We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything from golf to goats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Everything from golf to goats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We don't usually stay at large resort hotels, but we had a grand time in this grand old resort. This place hearkens way back to the (19th century) days when the rich would escape the heat of the city for the wholesome mountain air of northern New Hampshire. You can still do the same.

First off, the building is beautiful from the outside, and it's situated on a hill overlooking dozens of peaks in the Presidential Range. Even if you opt for a lower-priced room, you can get an eyeful sitting on the veranda. We did this both nights of our stay, sipping a bottle of wine and enjoying light appetizers. Indoors, the halls are lined with hundreds of oil paintings (a veritable museum of New England-y scenes). The furnishings in the lobby are elegant antiques. We had a partial view room that was tucked in a corner of the garden, and it was small but cozy. The bathroom was completely up to date, and the window AC unit worked perfectly (though we opted to open the windows for the cool night air).

What sets apart the resort are the activities and amenities, and there are a lot of them. You can check the site for the full list, but here are things my wife and I did: We visited the farm on the first day to say hi to the goats, llamas, alpaca, and mini donkeys. We shot pool in the clubhouse, and enjoyed the indoor pool (a much quieter place than the outdoor one, which is popular with kids). In the morning, we took an axe-throwing lesson, which was AMAZING. We also just wandered the grounds and took beautiful photos. There's a nightly campfire with a different theme each evening; we went on s'mores night. If you can break away from the resort, you have the whole White Mountains at your disposal, and we went hiking on our second day there.

The staff on the whole were very nice. They're down-to-earth, and don't have the obsequious attitude that accompanies other "grand resorts". The only exception was a surly waiter at breakfast, perhaps because we opted to share a $10 entree from the menu, rather than the popular $15/pp breakfast buffet. We're trying to eat light, a hard thing to do on vacation, but he seemed vaguely annoyed that he would have to serve us for a smaller bill.

We went here on a Groupon and stayed midweek, so it's hard to say a how good a value this would be normally. The posted room rates are quite high... but considering the high-end amenities that are here (particularly the golf), not to mention all the activities for children, it may well be worthwhile. Overall, this is a great place no matter what you're into: if you're looking for a romantic weekend, if you're there with family, or if you're attending an event (there was a wedding there on Saturday night). It's nice to see that the great resort tradition lives on.

Room Tip: There are several tiers of rooms. The ones with the full mountain view are the most expensive.. but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Branden55,
We appreciate your in-depth and generous review! At the Mountain View Grand we try to ensure there are activities for everyone, whether you are interested in relaxing and taking in the views, or doing something more active such as golf or hiking. It is wonderful to hear you and your wife enjoyed the many amenities we have to offer. We do apologize for the incident you experienced with one of our waiters. It has been brought to the attention of our Director of Food & Beverage and is being addressed. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mountain View Grand.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    318
    102
    67
    47
See reviews for
549
524
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was the second visit to the Mountain View Grand for me. The first was a brief stay in the winter months - which was a wonderful few days of skiing and iceskating and horsedrawn carriage rides. This time I came with my family who were traveling from Florida for a family reunion. Everyone was absolutely thrilled with the location (but who wouldn't be?) - the breathtaking views, the peaceful, serene setting, but at the same time offering so many fun family style activities...and most of the activities were FREE or if not very reasonably priced. Sitting on the expansive front porch, watching the golfers golf with the backdrop of the White Mountains, while people rode by in their carriage rides, others swam at the pool (they offer both an indoor and outdoor pool), some people could visit the barn, other stroll about the beautiful gardens. Both children and couples alike will feel comfortable here. If the peace and quiet is not all you want - there are several activities close by (Santa's Village, The Flume, Airtram at Cannon Mountain, and more all at a cost - or the Basin which is free). If you want a New England experience with ALL the bells and whistles...this is it! Get ready to sit back and enjoy...

Room Tip: Be sure to inquire about the size and location of your room - we stayed in one of the historic rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear 2012CAB1961,
Thank you for your considerate review! There are plenty of activities on property and in the surrounding area to keep people of all ages entertained and it certainly sounds like you were able to take advantage of a lot of them. Your kind remarks are appreciated and we hope to see you around the Resort in the future!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is lovely, and the staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Many of the activities are complimentary-(game room, tennis, and bicycles) and the equipment is in fine shape. They provide complimentary popcorn for the movie theater (also complimentary)-anyone who travels with kids HAS to love that. Complimentary wireless! Business center with a computer set up for anyone to use! We had the King Vista room for 3 nights, and loved it so much we extended our stay another night but had to move to a smaller room on the third floor as the larger room was not available-..still roomy, clean and quiet. This is an old fashioned hotel, with old fashioned architectural features, furniture and colors. I didn't smell any mustiness, only Pledge. The tavern resturaurant was reasonable and the food was good.The front desk keeps a binder listing local places to eat if you want to go elsewhere. The pools were very clean, and towels are provided. The resort is about 30 minutes from the Franconia Notch State Park, which is absolutely wonderful..we spent three days in it and still did not see everything that I wanted to. We stayed around the place for the activities on the Fourth-my 11 year old had a great time building the cardboard boat with newly made friends, and later he and hubby went out on the golf course while I sat on the veranda to read, look at the incredible view, and drink wine. -there are shelves filled with books downstair, and at the end of each hallway on each floor..
It was just a great great place and we will be back. It must be spectacular in the fall, and I can't wait to try it in the winter!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Kells0s,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! The Mountain View Grand loves catering to families as it evident by the wide range of family and children related activities we offer. It is great to hear your family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back during the fall and winter!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I first saw the Mountain View Grand in a Groupon deal. It was for the winter months. We do not ski, but the hotel intrigued me. I promised my wife and granddaughter a pampered vacation this summer and I thought this place might fit the bill. Wow, was I right! The moment we drove up the driveway, we were blown away by the scope of the hotel and the majestic view of the mountains. The view was only the beginning of a fabulous stay. The bellman promptly took care of our luggage. The front desk honored our request for an upgrade to a two room suite. The outdoor pool was fantastic. Barmaids Elizabeth and Debra made lunch at the pool a delightful experience. Our granddaughter (12) and niece (10) signed up for two of the mountaineer club sessions, including dinner and had a great time. The activity staff was great, especially Crystal. I hope the hotel appreciates what a great employee and asset she is. We dined in the Tavern and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and service. This is not bar food. Take a walk down to the barn and meet the farmer. She's great, friendly and informative. The kids get up-close and personal with all kinds of animals. My wife and the kids got pampered at the spa and loved it. Overall this is a great place. All of the staff were terrific. I highly reccommend this hotel, especially for families of all ages!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear jcurrie727,
Groupon not only offers fantastic deals, but it also affords us the opportunity to reach out to new guests and show what we have to offer. We are glad you decided to give us a try and, more importantly, we are glad that you weren't disappointed! It sounds like your family had an enjoyable and fun-filled visit. Thank you for taking the time to review and we hope to welcome you back to the Resort at some point in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was our first trip here and we were staying for 2 nights, and there were certain things that were fantastic about the hotel, but the bad really hindered our ratings. We booked a grandview room that was described as sweeping views of the mountains, when we arrived at our room it was anything but. We actually overlooked the side of the hotel and gardens with a peak of mountains. My husand went down and inquired about this and was told it was the right room category. The room we were given was small but clean and nice, however it looked like what they described as a historic room. My husband went down again and got a male receptionist at the front desk who was so rude and told him that they were booked out. So I went down and as luck would have it got the same person, he proceeded to answer the phone 3 times while I was trying to speak with him regarding the room. He just told me they were booked up. He was just so rude and it really ruined our first day. With the room aside we went to lunch and the restaurant was fantastic. The food was great and the room for lunch was very nice, and of course the views are great.
While our room was clean, etc the air conditioner was loud. I actually like white noise while I sleep, but in the middle of the night it started to rattle loudly and kept us up for a while before we had to turn it off. It was over 80 out even at night, so needless to say it was warm.
The next morning we went down to the breakfast buffet, being the Mountain View resort they typically would seat you in front of the windows, but the hostess seated us with our backs to it. We just moved our placesettings at the table and were fine, just a bit strange. The buffet was excellent, everything you need at breakfast and I think reasonable at $15/person. We could hardly understand our waiter but there seemed to be confusion about if the buffet came with either a waffle or omlet in addition. Apparently it did, but we never recieved an offer for it.
After breakfast my husband wanted to leave the hotel because he was so unhappy with the room, I told him to try the front desk again. He went down and spoke to a very pleasant woman who gave him an option of 3 different rooms to choose from to move to. They all had direct mountian views and after choosing one, we moved rooms for our second night. This room was also small, but clean and had fantastic views--like we were expecting.
We were told that our first room was infact a mountain view room, as was the second, but really it was night and day. I would be very wary about going back because of the variation of rooms and I would want to be sure I got one like our 2nd room. I can appreciate that it is a historic hotel so all the rooms as not standard, but there was a significant difference.

We had breakfast again our 2nd morning in the restaurant at the buffet and had a wonderful waiter, Caleb, who was prompt and told us we did get an omlette or waffle with the buffett, so we took advantage of that.
Overall if we didnt have trouble with our room and the front desk staff being so rude the first day we would have given this 5 stars. But some of the staff were not very friendly and that really hindered our stay. We also used the indoor pool and spa and they were very nice.
There were lots of children there, mostly it was ok, but the breakfast room was very loud, and they were seating couples in the garden room, so ask for that if you want a quieter breakfast!

Room Tip: Be very specific about what room type you are booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear BostonBocagrl,

Thank you for your review of our resort. Your comments are helpful to us.

Please accept my sincere apology for the trouble you experienced with the description of your guest room and your interaction with our Front Desk staff member. I have taken the liberty of sitting down with the members of our staff you came in contact with. I reviewed your feelings with them and identified areas that will help provide accurate and appropriate service. We have also made sure additional resources and training are in place to ensure success.

I appreciate your kind comments regarding the other aspects of your visit and have shared them with our entire staff.

We hope to welcome you back to Mountain View Grand in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelingwithkids67
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is our 3rd year at the MVG. It is a favorite vacation spot for us. We love it for the historic hotel, amazing setting, kids activities for the service and value. We love that it is set back on a hill away from a congested downtown center, but close proximity to many activities (Santas Village, Whales Tale to name a few) but also some great hiking spots.

What we love: The value and amenities: the pool (in and out) movie theatre, game room, Barn area, outdoor food service, kids activities, tennis courts, large wonderful front porch area, the view, Spa, the great bellman who open the doors with a greeting, clean rooms stocked w what you need. The kid club is excellent

Service for the most part is always good. The outdoor service is slow, but the staff was great.
The reservations desk might need some help. They seem overwhelmed at times and we didnt not get a prompt call back.but they were helpful. All is all, another great family vacation. We will be back for sure

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor are nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear travelingwithkids67,
Mountain View Grand is a great destination for families because it has something for everyone, which is evident from your generous review. It is always nice to hear from returning guests and we thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We would also like to thank you for the constructive feedback about our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort for your fourth year!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were very excited for this stay and I had been looking forward to visiting since viewing a travel special about the spa a long time ago. We reserved a Vista Studio to give our family more space because we were traveling two children, ages three and four. When we arrived, my son tripped as he stepped over the threshold of the main door and I put down the many bags I was carrying to console him. I found it strange that neither of the two staff members working at the door or elevator checked in to see how he was or helped me pick up any of my bags while still holding him afterward. Maybe they were not sure what to do, or uncomfortable, or maybe a screaming child just makes everyone want to look the other way? Everyone was very friendly other than that, so I'm not sure what to make of this. After our check in my husband went to the front desk to inquire about the kid's program which we had planned for our four year old to participate in, and we were told it would not be running during our stay due to the many family events scheduled for the 4th of July. I would have expected to have been informed of this in advance, even through some sort of notice on the website, or a line in my confirmation email. We were very disappointed with the size of our room, as well as the view, which actually faced the side of the hotel at a forty five degree angle. The room appeared much smaller than the vista rooms pictured on the hotel's website, and did not seem in any way larger than a typical hotel room. When we opened the sleeper sofa, there was very little space to move around the room. The room's window also had a lot of foam stuffed in between the upper and lower windows for insulation, which was not very attractive looking. The bathroom actually had a really nice view, which was the view we were expecting our room to have. We asked if we could move to a larger suite, or even two connecting rooms, but none were available. We tried the Country Club for dinner, the kids liked the food, the adult food was not great. We had breakfast at the buffet in the morning, and it was fine, and the service was very good. One of my children did enjoy the pony (actually a horse) ride, and the morning barn tour was a nice experience and a much more authentic experience than a petting zoo. We decided to leave after just one night to stay somewhere else that would give our family more elbow room. I think this hotel might be a better fit for families with slightly older children. I would not advise paying the extra money for a vista room, unless you are guaranteed one of the rooms in the pictures.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear AV,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your holiday visit to the Resort. Each one of our rooms offer a unique and different feel with views varying from enjoying the property, to gardens to mountain ranges. The photos we have available do our best to represent similar characteristics in the different types and I apologize if there was any confusion in their representation. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our barn tour and hope that in the future your family is able to spend time with us again.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.