We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sky & Stay Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Lakeville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about MVG! It is EXACTLY what I needed for a stress-free weekend. It is a beautiful, clean, well-maintained building. The grounds are inviting and there is lots to do on property. We are going to return ASAP!

Room Tip: Any room with a mountain view; even the limited mountain views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for your review and your kind words. We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy a fun, stress-free stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    303
    94
    64
    46
See reviews for
516
484
19
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunkport,Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I LOVE the mountain view grand and there is truly no reason to leave. From the front desk to the time you leave 9the worst part of your stay). My favorite part of the hotel, well i have three favorites the pool, the movie room and the game room are the rooms you have to go to. I have been to MVG for short to or three times and each time is even better. The desk staff is very helpful and the wait staff is very nice. No employee was rude at all. The rooms are kept spotless and they are a historic hotel of America so they cant be all up to date but they have Wi-Fi and good wi-fi it has good connection. They are a 8 diamond hotel 4 for lodging and 4 for dining. I would highly recommend this hotel they also have many activities regardless of the season. Different activities for different seasons. I LOVE the mountain view grand!

Room Tip: The rooms on the third or fourth floor are better but all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Robert,

We appreciate you taking the time to review. Our staff always strives to be attentive, helpful and pleasant and it's great to hear this was the case during your stay. We appreciate all of your kind words about the resort and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We arrived in the rain Friday, May 4th and left Sunday morning. We checked into our room and loved every minute we were there. The hotel is spectacular, the staff friendly and helpful, the views are incredible. We originally wanted to come up on our motorcycles and enjoy the area riding around, but the weather didn't permit. But I'm glad it didn't... I didn't want to leave the hotel! They had so much to offer. The activities are great, from the historical tour, the game room, the movie theatre, the piano player in the lounge was fantastic and very friendly, the campfire with smores... and so much more...from golf, carriage rides, activities for families with children... and the spa is fantastic. Saturday it cleared and we had booked the Spa tower sok-tub with the 360 degree view of the mountain range, it was amazing. What a fanastic view! We also loved just sitting on the deck in the rocking chairs admiring the view, it is beautiful. The dining is also great... the staff is friendly and attentive and the food delicious. They truly make you feel welcomed and want to make your stay pleasurable. Thank you so much for such a wonderful time... we are definitely coming back and recommending to family and friends.

Room Tip: We loved our room, it was on the first floor in the west wing facing the mountains... couldn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Lori,

Thank you for your review. We are glad your stay with fun yet relaxing at the same time. It sounds like you and your family really enjoyed yourself and your kind words about the staff have been shared. We can't wait to welcome you back to the Mountain View Grand in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

There are very few places which can claim the honor of exception customer service and the Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is one of them. This is one of the very few places in NH which fuses classy with Family Friendly. My family and I took a weekend getaway to the mountains of New Hampshire and had the wonderful privilege of staying at the Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa. The hotel and it’s grounds are truly as grand and beautiful as its famous picture. This historic hotel has it all. We very rarely stay in the hotel when we stay at hotels. But this time, the Mountain View Hotel gave us no reason to leave. The hotel and its staff have a whole bunch of activities lined up for you and your family that you will never be at a loss for things to do. Some examples are the morning farm yard tours, to pony rides to hotel walking tours to swimming to golfing , the game room and the” in hotel Movie Theater” is great fun. The staff is warm and welcoming and you will truly get a sense that they really want to help make your stay at the hotel wonderful. A great example is the activity center staff they were all exceptional, especially the activities director Ms. Baker. She is wonderful and full of energy and life as all of her staff members are. They have a wonderful program from 2-4 where they watch your children while mom and dad can get some private time to indulge in some of the hotel’s romantic services such as the tower spa. Once Ms. Baker explained to us the entire wonderful spa services available to us at the Tower Spa we were sad to see that there were absolutely no available slots for my wife and I to indulge in some of these services. This is where the activities Director (Ms. Baker) sprung into action and made things happen. She not only made some calls and pulled some strings to get us an impossible appointment for the most popular of the spa services (Infinity tub with 360 mountain views) but she and her staff also graciously took care of our 2 kids for two hours prior to the officially activity center start time. We had a wonderful re-energizing experience at the spa and most importantly it was nice to see that my children where well cared for in our absence. Thank you to Ms. Baker and staff of the Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa activity center for granting two exhausted parents the opportunity to re-energize. For anyone reading this review….it’s authentic and true. This hotel and its staff truly want to make your stay memorable and exceptional. I can only speak to my own personal experience here and I was amazed at the professionalism and kindness of each and every staff member. We thank you from the bottom of our hearts for taking the time to care…and thank you again Ms. Baker….Your awesome!

Room Tip: ask for Mountain views if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Marco,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was not only memorable, but enjoyable and that you were able to take advantage of the many services we have to offer. Your kind and enthusiastic remarks about Ms. Baker have been passed on and shared. We cannot wait to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wardsboro
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Spend a few nights here with our 4 young kids and could of not been happier. Everyone was so friendly and accomadating. The farm animals and farmer was the highlight of our trip. We also loved the gameroom and movie theater complete with popcorn and everything. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review. We are glad you and your family had fun and our staff was able to make your visit an enjoyable one. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Was worried about some reviews I saw. We stayed in the Presidential Suite. Not as big or splashy as I would have liked but great room with amazing views. Bathroom has wonderful tub and shower. Would have liked to see bath salts and robes. No mini bar in the room but a wetbar with mini fridge if you brought your own things. If you eat in the wine cellar ask for the "nook" table, it is the best. Waiter Keith was outstanding and knew the wines expertly. Regular dining room was good. Stayed 2 nights and we were getting sick of eating there. I suggest going off property to eat if you are staying a few days. Smores by campfire, some activities for the kids, indoor pool was ok, kids really liked it. Had the lavendar crush spa treatment, it was a male that gave the treatment. He was excellent- front dest spa girls could have been nicer. They didnt offer me tea but did off another guest. General service was very very good. Property requires tons of walking. Wouldnt bring my grandmother here! But we didnt mind. I cant say enough about the views. Just unreal. mt Washington right outside our windows and the entire presidential range. Plenty of game, a movie theater, barn, and more. We would go back and take the same room. Only because all other rooms are smaller. Nicely furnished, bed was confortable. Kids slept on pull out couch in front of the fireplace.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the resort. We appreciate feedback and suggestions from guests as it helps us know what we are doing right and we need to improve on. From fine dining, to the game room, to the spa, it sounds like your stay was enjoyable and relaxing. Thank you for your valueable input and we can't wait to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Just 2 weeks prior to going to MVG my boyfriend and I came across the Groupon for a 2 night stay and decided to take our 4 kids up for a few days for April vacation. It is never boring driving up to the Mountains considering the breathtaking views, and once at the hotel, the views were even more spectacular. Grounds and hotel are very well maintained (love the turn-down service and chocolate on the pillow!), the staff is incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area and places to go. Because of the somewhat rainy weather, we had just as much fun staying at MVG with all the MANY amenities they have - indoor movie theatre, wine tasting, game room fit for adults as well as children, activites scheduled throughout the day, on-property farm, playground, golf, tennis, pool, spa, restaurant.....If you have children or don't, this is definite must for Mount Washington lovers to visit!

Room Tip: We received a free upgrade when we arrived to Mountain View rooms...I recommend these for the view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Michelle,

We apprieciate your review. We have numerous activities and amenities for our guests to enjoy and we are glad you were able to take advantage of what we had to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.