We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a chinese restaurant in a log cabin ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Songbird Chinese Restaurant

Songbird Chinese Restaurant
1761 White Mountain Hwy, Tamworth, NH 03886-4503
603-323-9322
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Tamworth
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's a chinese restaurant in a log cabin ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

To be honest, we first went here for the kitch-factor, it's a log cabin. We were delighted to find a bar and restaurant that were decent, and service that is fully attentive and friendly. The dishes are typical of Boston/New England Chinese, battered and fried, but also clean and not heavy tasting. Portions are generous but not ridiculous and the price is reasonable. A nice, often uncrowded find. It should not be dismissed as silly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Food is great and the service is good. Sometimes the cook can be a little so, but overall the food is tasty!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yes - I will return !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have a vacation home in northern New Hampshire and have been driving by this restaurant for almost two years. Finally two weeks ago I decided to stop in a give it a try. The reviews were mixed but I can say the lower reviews were from 2013 and earlier. The reviews in 2014 were better so I took a chance.

I was very please with the food and service. Today my wife and I stopped and again we were both very happy with the service and food, not to mention the prices were very fair!!

We had to wait a few extra minutes for our food but that told us it was being prepared fresh and not sitting in a warming table waiting to be served.

We will continue to stop on our way either to of from our vacation home !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Ossipee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow! Great service and Friendly Staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Having been here several times for both business and on my time, there is a reason that I keep coming back. Several reasons, in fact. The food is good, the drinks are great and the staff is always warm and friendly. Whether you come in for a meal or just to watch the game and have a drink... you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family owned great food service and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you want to know where the locals go, this is it. Su and Sam have built there business here in Tamworth. They have a good menu and great drinks. If you want to socialize and chat, this is the place to go. This couple has worked hard to build a successful business and deserve a lot of credit. Hope to see you there!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Songbird Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Tamworth, White Mountains
Tamworth, White Mountains
 
Tamworth, White Mountains
Tamworth, White Mountains
 

Been to Songbird Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Songbird Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.