We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Valley Farms B&B, Cottages and Vacation Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walpole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Valley Farms B&B, Cottages and Vacation Farmhouse
Save
You added Inn at Valley Farms B&B, Cottages and Vacation Farmhouse to your Saves list
633 Wentworth Road, Walpole, NH 03608   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Walpole B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Peaceful and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We only had time for one night at Valley Inn, with better planning we would have stayed longer. We rented a cottage for our family of five. Our oldest son spent the morning on the fields with some of the interns learning about chickens and organic farming. Jackie was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions about organic farming. Our two younger kids spent most of their time playing with the kittens. Homemade bread, fresh eggs and milk for breakfast. You can also pick vegetables from the garden for finner. Lovely setting and friendly hosts.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
73
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I returned to the Inn at Valley Farms for the 4th time this past weekend. It was a delightful trip, as always. We stayed in the spacious and lovingly decorated Rose Room which features a canopied king-size bed. Innkeeper Jackie treated us to three delicious breakfasts made with the farm's own eggs, organic strawberries, chocolate mint, and peach preserves. The popovers on Saturday morning were a little basket of heaven--airy, golden yellow, and sinfully good with Jackie's strawberry rhubarb preserves. There is something deeply satisfying about food when it comes to you prepared with love and right from the garden. it's great fun to dine with the inn's other guests--you never know where the conversation will take you (our topics ranged from assessing interventions in medical care to the group behavior of cows and chickens). We visited Calvin Coolidge's birthplace in Plymouth Notch, VT and tootled around Peterborough, then attended chamber music concerts at Apple Hill Chamber Music Center. A wonderful mix of history, culture, and natural beauty. And of course there is the farm itself, where you can see organic farming put into practice. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Inn are delightful. I hear the cottages are great fun too.
See more room tips
Green Features: Jackie is extremely committed to eco-friendly practices. No little bottles of shampoo, e.g. but a dispenser in the shower for shampoo and conditioner. A special washcloth for makeup remover so towels don't need to be laundered needlessly.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My little family arrived, travel-weary at the farm expecting to plop down and dig into our stack of books and sleep our way through the weekend. Well, we did sleep like babies and I did read a little. (And there's a great bookstore in Keene, and I mean great.) As we drove into what seemed like a postcard of a farm in NH we were greeted by my new hero, the human dynamo that is Jackie Caserta. Damn! One tour of a farm later with chickens, roosters, dog, cats, goats, cows we were in love. Herbs from the garden? She's got them. Need a fresh chicken? It's there. Want to go for a country lane walk? Right outside your door. Anything you want to do is nearby, from hiking, shopping, eating, swimming....Name it and Jackie will tell you where to do it. But you might not want to leave, well, except maybe to go the three miles into town (lovely drive btw) to pick up some chocolate and wine and top off the bread that Jackie delivers every morning, what to go with all that butter you picked up at the Walpole Grocery. I spent my entire ride home from Ohio plotting excuses to go back to the farm. It's gorgeous, it's comfortable, it's peaceful, and then there's the force of nature that is Jackie!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Bellows cottage. Not for somebody with bad knees who likes to sleep on the second floo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Eco-friendly shower products, cleaning products, grass-raised livestock next door, recycled toilet paper.....the place has a green glow about it!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I took a mini vacation to celebrate our 49th wedding anniversary. The Inn at Valley Farm was outstanding. The historic home was filled with antiques. We were treated to a fresh from the farm, homemade, breakfast every morning, with treats like strawberry smoothies, crepes, delicious popovers and MORE! The accommodations were exceptionally clean.
Jackie, the innkeeper, is most gracious and shared information about the house's history as well as the "behind the scenes" workings of an organic farm. The surrounding area is peaceful and very, very relaxing.
We live in the vicinity of the inn so we were familiar with several of the neighboring towns. We did some antiquing, shopping and then returning to the inn for our relaxation time. It was like coming home.
We highly recommend staying at the Inn.

Room Tip: All of the accommodations are great.
See more room tips
Green Features: Well, you can't get any better than eating fresh organic produce every day and witnessing first hand the environmentally friendly practices that are a part of the operation of the farm and the inn.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My girlfriend and I went initially to stay at a place with animals but we got much more than that. We learned so much about sustainable farming, living and what it means on the bigger picture to consume pure foods. We ate fresh eggs from the coop every morning with herbs from the garden. We woke up early to help with the chores. The level of involvement is as much as you wish. If you just want to relax in a peaceful surrounding its right there for you. Jackie was a wonderful host and was there for anything we needed. She and everyone that is involved on the farm demonstrated how passionate they are about living sustainably and healthily. Wonderful people. If you go, definitely go out to the Brattleboro animal farm retreat. Awesome experience to interact closely with the animals. Also go for a tour of the woodland trail led by George Washington the cat. We would love to return. Thanks Jackie!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you’ve stayed at a B&B before, then you’ll find the Inn at Valley Farms is one of the best. If you’ve never stayed at a B&B before, then this Inn is a great place to start. We stayed in the Garden Suite for almost a week and loved every minute of it. The Inn is charming and the rooms are comfortable and exceptionally clean. Jackie is a wonderful hostess and makes delicious breakfasts using ingredients from the farm. The food is fresh and healthy. We enjoyed talking with Jackie and learning about the history of the farm and also her farming methods. She willingly took us on a tour of the farm and we could see “beyond organic” farming in action. The area where the Inn is located is beautiful and close to lovely small towns. We are looking forward to visiting again and highly recommend the Inn at Valley Farms to others.

Green Features: The soap, shampoo, and cleaning products are organic. Jackie prepares breakfasts that feature local food, much of which is from her organic farm. It feels like the owners are living an environmentally-friendly life and are including those practices in how they run the Inn.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a wonderful time vacationing with two active young boys who loved the opportunity to explore a real working farm. They were so excited to see all the animals and to wonder the fields enjoying the beautiful rural setting. we stayed in one of the self-contained cottages, and the accommodations were clean, comfortable and charming with plenty of room for everyone. The delicious breakfast is delivered at 8am and you put it together yourself when you are ready. Very relaxed and low key for a young family. There is a playground out the back, and lots of room to run. Very enjoyable stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a self contained cottage if travelling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Valley Farms B&B, Cottages and Vacation Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Valley Farms B&B, Cottages and Vacation Farmhouse

Address: 633 Wentworth Road, Walpole, NH 03608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Walpole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Walpole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience New England on our picture-perfect 105-acre organically managed farm. Be pampered in our elegant 1774 Colonial home with decadent three course candlelight breakfasts using our own farm fresh eggs and produce. Or stay in one of our self-sufficient three bedroom cottages or Sunnyside Farmhouse perfect for families, small groups or extended stays. Visit the farm animals, collect fresh eggs from the hen house and learn where real food comes from. A farmstay is a vacation you will not soon forget - memories to last a lifetime. Fine dining, hiking, farmers' markets, winery, cheese makers all nearby. Now offering our picturesque farm for intimate weddings and special events. Mid week and extended stay discounts available. Named one of 10 Top Historic Inns in New England by Yankee Magazine (11/11), 2011 NH Farm of Distinction, 2010 "Editor's Pick" - Yankee Magazine's "Best of New England". ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Valley Farms B&B, Cottages and Vacation Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.