We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already Returning Again in 2 Weeks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage at the Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anchorage at the Lake to your Saves list
Anchorage at the Lake
2.0 of 5 Ranch   |   725 Laconia Road, Tilton, NH 03276   |  
Hotel amenities
North Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Already Returning Again in 2 Weeks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Found this spot by accident and I'm so glad I did. The grounds are gorgeous with mountain and lake views. Each cabin has a screened in porch which made it easy to take them all in even when it rained a day on my vacation. The three beaches were convenient to catch some sun on either in a social setting or a really private one. Fires every night were fun to get to meet neighbors. Rooms are clean and have all the essentials and the staff was super friendly and accommodating. This will be my new spot to rest and relax at for future trips to play on Lake Winnisquam.

Room Tip: Check out the map on their website to pick the cabin with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We couldn’t be more happy that you accidentally found us and that you now know just where we are! You’ve got it…beautiful grounds, great views, nightly fires, accommodating staff and the BEST spot to stay and relax on Lake Winnisquam. Thank-you very much for the review and we look forward to seeing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    9
    1
    16
See reviews for
50
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Well I just got finished reading other peoples reviews...I'm glad the overall opinion is a positive one because ALL of my wedding guests would agree. The Anchorage was Plan B for us after our original venue fell through, first we saw it under 4ft of snow, next we went back in the rain, finally the weekend of our wedding came and it was beautiful! Collectively our guests booked all but three of their cabins, so I had the unique opportunity of seeing inside just about every one, no two cabins are exactly the same. Some had better kitchens, some had better bathrooms, some had a better overall layout, its luck of the draw...or you call Alyson, she knows each one and can match you with whats important to you! We took #28 for the view, I liked the layout of #8 best, #26 was fully renovated and the waterfronts are centrally located (no giant hill to climb getting back to your cabin). We both agreed, in the end, we had a better wedding here than we could've had at the original place. Alyson and Chris bent over backwards to make sure we had EVERYTHING we needed, going above and beyond. On Sunday morning our guests all gathered under the tent telling us how amazing everything was, we mentioned coming back next June and everyone piped up that they're in too, so we'll be taking over the place again next year, minus the 100ft tent!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
It is always so nice to see couples getting married here at The Anchorage at the Lake for their destination wedding. Your review could not be more accurate and we appreciate you taking the time to write one. Being a seasonal property, often times couples have no choice but to tour it in the middle of winter, trudge through snow and view cabins that have been shut down with no electricity. Under those circumstances it is easy to see how we could be plan B because you definitely do not get the same feeling you would get for the property if touring it during the open season. With that being said, EVERY bride and groom that had to make decision after viewing the property while it was closed was incredibly happy with their decision to have their wedding and reception here at The Anchorage at the Lake.

Return trips for reunions seems to be the trend after a destination wedding which is wonderful for us to see because it validates that The Anchorage at the Lake is a great destination spot for ANY type of gathering because it is so family oriented where everyone one from toddlers to seniors will enjoy their time spent here. We are thrilled to hear that your guests had such a good time at your wedding that many will be returning next year. Congratulations to you both and we look forward to seeing you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our family of 5 spent 2 nights at a waterfront cabin. Everyone loved the lake, and we took full advantage of the kayaks and canoes. Beds were comfy and there were plenty of clean towels in our cabin! Friendly and very accommodating staff--who helped make our 30th birthday boy's celebration quite special! Thank you, Anchorage at the Lake!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that the birthday boy wasn’t disappointed! How can a guy go wrong starting his 30th birthday off with Mimosas and thick cut bacon that was thoughtfully arranged via telephone by a friend? Hopefully we’ll see you again soon…perhaps for another celebration?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I came up for the 4th of July weekend, and rented cabin 7. The cabins for perfect rustic cabins, with everything you need for your stay. The owners Chris and Allison are beyond friendly and helpful. We used the kayaks, sat by the fire, played horse shoes and really enjoyed ourselves. The grounds are kept up nice, wish they had activities for the visitors, maybe on weekends but there is still tons of things to keep you occupied. We will def. Be returning, hopefully with more friends and family and closer to the water. If your looking for a family oriented, pet friendly step above camping on the eater this is the place for you. The owners know you by name and are just a phone call away. Def. A gem in NH I hope to enjoy for years to come

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank-you Heather for your review. The Anchorage at the Lake is definitely a gem in New Hampshire for camping enthusiasts that appreciate the luxury of having a basic cabin with a fully equipped kitchenette, private bathroom & shower that is just steps away from three private beaches where you also get free use of kayaks and canoes. Furry family members even get to enjoy one of the private beaches and canoes and you are so right, many people return with their pets because the overall experience for the entire family is so great!

Chris and I appreciate that you think of us as the owners and it’s a common thought amongst guests. However we are actually the Innkeepers for The Anchorage at the Lake and work for a great company that prides itself in having management teams that treat the properties they oversee as their own. It makes us happy when guests unintentionally confirm that we are doing just that. The Anchorage at the Lake is one of the last resorts of its kind and we all do our best to keep it that way! We look forward to seeing you again…closer to the water next time! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights for a small vacation. This place was great!! We travel with our dog and this place is very pretty friendly! The pet beach was a great plus! Our dog got to swim and play on the beach too!! The only extra perk that would have been nice would be campfire rings at each cabin. But the nightly fire in the main fire pit is a great asset. Very rustic cabins but wonderful!! We will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank-you for your feedback. Yes, The Anchorage at the Lake is very pet friendly and the fact that one of our three private beaches is pet friendly is one of the many reasons pet owners love coming here. Glad you all had a good time. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingburg, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This place was beautiful stay for my self and the rest of my group. Great scenery very clean and lots of things to do and we was well provided for by the staff . And management is very accommodating and pleasant to deal with . Can't say enough about it
And we are looking forward to the next year and already made reservations to stay again .

Room Tip: Be prepared for a grate stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Butch thank-you for your review and enthusiasm about the Anchorage at the Lake. Bike week here is always a blast for guests because it’s a great spot for groups, couples and “lone riders”. Guests are thrilled by having their own kitchenette, screened in porch, grill, beaches, lake views and nightly campfires where they meet everyone else on the property. Many lifelong friendships have formed at the main fire pit. The Weirs isn’t far and the number of scenic back roads in the area are endless. We’re so happy that you and your group had such a positive experience and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had one night here, on our way south. We had a two bedroom cabin. The cabins are very basic, and I do see how that suits some people. The cabin was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and we had glimpses of the lake from the porch. The fly screen from the porch could do with some fixing. The place has kayaks and canoes that you can take out, and they light a campfire every night. It was a peaceful place and we slept well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank-you for your review. We are happy that you found the Anchorage at the Lake to be peaceful and that you slept well. The Anchorage at the Lake is a seasonal resort with nostalgic charm and improvements are done annually in phases in an effort to show guests that we are doing everything we can to make the property better and better every year. We try to find a balance between offering the best rates we can in order for the Anchorage at the Lake to continue to thrive and continue to be a vacation destination spot for families year after year. Some of the best things about the Anchorage at the Lake are definitely the private beaches, complimentary kayaks & canoes, nightly campfires and comfy beds. We are very appreciative of your review and that your overall experience was pleasant. We hope that you come back and visit us again and suggest booking directly through our web site where you can find BOGO deals and last minute “Hot Deals”. Liking us on facebook will also give you an opportunity to know when rates are reduced and special discounts and offers are being made available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Address: 725 Laconia Road, Tilton, NH 03276
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, nightly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm however for those who must still be connected or watch the game, the Common Room does offer FREE WiFi, a desktop computer and cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage at the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.