We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chequers Villa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chequers Villa
Route 113, Tamworth, NH 03886
603-323-8686
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 14 Restaurants in Tamworth
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Won't go again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We must have had a new waitress. Drinks arrived after asking for them again after our salads. I love veal and ordered Veal Marsala. Since I make it also, I know it is to be pounded before cooking. Mine was at least 1/2 inch thick and tough. The flavor was good. The baked potato was steamed. Salad was fresh with good greens. My husbands antipasto was is an usual collection of food. It had artichokes, roasted red peppers, tomatoes, marinated mushrooms, cheese and ham rolls, and inferior house Italian dressing. It was adequate, but not a traditional antipasto. Our guests had Salmon Basilico. None of the 3 mentioned anything about their entrees.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osspiee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Have been a few times to Chequers and the food has been very inconsistent. Will most likely order again (for take out),,, but will not attend the pizza buffet night again.
Selection at buffet was poor and often no pizza available at all for several minutes at a time.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is one of our favorite restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We always get a delicious meal. I love that you get a salad with your entree. The salad with homemade dill dressing is delicious. I also love that you get a choice of a petit or full entree. We've had the haddock fillet, veal parmesan, soups and pastas and it was all great

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This restaurant was extremly disappointing. From the bad salad (how do you screw a salad up) to the bad wine everything about this restaurant left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chequers Villa also viewed

Tamworth, White Mountains
Tamworth, White Mountains
 

Been to Chequers Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chequers Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.