We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best two day trip ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shalimar Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shalimar Resort to your Saves list
Shalimar Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   650 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03289   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tilton
Rochester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“The best two day trip ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights at the Shalimar Resort and it couldn't have been better!
From the very beginning the staff was welcoming, and very informative of the resort and what it had to offer. We stayed both Wed, and Thur nights and were treated to dinner in the lobster house both nights. Wed was a Pasta buffet but not what you would picture. They offered a variety of breads, dipping oils, salads, and delicious stuffed peppers, you then go to a station where you tell the chef what you would like in your pasta from scallops to mushrooms, and all kinds of others, then choose your sauce, pasta, and even if you would like pesto or garlic added........ it was phenomenal. The second night gave us a choice from the house menu which is very impressive, and also very delicious. The complimentary breakfast actually deserves compliments, giving guests a great variety.
Both the pool, and jacuzzi were very clean and perfectly temped. The whole resort is impeccably clean, and inviting. Our room was beautiful, and simple, having all of the essentials for a great stay.
Thank you to the amazing staff ,and we will not only be sending up friends, and family but coming back ourselves! Already planning the next trip!

-The Cullens

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    34
    19
    25
    31
See reviews for
56
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The "inclusive" meals do not include much... drinks... salads...BREAD... all extra. Family of 4 meal... $60... AFTER discount... not what is advertised. Drinks are WAYYYYYYY.... overpriced... not terrible... but advertise the truth.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stopped by here for a night when traveling from Montreal to Boston and found this gem with a beautiful surroundings. Next morning we overslept and missed the breakfast, but the lady at the front desk was so nice and offered us a tasty cake and coffee. I also enjoyed a hot tube and indoor swimming pool. My girlfriend highly appreciated visiting nearby Tanger Outlet. Ok, me too ;-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just completed a two-night get-away stay here for my birthday. We had purchased the Half-Off deal and they were also running a special. And absolutely incredible bargain. We had a lake-facing front room with two queen beds. Quaint, cozy and clean. I was a bit surprised that the owners hadn't covered their window air conditioners. It was quite cold outside and that cold air was definitely coming right through. I simply tucked the heavy curtains around it for the nights. The heat source for the room more than compensated. The price of the room includes vouchers for dinners and the buffet breakfast on Sunday morning. We each enjoyed the baked-stuffed haddock the first night. The second night my husband enjoyed the veal parmesan and I had the char-grilled rib-eye steak. All the food was really pretty good. I am usually leery about ordering a steak, but it was cooked to perfection for medium rare and was juicy and very flavorful. I was very pleased. The buffet breakfast is out of this world. We did not partake of the continental breakfast items as, truthfully, we were not aware of it. Bummer. My husband and I are very laid-back travelers. We rarely partake in any hotel/motel amenities and it was no exception that we did not partake in the use of their hot tub, or heated indoor swimming pool but we did observe much family fun from the upper windows. It looked very clean in there. (Its usually because we have driving activities planned and we use the hotel for sleeping and relaxing purposes only.) So, the rooms were clean, the help was wonderful, friendly, and attentive. We can both say, as owners of a pillow-top mattress at home, that the mattresses are on the very firm side--but that's typical of most hotels and motels. Another issue with all hotels and motels is it's very much like a dorm. Don't expect a lot of peace and quiet. It is right on route 3, so you'll have traffic noise. And there is always the traveling of conversational voices and doors opening and closing (there was definitely a few that seemed to take great pleasure in closing their door very loudly--DON'T be one of them!) All in all, it's not a bad deal for a quick get-away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The best part of this resort is that they have so much right there-no driving for a quick local overnight getaway from life! The room is homey and nicely renovated, rates are very reasonable and with the halfoffnh.com specials it's a deal of the century. Plenty of parking and balconies facing the lake are a nice bonus. We have a seasonal trailer in Belmont and visit the area a couple times in the winter just to have a mini getaway. We certainly know the area and this is our fave pic! The Lobster House Rest. on site has EXCELLENT food and a full bar with Karaoke on Fri/Sat eve Kids love the pingpong, pool table area and large, clean pool. You just unpack and hang out without having to drive (nice bonus if having cocktails) cause it's all under one roof. The food is awesome and you wouldn't think that a hotel would perform well in the food service end but they certainly do. Sunday brunch is a bargain at $15.00/ayce including wonderful carving of prime rib and eggs bennie plus shrimp cocktail to boot, and I believe the dessert table is all homemade on premises with a wide selection of homemade donuts and cakes etc. Best brunch boasted in area and well worth it. Dinner and brunch vouchers were given to us which is generous and they also have a free continental breakfast area as well which I think is everyday(kept very clean and well stocked). All in All it's a great family owned and run resort worth checking out! We love it, KAT

Room Tip: rooms in front have lake view with balcony and back is parking lot facing woods but no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We chose this resort for the closeness to Concord and the I-93. Also, it had a pool, fitness center, and lake view rooms. The pool was amazing. The fitness center was outdated. The lakeview was accross the parking lot, accross the road and down a field. All we could see was literally a speck of water. The rooms were suitable for a 1 night stay. I wouldn't recommend this place for long term stays. Breakfast was alright and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shalimar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Resort

Address: 650 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03289
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shalimar Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shalimar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Tilton
Shalimar Hotel Winnisquam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shalimar Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.