We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where did everyone go?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   788 Laconia Road, Tilton, NH 03276 (Formerly Country Lake Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 4 Tilton B&B and Inns
augusta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“where did everyone go?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Check in was fine, very helpful woman at the front desk. Room was clean but the bed was a bit on the lumpy side. Traveling alone so I did not need much space. Was promised a breakfast with coffee in the am. Got up around 8:00 in the am and went to find breakfast. No one in site. Everything was locked up. Realized I was the only one at the hotel. No other cars, no sign of life. Reminded me of a Twilight Zone episode. I found the phone # and called to see what happened. THe owner said he was not aware he had quests. Did offer to come down to the hotel but at that point could not hang around.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
16
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nj
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Our family stayed at one of the cabins and as soon as we opened the door the cabin reaked of urine. The loft which had two twin beds was left with unclean sheets that where left all oven the place. There was a window that was broken right in the front and was told that the window had been broken for two years (who leaves a broken window and rents out to others without fixing it) all the blind in the cabin where dirty and broken you where lucky if you could get them up to see the view of the lake across the street and even if you did it was threw dirty windows. When I complained about the state of the place telling them that the sofa bed they claim on their add as being (nice and new) is dirty and has stains that look and smell like urine they just looked at me and said that no one else ever complained about it. I wonder who wouldn't complain who do they rent to that would want to sleep on something so dirty they didn give us covers to cover up the chair and sofa. I was so upset that I was on the phone trying to find another place but I couldn't find one everything was booked for that evening and I was stuck there. It took me a whole day of my vacation to clean the place the walls where dirty spider webs everywhere and grease on the wall and who knows what else. I had to clean all the cabinets and drawers the bathroom reaked the rug was never vacumed we went out and bought all types of cleaning products just so we could get threw the week without feeling like we might get sick. It is a shame because the place could have been nice if it was taken care of. The beach across the very busy street was very very small, so if you are going there thinking about enjoying time on a nice beach look else where. The cabins have people who live there full time or I was told rented out to people who have lost homes etc. It seemed to me that it was like they didn't really want outsiders there it was odd and uncomfortable. The coin opt washer and dryer located in the hotel was dirty and I ended up going to a close by laudry matt because the dryer didn't even work .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

This place is now called 'Rodeway Inn Tilton motel'.

We stayed for couple of nights (including Independence day). First the positives.

* Amazing & Very friendly staff (Uday, manager)- helpful, genial and courteous, went out of the way to be of any help possible
* Excellent rate 65/day - beat every other rate, including their own online rate !
* Limited continental breakfast - yogurt, cereal bar, coffee, fruits & muffins.
* Beautiful view of the Winnisquam lake right from your rooms !

Areas of improvement
* Never got a confirmation email - despite using online facility to re-send itinerary !!
* The room (double-bed) was VERY small. We had very little place to move about, after we had our luggages in the room
* Bathroom had no bath-tub - only stand-in shower. The bathroom was so cramped that, if you sat on the toilet, your face would hit the faucet/wash-basin
* No iron-board/hair-dryer/face tissues/"don't disturb" tags (The manager did give me a hair-dryer on request)
* No inner curtains for windows - either you could be left all dark, or all open for people to see through
* No microwave/fridge despite request
* Breakfast service was non-existent - Had to remind them to get coffee and the breakfast bar (see above for the 'breakfast' menu)
* Asked for a non-smoking room - but got a room that reeked of smoke. Even though the entire motel is "supposed" to be smoke free, almost all the travellers were seen smoking in the corridor including the house keeping staff- the room clearly smelt like someone puffed all-day ( no offense to smokers)
* Noise insulation was bad - could hear traffic on the road.
* they seemed to have some problem with their AC - it ran for 10 minutes, and used to auto-switch-off for 20 minutes, and then come back again - don't have any idea why it would do that for both AC and fan !!
* very old fixtures in the bathroom - the faucet & shower head - felt like it was from the 19th century

Overall, despite the very friendly and helpful manager, the motel needs to improve a lot. It clearly proves that no amount of delightful customer service can fix the underlying bad service offering (motel) !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for the Nascar races. This was our 3rd time staying here. The rooms were nice and the rate was good. When we asked for extra pillows the brought them right to the room. We will be back next year in 2009. Chris and her staff were very helpful anyway they could be.

  • Liked — location was perfect, wonderful view of the lake
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

I must say i have been staying there for numerous years with my dogs and never had a problem until this year. We were hardly ever at the Motel except to sleep. It was a very different experience this year. The rates were reasonable but Maid service was sporatic, coffee was not available every morning, as suggested, and I sensed an air of hostility. We will definitely not be staying there ever again!!!!!!!.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris024, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2009
Unfortunately there are sometimes when a customer is not satisfied for one reason or another. We take pride in addressing any questions or concerns a customer might have and make sure we fix a problem right away. We want to make our customers feel like they are part of a family here at Country Lake Resort and customer satisfaction is our goal. In this particular case in September we had a couple with two dogs in one of our pet friendly efficiencies and the dogs unfortunately had several accidents on one of our runners and also on the base boards and wall in the hallway. We did provide coffee everyday as well as housekeeping. Our housekeeper checked everyday to see if they wanted a maid service and sometimes they did and other times they didn't. We kept half of their security deposit so we could replace runner and pay for deep cleaning of walls etc... They were not happy that they didn't receive their total deposit back hence the bad review they gave us. I'm not quite sure that they understood that we have the deposits in place for incidents just like this. I'm sorry we were not able to make them happy. Kris GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Extremely clean. Reasonably priced. Convenient location. Would highly recommend.

Donna

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We decided to take a spontaneous trip to Weirs Beach, NH one weekend in August. We had a great time, but did not anticipate having so much trouble finding a room at the last minute. After about an hour of driving around, it was getting dark and we were getting a bit desparate, we drove by the Country Lake and its VACANCY sign. When we walked into the office we were immediately greeted by a very friendly Kris, the manager. She had one room left, an efficiency with the two beds we needed. The room was the one that they often give to people with pets, so it was a bit run down in places. But it was CLEAN and the sheets were soft and clean. Kris went out of her way to get the extra sheets, pillows, and blankets we needed for the pullout sofa bed for the kids. She was apologetic because the blanket she gave us was a bit pilled, but it was clean and soft (and warm out of the dryer!). In the morning I got some breakfast stuff down the street at Shaws, and we made a nice quick breakfast of scrambled eggs and toast. Kris even got us a pot for boiling the leftover eggs.

All in all, it's a nice place. It was not fancy, but it was serviceable, clean, and welcoming. The view is great of Lake Winnisquam.

  • Liked — Friendly staff!
  • Disliked — Some parts of the room were worn.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 788 Laconia Road, Tilton, NH 03276 (Formerly Country Lake Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.