We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn
70 Packard's Rd, Waterville Valley, NH 03215 (Formerly Silver Fox Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We loved staying at the Waterville Valley Resort in New Hampshire, last fall just before Columbus Day. The rooms were very nice, the staff was excellent, and we enjoyed the wine and cheese in the late afternoon. The breakfast was fabulous-all home-cooked! Easy to recommend this inn!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. We think we have the best breakfast in the valley. I hope you ate breakfast or enjoyed a glass of wine out on the deck so you could soak in the spectacular view. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    44
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
57
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel and staff were just fine and we really lacked nothing during our stay. Breakfast was a little disorganized, but mostly as a result of a large group that arrived all at the same time at the buffet. As such, many of the buffet items quickly ran out and the kitchen staff was scrambling to keep up. Other than that little issue, the hotel met my expectations for the price paid. Comfy bed, clean room, sheets and bathroom, all made the stay pleasant, if not memorable.

I just don't get why people are attracted to this little town. The resort is 10 miles from any form of civilization and, other than the few shops and restaurants in the "Town Square", there's little of interest for a city boy like me. Sure I like to get away to the country, and certainly the scenery is spectacular and the air is fresh. But why build a self contained artificial oasis with an artificial lake and a wannabe village just to accommodate tourists and weekend condo owners? I guess it would be a great spot for skiers in the winter since it's right near White Mountain, but summer was a bit of a yawn for me. Personally, I would have preferred to have stayed right in Compton, 10 miles away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to comment. We're largely a year-round family destination and an "everybody" winter, ski destination. If you're looking for solitude, enjoy hiking, bike riding, tennis, golf, fishing or just lounging around light years from city hustle and bustle, we're a pretty good choice for most folks. If none of those outdoor pursuits are your cup of tea, Campton would probably be a pretty good choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The staff was very friendly. We arrived late and we were told we missed the free wine and cheese which they have every night for all their guest. Even though we were late they brought out the wine and cheese just for us. The room was standard, nice and clean. Internet is free. Full homemade breakfast is included and was delicious. Good value. It was a little hard to find with the directions they gave us but it was dark and we were tired so it may have just been us!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thanks for leaving your comments. The wine and cheese social is a big hit with our guests and we couldn't let you miss it just because you got in a little late. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed for one night and it was okay. Convenient locatiion. It was economical and fine if you just need to stay someplace... plain and a little dated... The breakfast was homey... convenient for getting back out in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our lodge is designed very much in a traditional mountain chalet style so it is a bit hard to "update". Most people love the comfort and feel of the inn with plenty of comfortable seating around the stone fireplace. But we're glad that had the opportunity to enjoy Susan's breakfast. Most people agree that it's the best in the valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westboro,ma
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked here when the Golden Eagle (where friends were staying) was over $200/night. It was right around the corner and $126 including taxes w/AAA discount. Free unlimited usage of mountain bikes and a very good breakfast included. Clean rooms, beautiful porch with view for outdoor breakfast eating or just hanging out. Wine (so-so) and cheese each afternoon, one afternoon with pizza too. No fridge in room however (we knew that coming), but plenty of ice for your cooler. Would definitely stay again. Saw a cat outside, but didn't bother us at all. Did not notice cats nor cat odor inside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
We're glad you chose us. And we're glad you discovered why the deck is a favored spot with our guests. The views are hard to beat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

The friendliness of the innkeeper & staff , along with the spacious lobby sitting areas add a lot to the basic, but comfortable hotel room. Morning breakfast ( included in room rate ) is hearty enough to fuel up for a great day of alpine or cross country skiing or snowboarding. If you like skating , take advantage of the full size indoor ice arena. Wild Coyote grill is great for dinner.
If you need anything while staying at the Silver Fox just ask the innkeepers Tor & Susan - they will go out of their way to make your stay hassle free.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torze, Owner at BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you! We couldn't have written a better review of our Inn. Susan and I thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The location of this hotel is great if you want to be somewhere quiet and pretty. The only issue that it was a little too far from anywhere else.

The hotel certainly did have a bed and breakfast feel to it. The complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice touch and the effort into breakfast was a welcome change from the previous inns we have stayed at.

Rooms were clean and comfortable and very quiet which made for good sleeping. The only issue I felt was (other than being far away) opening hours of the restaurant for dinner. 20:00 if I recall correctly. If you missed this expect a short drive to one of the (very) few eateries nearby.

Oh and this place does not have that many cats despite some of the other reviews.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn

Address: 70 Packard's Rd, Waterville Valley, NH 03215 (Formerly Silver Fox Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fox Hotel Waterville Valley
Best Western Waterville Valley
Waterville Valley Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Silver Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.