We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the world or at least New Hampshire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Top of the world or at least New Hampshire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Long drive from boston but once in the mountains the drive was wonderful. You feel like your in the middle of nowhere but have everything you need. The view, in any direction, was worth the price of admission. Great place for romantic weekend or for outdoor lovers. I felt like I was in the movie," The Shining." You'll know what I mean when you see it. Only complaint, no passenger elevator. So a room on the third floor is tough. Other than that we loved it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear just4beachbums,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Resort.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    318
    102
    67
    47
See reviews for
549
524
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somers, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed here for two consecutive Thanksgiving weekends and plan on a third. The hotel is picturesque inside and out. Accomadations are very comfortable. The staff are great! The food is good and reasonable. There are many activities to choose from for children and adults. The Activities Director, Ms. Baker, could'nt be any more helpful!!! She even directed me to where I could order some axes for my husband for Christmas, because he enjoyed the ax throwing so much here!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Shelly G,

The holidays at the Mountain View Grand are a great time to celebrate with your family. Thank you for choosing us to spend your holidays and for taking the time to review. You kind remarks about Ms. Baker and our staff are appreciated and have been shared. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Terrific experiences throughout our four day stay! Fine dining was exactly as described! Food was delicious..service attentive, professional and pleasant. Thank you Christine! One of the best massages I ever had & I a spa junkie. Thank you Scott! Activities all day long, enjoyed snowshoeing, boot camp, yoga, resort tour and history. Very relaxing and picturesque. We planned on returning before we left!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Vicky D,

Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are planning to return. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mountain View Grand in the future!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent three nights as a birthday celebration, so we had our children and grandchildren. It was a terrific venue to spend time together. It felt like we squeezed a lot into our time there--snowmobile ride, dogsled ride, axe throwing, chicken bowling (you gotta experience it to believe it), movie in the viewing room, time in the pool and at the pool table, ping pong (with a 5 year old, this is a fascinating experience), board games, visit with grandkids to the farm next door, time away from electronica. Several of the adults booked spa visits and returned with glowing comments; indeed, three of them made on-the-spot reservations for a return visit the next day. Lots of activities planned throughout the day, thanks to an energetic activities director.

Good, hearty meals at reasonable prices. The maitre d' was able to seat our large group with no problem each day; we did learn that it was helpful for them to book a reservation, but even before that they found us a good table. We found the breakfast buffet to be a delicious spread with lots of variety. Watch out for drinks at lunch and dinner, though-- anything with alcohol is expensive and will increase your bill considerably! We really enjoyed several of the waitstaff, women with lively and warm personalities, not just waitrons following a script. All the hotel staff was friendly, from the folks at the front door to the cleaning staff.

We're already talking about a return visit.

Room Tip: You get a choice; the mountain view rooms give you a view of-- duh!-- the mountains. They cost more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear callerman,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It definitely sounds like you and your family enjoyed your stay and were able to participate in many of our activities. Your kind remarks about the staff are appreciated and have been shared. It's great that you are looking to return and we would be more than happy to welcome you back to the Resort soon!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bridgewater, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to get away and relax, but there were so many activities to do, like axe throwing, pumpkin painting, making fresh apple cider, spending time at the beautiful spa, and nightly bonfires. We had so much fun! We watched someones wedding, a beautiful sunset and a 360 degree mountain view in a hot tub on top of the world with my best friend. Everyone there was so kind and helpful, friendly and polite. There was a gentleman playing a piano in the lobby, just amazing! the ambiance was spectacular! Who would have thought in late October, that the weather here would be 75 degrees. We spent the whole weekend outside, we took a hayride, a walk to the farm to see all the animals, we watched people play golf (it overlooks a beautiful golf course). This place is even more eloquent at night, all lit up. It even has a historical tour through it! If only, the trees still had some leaves on them, the colors would have been so beautiful. We are looking forward to our next trip here, but this time with our children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Dawn O,

We appreciate your review and are happy you and your husband enjoyed a relaxing getaway. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the amenities and activities we have to offer. Foliage is certainly a popular time with us and we would be happy to welcome you back to experience it this year with the whole family.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with a family friend whose son was turning 16 on Feb. 9th. The resort made a cake for him and presented it at dinner. It is such a cozy place that everyone in the restaurant sang also. We had a couple of blips, but these were quickly resolved by a staff that were very polite and helpful even though I was upset. We were there for the blizzard on 13 and it was just beautiful. I could look out of my window and see the snow blowing sideways. Living in Florida, this was a wonderful change. The resort is clean. My partner had a massage and said that it was awesome. They have a really nice game room with air hockey, ping pong, pool and foosball. They also have a small movie theatre. The food is good and as you can expect a little pricey. There are not many stores around so you have to purchase everything at the bar. I am still giving this resort 5 stars because the good out weighed the bad by a landslide. I would go back and plan to go back to see the leaves changing. Exquisite!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mary N,

Thank you for taking the time to review! We are sorry there were some issues during your stay, but it is great to hear the staff was able to resolve them, and that they did not mar your experience. We are happy to know you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the fall.

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We planned our 40th anniversary get away in Jan 2013. Booked a 2 night stay through the resort website including two spa treatments for a very busy holiday weekend Feb 16th and 17th. Thanks to an amazing front desk, a potential nightmare was totally taken care of in less than 10 minutes. Our reservation was never entered into the system, however the spa was able to confirm our two reservations, and the reservation manager came immediately to help. We went on to have an incredibly nice time. I can't say enough about the courtesy, helpfulness and kindness of their entire staff. No matter who we came into contact with, the professionalism was impeccable. Hats off to the entire staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Elaine R,

Happy Belated Anniversary! We apologize for the initial issue regarding your reservation, but are glad it was handled quickly and professionally. Thank you for reviewing and for your compliments towards our staff. We hope to see you around the Resort in the future!

Sincerely,

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.