We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Rooms but the Walls Were Too Thin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Riverside Drive, West Chesterfield, NH 03466   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
krichard9479
1 review
“Lovely Rooms but the Walls Were Too Thin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

This hotel had very nice rooms. Spacious and very clean. We did have a couple of issues with room though. The first issue was the water pressure. It was very low and not very warm. The second issue was our biggest. Our room was located right off the lobby. The walls between our room and the lobby were so thin that we could hear the phone ringing and the lobby staff talking. It was so loud that they seemed to be right in our room. Needless to say my family and I had a mostly sleepless night. I would stay here again but not in a room next to the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
White Mountains NH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Nice place, spacious clean comfortable rooms. My experience with the staff was great but it was very confusing... It appeared as though the "discount" promised to a group was the same rate offered on the internet to everyone and anyone. The owner claims to not remember what he previously offered this group and apparently never writes anything down. Is he a people pleaser/bad manager or a rip off artist with intent to mislead? Eventulally he was somewhat accomodating.. but not without a hassle. Left a bad feeling about the place in general. In my opinion, very nice place but mismanaged. I would suggest he hire a hotel manager that understands the business.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierresaba, owner at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2009
As the owner of the Riverside Hotel, I do not remember speaking to you and the staff does not remember seeing you here. According to you, you booked 10 rooms and we gave you the discounted rate. Originally you booked 10 rooms, but canceled 5 rooms a few days before you were suppose to check in. According to the Riverside Hotel Policy, we should have charged you for those 5 rooms that you canceled. When you complained to us about the price of your room, we did upgrade you to a better room for the same price. Your acquisations about me are out of line since we went out of our way to make you happy. The same message goes to the statement below since they are from the same family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We booked rooms at the Riverside Hotel for a group after our wedding. I met with the owner on two occasions to discuss details, but was provided no written contract. The day before our wedding we realized that none of what we discussed with the owner was known to the hotel staff. Poor communication and lack of professionalism, they did make it right in the end, but it was a hassle. A beautiful hotel in a great location, but I would strongly recommend getting any details IN WRITING if you are thinking of using this hotel. We also had a few issues with the breakfast buffet being stocked, and the staff not being helpful regarding help with phone / hot tub problems. Seems to be understaffed at this time. Hopefully in time this will be a great place to stay, but get ALL conversations with management in writing. Beautiful rooms with fantastic TVs, beds and balconies. A great view, very picturesque.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north attleboro, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

The rooms are oversized and beautifully furnished. Sitting on my balcony with a cup of coffee, overlooking the CT River is a relaxing treat. If you wanted to "get away from it all" this is the place. The sleep numbered bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. I've stayed at some beautiful hotels and resorts. This place rates with the best.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quechhee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

I must say the Riverside Hotel is a excellent place to stay in the entire area including Brattleboro VT, Keene NH, and Greenfield MA!. I highly recomend this small luxury hotel to anyone traveling in the area. I love the sleep number beds that they have in every room, also the fact that every room is facing the conneticut river is amazing! I didn't realize that if you stay more than 1 night they have an breakfast coupon for you to eat free at bickfords which deffinitly makes up for the cold breakfast. All of the staff was great too. I wish them much success and luck.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

A longtime friend booked this motel for 4 couples celebrating a 50th birthday. Two couples drove up from CT, one from VT and one from right nearby Keene, NH. We knew it was a bit on the expensive side and even when we drove up to this brand new non-descript three story motel structure we still were curious what was going to justify the cost. All I can say is we were instantly impressed with a beautiful foyer and check in desk. With ceiling to floor glass windows looking out on the CT River-- much more of a bare view in March but I can only imagine fall foliage or summer. This property is brand new with the largest hotel rooms I can ever remember staying in--even in a suite situation. Gorgeous hardwood floors in every room--large screen TV's mounted on the walls. An incredibly spacious sitting area with coffee table, refrigerator and coffee maker. A most incredibly modern and HUGE bathroom with granite countertop and upscale tile flooring. We spent most of our time partying in a suite one couple rented complete with jacuzzi tub and kitchen. No expense spared in the motel. The breakfast room downstairs was amazing and delicious. Nothing hot but the variety of cold offerings made up for it. Located a stones throw off I-91 Brattleboro, VT but just one mile over the line into NH. Nice fitness room. Oversized decks off almost every room which I can only imagine will be most welcome in the summer and fall. My only criticisms are that we stayed on the first floor and I could hear alot in the rooms above us. The rooms don't seem to be well insulated. And the shower was a little weak in pressure. You would have to travel by car anywhere to eat or go out--its not the easiest walk anywhere. Other than that--I highly recommend this hidden little gem and don't let the price scare you--it is definitely not a typical New Hampshire motel!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: 20 Riverside Drive, West Chesterfield, NH 03466
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel in West Chesterfield NH, is just minutes from Brattleboro VT. The smoke-free Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Hotel is only 1/4 mile from exit 3 off Interstate 91 just over the border into NH. The hotel is located on the Connecticut river with breathtaking views from every room. All rooms feature King size Sleep Number beds, Brazilian hardwood floors, exquisite furnishings and appointments. We are the area's finest hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.