We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very English” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Birchwood Inn and London Tavern

The Birchwood Inn and London Tavern
340 Route 45, Temple, NH
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Temple
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We happened on this place in a tiny town on our way to Peterborough NH. What a treat is was to have a great brunch with all English atmosphere. The owners are friendly and very English. My wife said the eggs benedict were among the best she has had and my French toast cooked in an English way were quite tasty. The pub looks promising but it was too early in the day for us to enjoy their beer. Make sure you check out the beautiful 1825 wall frescoes by Rufus Porter.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Unique ambiance, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here on a Saturday night. My husband had cottage pie and I had fish pie. Both were very good. Beer list was limited to UK drafts (no cask ale...) but plentiful. We had spotted dick for dessert which was ok but not as good as we had in London. Was a fun and warm and inviting place. We will be back and will bring guests. Great local spot.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Sad & disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited the Birchwood Inn in the past both prior to change of ownership and under current ownership. We will not return (given the apparent trend of decay).

It's a shame - as this once was on our "local top 10" list.

1. Yes - the location is classic New England, historic and charming - albeit out of the way for some (but not us).
2. Yes - the Inn is old and appealing for that reason.
3. Yes - the Server was polite and friendly.
4. Yes - the Owner was friendly and gracious.
5. And yes - if you are swayed by English accents - you will be pleased.

BUT, that is where the apparent positive attributes end.

1. The food was poorly prepared - dishes were overcooked (even burned on the edges / dried out), portions were small and the menu limited.
2. The furniture (tables, chairs, etc. on which we were served) was badly worn out and apparently unclean.
3. While the prices were not aberrant, they were ultimately, too high - for the quality we experienced.
4. It would appear as though the Owners simply do not have enough cash flow and reserves to put into the physical facility, a higher quality food prep staff, dinnerware, better food, etc.
5. This recent experience was unfortunately consistent with our last one as well. We wanted to give them another chance before writing them off, returned hoping for a change / improvement. But alas....

In a nutshell, we were embarrassed - as well as for the Owner.

We hope that our feedback will be taken in the manner delivered - detailed, objective and with the hope that it will be taken to heart after some objective self-evaluation - and changes made. This will, we also hope, result in growing the cash flow and profitability - permitting the variety of corrections we identified, among potentially others.

In the past we recommended The Birchwood Inn to many. We can no longer serve as a positive reference.

We welcome feedback - especially negative feedback - in our jobs as that helps make us better once we internalize and act on that feedback. We hope the Owners will do the same here.

This is just our opinion - no more valuable or correct than any other. We could be completely incorrect in our review and conclusions. Form your own.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best British Food in Southern New Hampshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Birchwood Inn is steeped in old New England history and is located in Temple at the top of the hill in the heart of the village. The brick style colonial is filled with good cheer as well as good food. One of the dining rooms has an original Rufus Porter wall painting which is the room we like the most. The tavern area is tended by one of the owners, Nick who's British wit makes drinks at the bar fun. In the kitchen is chef Andrew who has brought his culinary expertise from England right to the table. He has a true knack to satisfy any cravings from bangers and mash to speciality dishes of his own creation. When we have family and friends visit, we take them to the Birchwood Inn for dinner. Today we went for a late lunch/early dinner and as always, we were well fed, well taken care of, well satisfied, and everyone left full and happy. We recommend the bangers and mash, the steak and ale pie, the shepherd's pie and we especially like the spotted dick and Nan's puddings for afters. The Shandy is always a favourite drink, and the selection of beers (especially stouts) is outstanding. We wanted a casual, laid back atmosphere and the Birchwood Inn and London Tavern was the place to enjoy our friends, savour the wonderful food and lively chat. No matter the time of year we are guaranteed excellent food, excellent service, and a laugh or two, sometimes more. I highly recommend the London Tavern at the Birchwood Inn if you have a craving for British food at it's best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The English may have lost the War but they Won our Hearts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had a wonderful afternoon visit with the owners and a fantastic meal and drinks at the Birchwood Inn. One hears about he bland English fare. These folks do not have those recipes. The soups are hearty. Fresh gazpacho from their garden tomatoes! Pot pies tender and full of flavor. Their selection of Scottish ales causes one to change from being a lager and pilsner lover. Do ask for the history of the inn. The explanation is fascinating. The location is not in or near a large city but well worth the scenic drive from Nashua or Peterborough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Birchwood Inn and London Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Birchwood Inn and London Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.