they found them and would send them back to us. I am so grateful that the housekeeping staff was so meticulous and honest and thanks to all the staff that helped facilitate the return of the earrings, which my husband had given me as a birthday gift. Thank you.

We would surely have returned as we enjoy the whole experience, but I especially feel good about giving business to people who deserve it.

Room Tip: if you can swing a mountain panoramic view room price, it is truly worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Stephanie H,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your considerate comments about our staff. Your review is appreciated and has been shared. We are happy to hear that Housekeeping was able to assist you with your lost earrings and that they were safely returned. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mountain View Grand in the future.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.