We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to be forced into a negative review-” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tilt'n Diner

Tilt'n Diner
Route 93, Tilton, Tilton, NH 03276
603-286-2204
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Tilton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
durham, nh
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sad to be forced into a negative review-”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've gone to the Tilt-N diner occasionally for a number of years. Always a fun atmosphere, decent food and competitive prices. Unfortunately, the past two times I've visited have been sadly lacking in the quality of the food. I ordered the special of the day for Monday - fried chicken - and it definitely had to have been cooked hours or even days earlier. Aside from the size (I didn't realize they slaughtered chickens that small!), the meat was terribly over-cooked, terribly dry & tough, the batter a thin tasteless mass on the outside. I should have sent it back, but was feeling rushed since I was running late. I do have to say the potatoes and squash were both good, but to ruin the title item for the special of the day is just wrong! I hope they don't continue to slide down in quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    84
    35
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We ate here on whim, it was near our hotel.....what a find. We all had the clam chowder which was a meal in itself! Fantastic! Staff was so nice and the atmosphere really cute. When we're in town we'll eat there again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

There are so many great things to choose from but some of our favorites include the Shepherd's Pie.....Meatloaf.....Reuben sandwich....and the classic macaroni and cheese. Pace yourself so that you can save room for dessert because if you think their meals are great then you wil LOVE their desserts. The grasshopper pie and toll house pie are always a hit. Enjoy! P.S. They now take credit cards!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Valentines day at the Tilt'n Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a great lunch !!! I got the Pastrami Ruben with sweet potato fries and my husband got the cheeseburger club with onion rings! We mix and match our lunches and were very impressed by both! The server was awesome and even presented me with a carnation and some Hershey kisses with the bill to celebrate the holiday! We had a great time, left very full, and satisfied.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampton, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tilt'n Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good choices on a large menu. Service is excellent with a pleasant wait staff. Located right off exit 20 of I-93. Cruise nights are offered during mid-week during the summer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tilt'n Diner also viewed

 

Been to Tilt'n Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilt'n Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.