We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sky & Stay Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New Years Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our family spent 5 days over New Years at MVG. We especially enjoyed the indoor pool, the movie theater, and the breakfast buffet in the morning. We found most of the staff friendly and accommodating. Jessica was particularly nice when checking in, even though she was busy. Both Tom and Troy spent extra time talking with our son and us about the area.

Our room had a good view (although the windows were too frosted to see much most of the time). The beds were firm (perhaps too firm for some). The housekeeping was inconsistent (nonexistent one day). The turndown service was lack-luster. Perhaps the cleaning staff was overworked due to the high occupancy.

In the mornings they offered complimentary coffee, cocoa, and cookies until 11 AM. Their coffee is excellent. The workout facility was clean, had great equipment, and wonderful views.

There was no snow the weekend we were there. The hotel did not add additional activities to compensate. It would have been nice to have extended campfire hours and bigger campfires with natural wood (vs. pre-treated lumber and waste wood).

The theme night was fun for the family. The buffet dinner was nothing special, but we appreciated having a dining option that was kid friendly.

The candy canes at the front desk were a nice touch for the kids. The kids especially enjoyed the game room and the movie theater.

Overall, we would recommend the hotel, assuming the service level improves at lower occupancy rates.

Room Tip: Facing the mountain (some rooms look at the parking lot). There is one ancient elevator so most peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your family’s New Year’s Eve stay. We appreciate the specific acknowledgement of several of our staff members. Our activities department added additional staff for all the indoor and outdoor activities scheduled over the holiday vacation week. We are pleased that you were able to visit and enjoy the resort together. We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    302
    94
    64
    46
See reviews for
515
484
19
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

We felt compelled to write this review as we have used tripadvisor many times in the past and generally agree with the overall ratings after our trips. The mountain view grand was a glaring exception and we wanted to give other families our observations as there is nothing "grand" about this resort. We had planned to spend 4 nights here and were so disappointed that we left after one night. After some scrambling we were lucky enough to find accomodations on the fly in boston and rang in the new year in style with our two kids --- ages 15 and 10. In fairness to the resort our decision to leave early was also based on the poor skiing conditions. Had the skiing conditions been better, we might have gutted it out and stayed, trying to make the best of a bad situation for our kids. Here are our observations:

The location is breathtaking but as
I looked up to admire the hotel when we arrived, I noticed that the yellow paint was peeling in various places. The bellhop was friendly but uncertain. A recurring theme as we spoke with various staff members was that they all had worked at the resort for only 3 months. The rooms were nothing spectacular and remarkable only for the old fashioned dowdy looking drapes and matchy matchy bedspreads. The library, game room and indoor pool were all too small for the size of the resort and somehow sad and depressing. The air hockey game had broken plastic "holes" on all 4 corners, so every shot was essentially a goal and the game was no fun to play. Really? You can't manage to have a properly functioning air hockey game? The food in the tavern was horrible. Our waitress was friendly but had no clue as to how to be a waitress. The pasta was overcooked, the scrod was obviously frozen and my daughter commented that the chicken pot pie was better at Boston market. My son ordered chili and ribs and they were both brought out at the same time. She apologized and said that her timing was off because there was a hair in a salad at another table and they had sent it back. TMI. Finally, there was a depressing "retirement home" smell that pervaded this resort. It smelled of overheated rooms and institutional, starchy food. Our advice --- save your money and go somewhere truly grand for a family vacation!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. As we take responsibility for the concerns of our guests, I have attempted to contact you to gain a better understanding of your experience, but you have not responded. Taking all constructive comments as an opportunity to learn, we wish that you had brought your feelings to our attention during your stay, so we had the opportunity to enhance your experience. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your brief stay.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We just returned from a three-day New Year's family vacation, and we had a spectacular time. It's not easy accommodating all of us, 20 in all, ranging from three to 87. But the staff of Mountain View Grand did an amazing job. The themed dinner nights were particularly popular for the whole family. While the children danced and played games on the dance floor (supervised by the staff), the adults could enjoy the buffet on the sidelines. Maybe not for every family, but for ours, there's nothing better than watching your children, grandchildren, nieces and nephews have the time of their life. There was no snow, which certainly isn't MVG's fault, but there was still plenty to do. Bretton Woods is only 20 minutes away. We skated, swam in the indoor pool, watched a movie in the movie theater, took a ride in the horse-drawn carriage, and enjoyed the fireworks on New Year's Eve. We ate most meals within the resort, and were pleasantly surprised by both the quality of the food and the attentiveness of the staff. Overall, we left Mountain View Grand with nothing but pleasant, irreplaceable memories.

Room Tip: I'd imagine that rooms at the end of the hallway are quieter (but a longer walk). While it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Happy New Year! We appreciate you writing such a complimentary review. Our hope is that the experiences shared by your family during their New Year's stay with us will leave lasting impressions. We wish you and your family will come back every year to build more family memories.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We had been to the Mountain View Grand in the summer before and had fond memories. It remains a beautiful property with great mountain views. Our experience was very different this time. There was little snow which limited the things to do (no cross country, snow mobiling, ice skating, etc.). Over Christmas we thought they might have extra additional indoor activities. No Santa Claus! The daily camp fire seemed like a nice activity until the attendant informed me "It is not a bonfire. It is a camp fire. That would be irreponsible to have a bonfire." He never offered us a S'more or any hospitality. We had no idea we needed reservations for the Christmas brunch. When we showed up we were chastised and told it was on the sign (it was not) and then on the brochure in our room (it was not) and then on the web site (it was not). They said they could seat us at 1:30. When we arrived, 1/2 of the tables were empty. Why the hassle?? I thought upon check in, it might be helpful to ask guests staying over Christmas if they planned to attend the brunch and that reservations were needed. They might even ask to make them for you! Other guests had this issue also. The strangest thing we encountered was room service. For two days the room was impeccable but on the next day, we returned to our room to find only one bed made and the bathroom barely cleaned but they did not hesitate to take the tip we left! The supervisor came right up and apologized but we thought this was very strange. Did they think we would not notice??? I am not quite sure why the change from what we remembered. The only thing I can say is I hope The Balsam's has reopened for next Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you taking the time to speak with me about your stay. I have addressed, with our management team, the constructive comments you personally expressed to me during our discussion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

My vacation to the Mountain View Grand Hotel and Resort was the best I've ever had. There was always an activity to take part in lead by charming staff or a quiet place to read my book surrounded by the beautiful, sprawling landscape. My favorite activity took place at the stables, a must-see for anyone who visits the resort. The Equestrian Director was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and friendly, as were the horses under her care. I enjoyed a lovely ride through the mountains on a calm, dependable horse. Also enjoyable was meeting the informed farmer, who was all-too pleased to answer any questions about the happy animals. The food was delicious and savory, tended to by nice waiters who truly cared about making my experience pleasant. The room was above average and very comfortable.

Room Tip: First floor is best because you don't have to climb the stairs as high, unless you want to just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know how pleased you were with your stay. Spectacular is always a word we love to hear from our guests. Your kind words have been shared with all of our staff, especially our Equestrian Director and farmer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We've stayed here a few times and have recommended it countless times. It's close to Santa's Village making it ideal for families! The indoor pool makes makes a winter trip to SV even better as does the hot tub. The spa is fantastic, making it a great place for both couples or girls weekends. The views are incredible and it's CLEAN!!!! The customer service is some of the best I've ever had. We had a couple of very minor issues when we've stayed but they more than made up for it. Ideal for all ages

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay. We appreciate knowing that you feel a stay with us can truly be enjoyed by either a couple, a family, or friends planning a getaway together. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay!

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We came to the MVG for our annual Christmas vacation and were disappointed by what we found. The grounds and the hotel are beautiful yes, but thats about the only good things I can say about this establishment. First of all don't come here if you want peace and quiet as there is always a rowdy group of kids being unattended by their parents, yelling and running around. They like to especially congregate in the dining areas making it difficult to even talk during meals. And while I'm on the topic of meals, I'm sure the food would be fair if it were brought to the table when it was still warm. But the staff seem to have no serving experience and the result was long waits and cold food. (Be leery of the undercooked breakfast potatoes). Luckily, the view from our room was of the beautiful mountains because the room itself was very small. My massage seemed a waste, as any benefit I gained from the relaxing experience was reversed by the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on. I even overheard another guest with the same complaint at the front desk. I feel this hotel has great potential, but many essential details have been overlooked. Travelers beware.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our resort. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your holiday stay. We have endeavored to contact you to gain more specific information regarding your stay experience; but have received no response from you. Our goal is to continually develop our service skills and staff training, so we may anticipate our guest’s needs appropriately. We have, and are continuing to, enhance our guestrooms. During your stay, the resort was busy with families on school vacation gathered together to celebrate the holiday season.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.