We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Fox Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn
70 Packard's Rd, Waterville Valley, NH 03215 (Formerly Silver Fox Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Almonte, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Silver Fox Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very nice, and small hotel in Waterville valley, NH. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free bike rentals available and complementary wine and cheese between 4 and 5 pm. Room was spacious and bright, however, bed was a bit hard for our taste.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you. I hope we see you again. Don't forget 5 pm for the free wine and cheese social. See you there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    44
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
57
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love this area because of the mountain views everywhere you look and the nice smell of the mountain pine trees. This hotel is very clean and people are super friendly. Breakfast can not be beat with fresh fruits, hot oatmeal, french toast, bagels, eggs, coffee, juice, tea, hot cocoa, yogurt, pastries etc. The lobby and central seating area with fireplace are excellent relaxation places. Complimentary wine and cheese is available in the afternoon. Spectacular mountain views on the beautiful outdoor deck that seats has about 14 tables. Also great views inside the hotel as well. Great place for a wedding or family gathering. They have an upstairs meeting room for business or gathering.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your stay and the nice review. Thank you also for pointing out the delicious breakfast and the other cozy amendments all of our guests enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent a very pleasant two days at the Best Western Silver Fox Inn in Waterville, NH. This little village, tucked in a quaint valley in the White Mountains, is truly bucolic. Except for the numerous destination weddings being held in the village, you won't find many people on the streets here after 9 p.m. I agree with another reviewer that this inn feels very bed and breakfasty. There is wine and cheese served every afternoon, a couple of resident cats who roam the hallways, and a surprisingly wonderful breakfast buffet. THis was a surprise as we did not know that the rate included breakfast. You will find just about everything at this buffet -- waffles and french toast, cereal, fruit, and egg dish, etc. The coffee is better than what is served in many luxury hotels. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable. I was surprised that there was no room safe, but I guess that is just the city girl in me talking. I would say that the service is gracious and friendly. The only reason I don't give this inn five stars is that when we checked in we were given a room right next to the lobby, front door, and stairs to the second floor. I asked the lady at the front desk if we could move to another room, as I am a ridiculously light sleeper. SHe told us that there would be no noise at night and that there were no other rooms. I know that there were some other rooms, as the majority of wedding party guests did not arrive until the following day. So, I don't think she quite tried hard enough to please me. In the end, while the hotel is generally very quiet indeed, there IS noise from the front door closing, and from people using the stairwell. As well, the AC units in the rooms are really rackety, so bring your ear plugs if you like AC at night. I recommend that if you are a light sleeper like me, ask in your reservation request for a quiet room at the back of the inn. All and all, if I were to return to this village I would stay at the Silver Fox Inn again, but request a quiet rear facing room at the time of reservation.

Room Tip: Always be specific about the type of room you prefer at time of reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for being our guests. I do apologize if there was a bit of noise near your front door location. There is quite a distance from the front door to the room but if you're a light sleeper that might be just a bit of an annoyance. Just request a more remote room next time and I think we'll get that 5th star. Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a great family or romantic getaway in the summer or winter this is a great place to go. I was there in the summer and the location is breathtaking. The lodge is super friendly. They make you feel like you are staying at a close friends home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much. Our guests, many of them, do become good friends and visit us year after year. Please introduce yourself to me when you return so I can personally thank you for such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed here many times and have loved it. The owners, Tor and Susan, as well as the staff are always so gracious. We are usually here after ski season in early Spring and the Inn is quiet and inviting. Breakfast is a treat with great views of the mountains. We find the location ideal and we usually take short day trips over to Vermont, (Woodstock, Ben and Jerry's, The Vermont Flannel Company) and over to Portland Maine, a nice 2 and 1/2 hour drive for Lobster lunch and then up to Freeport to LL Bean Hqs. When we return to the Inn we relax with wine and cheese that our hosts provide in the common area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for writing not only a wonderful review but an excellent itinerary for our guests. For you golfers, a round at Mt. Washington is worth the drive and an visual experience you'll be talking about for many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Expecting a "big hotel" type of experience due to the Best Western name, we were pleasantly surprised with the overall experience here. Gorgeous view of the mountains from the back deck, homemade egg souffle for breakfast (along with waffles, french toast, bagles...), and wine and cheese put out at 4 PM and free bikes to use for pedaling around. More than I would expect from a hotel. The owners, Tor and Susan, make you feel right at home during your stay. For you animal lovers that miss your pets while you are gone, the 3 house cats will help you through your withdrawal. they are around and will allow you to pet them, but won't bother you unless you make the first advance. Never did see the 3rd one, who, as Susan describes, is fat and lazy.
The rooms were what you expect and everything you need is in the room. Bathroom was a bit smaller than I usually encounter. An added touch was the main lobby area, which had very comfortable seats to lounge in, with a deck right off the lobby.
I was surprised with the place being full how quiet it was. Made for nice quiet getaway for a couple of days. There was a Town Square right down the street with a number of shops and restaurants and a place to rent kayaks, paddleboats and stand up boards. If you are looking for a place to learn how to do any of them, the small pond is calm and uncrowded. We did our first kayaking and enjoyed it. The Lantern, on the 2nd floor of the Town Square, is a great place to eat. Had the twin petite filets, which were very tender.
The Waterville Valley area is a great place to unwind. If I didn't hate snow so much, I would consider it for retirement.
If you're looking for a nice place to getaway, give the BW a try. Oh yeah, homemade chocolate chip cookies are part of the 4 PM assortment as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
What a nice review. Thank you so much. I'm so glad you stayed with us and experienced the valley and Town Square. The wine and cheese social is very popular with our guests as are those chocolate chip cookies made by my wonderful wife and partner Susan. Susan is a chef by trade so everything she prepares from our complimentary breakfast to those cookies have a special something. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived in the late afternoon and was greeted by Mary whom I had spoken to the night before to make reservations. She was very welcoming and friendly. We felt right at home. We had the cheese and wine tasting which was very nice. The hotel had a family gathering which was explained to us as we were making reservations. After 10pm, the hotel was quiet with the hotel guests respecting all. In the morning we had a good breakfast buffet with varied choices. We checked out and went to the community center and enjoyed the pool and even took a ride up to the mountain on the ski lift. Had we brought our bug spray, we could've enjoyed the top of the mountain more. There was a nice man at the top of the mountain that was singing opera songs. He had a beautiful voice. Plan on going back the end of August.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our Inn. We hope to see you again. And thank you for such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn

Address: 70 Packard's Rd, Waterville Valley, NH 03215 (Formerly Silver Fox Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fox Hotel Waterville Valley
Best Western Waterville Valley
Waterville Valley Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.