We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to relax, this is the place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Motel & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   28 Tower St, PO Box 5183, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03247   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Sharon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Want to relax, this is the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is the best place to go to have a relaxing vacation. Every morning you wake up to the best view of Lake Winnepesauke. There is everything you need just a couple of steps from your cottage or Motel. The staff are excellent and very friendly. The pool is a great size for a full swim and it is very clean. The rooms are clean as well. They have WiFi if you need to keep in touch with the outside world. I prefer to relax at the pool, or walk to the lake beach just a 3 minute walk. You could leave your car and walk to any of the numerouse eateries nearby.
If you want to relax and be yourself than this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you have a family then you want a cabin. Although if you want air conditioning, you should rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    11
    9
    16
See reviews for
36
49
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We were travelling from Canada to Boston for two weeks stopping at 8 hotels along the way.unfortunately this hotel was by far the worst, the cottage was on a very rickedy balcony with peeling paint on the windows and door. Inside was quite dark and creepy especially the bedroom.Although it was reasonably clean inside the china and cooking utensils in the kitchen were not and what was provided was very basic.
The only good thing was the view of the lake, but the surrounding area was very run down and closed for the Winter, so we had to travel to get something to eat. Just thankfull that we were only booked in for two nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Great Cottages, Love the updates to kitchen and bath.
The view is AMAZING ... The Fresh towels daily is great as well.
You can't go wrong with the Half Moon ...

Room Tip: If you have kids I suggest the cottages over the Motel. Very roomie and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The Half Moon Motel is probably one of the best deals in the area. Reasonable prices,clean, friendly courteous staff and incredible views make this a great spot for a vacation. The staff are very honest, I left my shoes in the room and didn't realize until I got home and they were returned to me very quickly. I can highly recommend this spot!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

If your looking for an inexpensive clean and safe place to stay with friendly staff this is the place for you. If you are traveling with London Tipton types you better stick with the Ritz.


It is motel not hotel. I especially enjoyed checking in to be greeted by a pleasant woman the family cat and dog. Our motel room was nice and clean with a dorm refridgerator coffee maker plenty of coffee and nice clean towels. I liked the paneling and vintage pictures on one wall to remind me of past visits as a kid. The walls were cement so it was nice and quite. I got the best sleep I've had in months and appreciated the cleaning staff letting me sleep in. I left my towels out and they left new ones.

The 2 double beds were new comfy and most important clean...There was a new AC which was easy to work and cooled the room nicely.
All the fun of Weirs is literally at your doorstep here. There were fireworks over the lake and a thunderstorm on the lake. The kids actually enjoyed watching the lightning more...

The pool was clean and the temp just right with a nice mountain top breeze. There were tables with umbrellas poolside perfect for having your coffee lunch and dinner while taking in the breathtaking sunrise and sunsets..

Another nice feature was that the bathroom mirror and sink are outside the bathroom so the hog the mirror without tieing up the bathroom.

EVERYTHING is in walking distance even a 24 hr store and gas stations with beer and wine .

For families this place is the best of both worlds, peace quiet and relaxation for parents,everything the kids enjoy at your doorstep.

If you like fall foliage trips this place is perfect you wont need to leave your porch area to take it all in.

Room Tip: They all have amazing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

If you wish to be steps away from the "action" of Weirs Beach, this is the place. But don't expect much, inexpensive-yes, amenities-no. The motel seems to be exactly as it was in the 70's and holds a commanding view of the lake. Dark paneling, nothing but soap and towels in the bathroom. The cottages were well attended but we didn't get to see inside and the pool looked great. I had planned on taking the motorcycle up but the weather held us back. If you are with a bunch of bikers looking for a relatively inexpensive place with bars and some food nearby, its a decent choice but I wouldn't be likely to return. Even though the staff were amenable and the room was clean- but simple.

Room Tip: Don't forget to check the websites for last minute deals. If I had paid the full price I would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tower28, Owner at Half Moon Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Although this customer did not like the decor, our motel rooms have been recently renovated and almost all of our customers compliment us on the retro look. Our bathrooms are supplied with the basics, but for customers who need additional amenities, they only need ask at the office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just came home and cant wait to come back next summer. I have been coming up every summer for the past 11 years. There is so much too do within walking distance no need to go anywhere else. The pool and grounds are very well maintained. There are noticeable improvements being made each year we look forward to seeing them each summer. Best vacation spot in Weirs beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Motel & Cottages

Address: 28 Tower St, PO Box 5183, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03247
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia > Weirs Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Half Moon Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most convenient location in Weirs Beach. At center of boardwalk, across street from cruise pier, train station. Walk to shops, restaurants, amusements. Closest lodging to public beach. King-size pool. Scenic view from every room. Modern motel, comfortable cottages. All units feature CCTV, AC, heat, carpeting. All cottages feature cathedral ceilings, ceiling fans. Available: two-room cottages, cottages with kitchenettes, motel suites with kitchens. Reasonable rates, friendly service. Inquire about our special savings packages. Since 1957. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Half Moon Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Motel And Cottages
Half Moon Motel & Cottages Hotel Weirs Beach
Half Moon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.