We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike Week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weirs Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages
Save
You added Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages to your Saves list
1144 Weirs Blvd, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03246   |  
Hotel amenities
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bike Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have been staying at Proctor's for many years. The rooms are great and the security during Bike Week is good. We especially enjoy seeing the people we have met there on a recurring basis. It seems to be the place to stay. Fred and Maureen are very accommodating extremely friendly. It's like "old homeweek" during Bike Week.

Tiny & Kathy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
49
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Ma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Great place to go with family.Lots of fun. Nice to be steps from the lake. Fred and Maureen are so friendly. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My family has been staying here for nearly 50 years! There is no better place to bring a family to enjoy the Lakes Region. The private beach makes it easy to watch the little ones and the owners are fantastic! Take a break when you go on vacation and go here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We have been staying at Proctor's Lakehouse for many years and will continue to stay there for as long as we are attending Bike Week.

Fred and Maureen are more than accommodating, the rooms and property are well kept.
If you are going to Bike Week this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: During Bike Week any room will do yet we always stay in the suites road side so we can see all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstead, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My family and I have been to proctor's for a week's vacation 10 out of the last 14 summers including 7 summers in a row. It is a great place to relax and enjoy some time with your family. The cottages are not big and fancy but very comfortable. They have a private beach that is over 300' long for you to enjoy. My kids and I enjoy the outdoor ping pong table. The picnic table and charcoal grills in front of the cottage makes it very easy to cook and eat your meals while never leaving the beach. My family and I do not own a boat but have stayed next to families that do and they enjoy both the private beach and easy access to the lake. The owners Fred and Maureen are always busy cleaning the beach or doing odd jobs around to make your stay a pleasant one. They often stop and say hello and make sure everything is going well without being invasive. It is a short walk to Weirs beach and boardwalk and easy driving distance to restaurants and activities if you do choose to leave for a while. If you are looking for an awesome place to take a summer vacation look no further this is the place you want to go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is the worst place we ever stayed. It's very small....website pictures are very deceiving. The tiolet is very tiny and the flush doesn't work. The shower stall is also very tiny. The water has sulfur smell in it. Didn't felt like touching the water, we didn't even took bath and brushed our teeth with mineral water.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakehouse2, Owner at Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
This was a very disappointing negative comment to receive from this guest. Prior to their arrival, we went out of out way to accommodate them. When they called to make their reservation, they wanted our smallest, least expensive Cottage (C-1) for 2 nights. We were scheduled to close for the season after their first night, but we told them we would stay open for them.
Also, we gave them, even before they arrived, a larger, more expensive 2 bedroom Cottage for the same price as the small Cottage they had originally wanted! From the moment they arrived (2 adults and a very small child), they appeared disgruntled, but said nothing to us.
We have had many compliments over the 13 years we have been here, that our website is excellent and that it depicts Proctor's the way it truly exists! And, in 13 years, we have NEVER had a complaint about our water. While they were staying with us, they never said anything about the written issues in their TripAdvisor post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

These cottages are not a hotel room, but they are efficient and have all the amentities you need. The beach was by far the nicest attribute...plenty of frontage, a nice dock, and it is very close to weirs beach. The owners were extremely nice - they went around talking to people and enjoying the guests. The place was well kept and everyone I spoke too was also very happy with the cost and the accomidations. It did appear that you could dock your boat if you had one for an additional charge. The only downside was the cottages are almost cliff-side so be prepared for some up hill walking if you stay close to the beach. Overall it's a reasonably priced place and is lots of fun.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages

Address: 1144 Weirs Blvd, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03246
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia > Weirs Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Weirs Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages - Weirs Beach "A New Idea in Old-Fashioned Hospitality". 350' private sandy beach with docking for 5 boats. Within short walking distance to Weirs Beach Attractions, yet far enough for quiet times. ALL UNITS ARE NON-SMOKING. 12 Cottages & 8 Family Suites. LIVE WEB CAM on our web site. Free wireless internet access. Units sleep 2-7 persons. Picnic tables, charcoal grills and Adirondack chairs for each unit right on the beach. Memories begin here. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proctor's Lakehouse Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.