We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent dining changes, lessen the overall experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sky & Stay Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Recent dining changes, lessen the overall experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

While I still love the Mountainview Grand, the changes that have been made to the dining area since my last vist two seasons ago were confusing and a bit weird. Gone is the large formal dining room that you enter from the side door. All access is thru the Tavern and the Tavern has grown to include most of the original dining room which has now been divided up to give the casual Tavern more room. The first night we dined in the Tavern, the hostess advised there would be a 45 minute wait. We waited. Shortly after that, I inquired and was told we still needed to wait a bit which I found odd since I could see empty tables. After another 20 minutes, we were seated in the corner of the Tavern near a busy corridor with the bus people running in and out with dirty dishes. There were plenty of emply tables, so when the flustered waitress appeared, I asked if we could move. She took us to another table and told us she hated waiting on people at that table because of the noise - I can see why. What I can't see is why we were put there in the first place?
Anyway, the meal was largely forgettable unlike the last time when I had to most delicious lemon-cured chicken - it wasn't on the menu;. The food was okay - no major complaints.
The staff seemed a bit frazzled.
The following night, while we were chatting in front of the fireplace (adjacent to the hostess) enjoing a casual conversation, an elderly gentleman came out an proceeded to ru\ip into the hostess about something...he went on and on. What struck me is that no one came to the poor woman's rescue. Surely a manager was nearby? It created an embarassing and unsettling scene for everyone in the enormous main lobby.
We enjoyed a bonfire the first night outside near the club house and the service on the front porch was excellent. The view from that veranda is so beautiful and the autumn leaves made it spectacular. I did visit the spa once...it is still lovely though expensive.
Overall, the experience was very good. I disliked the dining changes and would encourage the hotel to smooth out the choppy seating arrangments and train the eager staff to deliver a notch more professional service.

Room Tip: There are so many different types of rooms, if you get one you don't like, ask to change. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I appreciate you also taking the time to speak with me on the telephone about your experience. As we discussed, I have brought your constructive comments to our Food & Beverage Director and his staff. We are glad to know you will visit us again in the future and hope it won’t be two more years before you return.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    301
    93
    63
    46
See reviews for
513
481
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had very nice experiences with this hotel from the time I called to book the reservation (very nice and helpful staff) until checkout of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful and there were lots of things for the kids to do. The fitness center is impressive with a large variety of cardio and weight equipment. The kids loved the pool with the I spy mural. Everything was exceptionally clean and well taken care of.

Our dining experience was mixed. We dined at the tavern the whole weekend and some of the service was great and attentive and some was not so great. The breakfast buffet was nice and included all of the items from the regular menu, but our server did not tell us this on our first
morning. The food was very good for both lunch and dinner but the portions were surprisingly small for the cost. Most importantly to us, the staff was excellent with our food allergy. I can't say enough good things about this. The chef came out and talked to us each meal, they prepared our meal separately after sterilizing all of the equipment, and checked and double checked to make sure everything was safe. We felt very safe eating here, which is good because there are really not many other places around to eat!

The kids loved the movie theater and popcorn. They picked out their movie from a huge list, reserved a time, and watched the film in their own private theatre. Awesome.

We will definately come here again. The friendly staff, clean hotel, excellent amenities, and careful attention to our food allergy made this a great experience for our family.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We are happy you and your family were able to enjoy all your meals without concern. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We had our fall company outing at the Mountain View Grand this year. We had 57 people. It was the perfect location for the outing. The setting was stunning, the rooms were good, the staff very friendly. We arranged for group activities on the Saturday and had great fun doing the nature hike, capture the flag, and -- I'm not kidding here -- axe throwing. We had a nice buffet dinner in the club house for grown-ups, while the kids played games in the activity center. I would definitely recommend this hotel for large groups.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your recent company outing at the resort. After reading your review, we are pleased to know that your group enjoyed many of the resort’s activities, especially our much sought-after, axe-throwing event. We hope to host your company’s future outings.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswold, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We recently stayed here to see the fall foliage! Absolutely beautiful! We enjoyed staying here and doing all the fun activities they had available for their guests! The kids enjoyed the Horse and buggy ride, and watching them shear goats in the barn. The staff was very nice and helpful. Just being in this historical hotel is a dream! I would come here again just to experience the atmosphere. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: There is only one elevator and if you dont want to walk down the stairs get a room closer to the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of the resort. We appreciate you taking the time to express your delight at the many fun-filled activities the resort offers. We look forward to having you and your family back again to enjoy more memorable experiences.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

In the past, I have throughly enjoyed my stay at the Mountain View. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for my most recent stay. The standards have gone down considerably. The rooms were clean and the facilities beautiful, kudos to housekeeping, but unfortunately our dining experiences were terrible. The dining staff was disorganized and most of the time bordered on rude. Restaurant staff wore different uniforms making it difficult to tell who was who. Never did I expect paper napkins in the dining room. Very disappointed. Not like any of my past stays. Something has apparently changed for the worse. Truly unfortunate. Next time I will be staying at the Mount Washington.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about our resort. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. To better understand the circumstances surrounding your experience, we have endeavored to contact you to gain more specific information about your stay, but have not yet received a response. Our goal is to constantly develop our service skills and staff training so we may respond to our guest's needs appropriately. The resort did encounter one day of missed laundry delivery service which caused our dining areas to have to use our logo embossed paper napkins. Be assured we have addressed this issue and your feelings with our entire Food and Beverage department. We do wish that you mentioned your concerns while you were still at the resort, so one of our management team could have discussed these issues with you.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We recently stayed here for a wedding. The hotel was gorgeous and so were the fall leaves! Our room was lovely - we had a king sized bed room with a big bathroom. The hotel is very historical and they embrace that, with an older elevator and window ac units. I imagine both are to preserve the history of the hotel and both worked well for me.

They had the biggest/nicest fitness center I have ever seen at a hotel. They even had high-tech weight machines that counted the reps for you! The indoor pool looked really nice as well, but never had the time to use it.

If you are looking for a breakfast place down the road, we happily ate at Grandma's Kitchen both mornings we were there. It is likely just a mile down the road heading back toward the town of Whitefield. Nothing fancy, but good (almost diner-like) food and not that expensive.

Next time we come, we are certainly going to book a spa appointment. I heard the facilities and treatments are amazing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the resort. Autumn at the resort creates its own beauty with the White Mountains and surrounding mountain peaks as its backyard. We are pleased you were here to enjoy and celebrate such a wonderful occasion as a wedding. We hope you will plan a return visit soon.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I got married at the Mountain View this summer, and it was absolutely my dream wedding! It is just magestic in the gorgeous White Mountains. Angela helped coordinate and plan our perfect, stress-free wedding, and we had beautiful acoustic guitar music for our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour by Joey Bertin. We had so many guests say it was hands down, the best wedding they have been to! Angela was amazing throughout the whole planning process. Joey's talent impressed our guests, and he even learned a song to accompany my friends who sang during the ceremony. Also, staying in the Presedential Suite is unbelievable and worth the extra money. We couldn't have had a better time, and can't wait to go back to the Mountain View again as husband and wife for a getaway!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVGManager, Guest Relations at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your recent marriage. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your wedding experience. We strive to make the planning, preparation and your wedding day as memorable and perfect as you always hoped it would be. We wish you many years of happiness on your new journey together. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Cordially,
Monica Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Road, Whitefield, NH 03598
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa White Mountains, NH - Whitefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.