We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Inn Keeper in NH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Tartan Fox

Inn of the Tartan Fox
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn of the Tartan Fox to your Saves list
Inn of the Tartan Fox
350 Old Homestead Highway, Swanzey, NH 03446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Swanzey B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nicest Inn Keeper in NH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife & I had the good fortuine to stay here one night. The room was very nice and the breakfast was outstanding!
The best was the Inn Keeper. He is the nicest we experienced in 8 years!
If you are going to Keene, NH then you have to stay here!

Room Tip: they are all nice as we saw them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for one night visiting a friend in Keene - very cute, only 4 miles from town. Sweet owners, beautiful grounds & the house was charming. We stayed on the first floor - lovely room, beautiful terrace overlooking the garden, and the bathroom was nice. Room was clean & we were so busy in town I wish we could have actually spent more time there than sleeping! I thought breakfast was a bit early 8-9 only - and I wanted to sleep in so I missed it. My only advice would be if you want to sleep in, request a room upstairs because you can hear the guests in the breakfast area as the first floor room is right there next to living room & dining room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper524, Owner at Inn of the Tartan Fox, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We have opened up our breakfast hours to accommodate our guests who wish to sleep in on the weekends, and will work with our guests so all who wish to enjoy our gourmet breakfasts can do so. We are under new management as of the end of Aug 2013, and look forward to your return visit so you can sleep in AND have breakfast! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the road
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We tried to get a room in a Keene hotel for our one-night stay in the area, but every hotel was booked. We found this inn while looking for a place to stay on AirBnb (www.airbnb.com) and chose it because it was the available space which promised air conditioning.

The house is huge. There's a garden in the front yard which could use a little work. (I'm a gardener, so I feel comfortable saying this.) We entered through the indicated door. The entryway reminded me of my grandfather's garage. There were stacks of chairs and old tables, lots of other items. From there we entered a small dining area. We knocked on the swinging door to the kitchen to let the innkeeper know we'd arrived.

The ceilings of the downstairs rooms are low. The dining room felt a bit cluttered with its antique furniture. Just beyond the dining room was a small room that seemed to serve as a gift shop-cum-chair caning center. There was a nice collection of jams and jellies, which appeared homemade, plus a collection of spices.

The first impression of the downstairs: between the low ceilings, so typical of an historic home, the gleaming wood floors, the collection of antique furniture, and the old paintings that lined the walls, the first floor seemed dim. There was a strong musty smell. It's only fair to say that the weather had been extremely humid and rainy prior to our arrival; we can't say whether the smell would be present at other times.

Our room was quite pleasant. It had a queen bed, a twin bed, a wood-backed love seat, a padded settee, an antique dresser, a cable TV, and a window air conditioning unit. Wireless access was readily given, but was spotty at best. The bathroom was large. As a massive heat wave was coming to an end at the time of our visit, we loved that there were so many windows and that all of them were open. What a delightful sleeping environment. The down side was the proximity to the road; we heard cars passing all night.

Despite the presence of about a dozen chickens in the backyard, we did not have the kinds of breakfast described in other reviews here. We were served a small & tasty Irish soda bread to share among the two of us and one other inn guest, juice, coffee, sliced fruit, and a slice of French Toast thick with a streusel topping, with real maple syrup if desired.

The Inn of the Tartan Fox is fine for an overnight stay. We would stay again if the need arose, but we would not make it a first-choice destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper524, Owner at Inn of the Tartan Fox, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Although we are under new management as of the end of August, the previous owner writes: We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Rain this year has made gardening very challenging. With only 2 tables in the dining room, we hoped it was not too unpleasant. During the hot summer months most guests appreciate the lower lighting. We try to vary the breakfast entrees alternating savory egg dishes with a sweet dish, but the French Toast was made with the fresh eggs from our chickens. We're so sorry about the internet, we have not had any complaints from other guests and nearly everyone uses it. We hope you had a safe drive home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed at several B & B's, and the Tartan Fox is an exceptional standout. The rooms are large, the Inn is warm and welcoming, and the breakfasts are absolutely scrumptious! It was by far the best breakfast we've ever had at an Inn, and we travel extensively. Only fresh ingredients and everything was made from scratch, with offerings that were original. It's NOT your typical breakfast! The large bathroom with plenty of counter space and heated marble floor was wonderful. We enjoyed chatting with the Innkeepers, who were great hosts. Be sure to ask how the Inn got it's name-it's a great story!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I went back to my hometown of Swanzey for the first time in over 30 years for my high school reunion. As I explored options of places to stay, I really did not want to stay at a big hotel in Keene. We decided upon the Tartan Fox as it would be convenient for my reunion. When we drove in, we were overwhelmed by how beautiful this old house is. despite a previous reviewer complaining about proximity to the airport, this airport is a noncommercial airport and I think I saw one small private plane land. There was absolutely no noise from the airport, and minimal noise from the road. the room we stayed in was extremely comfortable, and we found it very relaxing to stay there. the breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, delicious muffins, and a huge fluffy egg dish. For anybody looking to stay in the Monadnock region, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northshore,Ma.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

You are directly across from the Keene airport. Lots of traffic for a small airport; all night long. The entire front of the inn is covered by overgrown shrubs. Probably to cut down noise. Drive in the yard the house could pass as haunted. This could be absolutely gorgeous. Paneling,woodwork,floors and curtains ( dirty grey)need cleaning. Must admit the bath was clean;amenties are few. The house is certainly not white glove by any means. Breakfast was good. Overall landscaping needs a desparate uplift.

Room Tip: Sometimes photos do not help. I Iike rooms with alot of light. Also bedding that is light; so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper524, Owner at Inn of the Tartan Fox, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The airport you mention is a small one with no tower and the planes are mostly small private ones that do not fly at night. There are pine trees along the front of the property as there are in most of New Hampshire. The driveway and parking lot are lit by several spotlights so I'm not sure that would created a haunted atmosphere. The curtains in this guest room are a red tartan so again I'm not sure how they could be "grey".there are sage green custom mini-blinds on the windows as well. We personally do all the cleaning and the house is pretty much spotless. We are sorry you were disappointed with the landscaping; it is hard to have a gorgeous yard at the end of March. We would love to know what other amenities you would like to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Our room was huge: comfortable bed, love seat in front of gas log fireplace, heated floor tiles in bathroom. Best breakfasts ever in a B&B with baked pear, fluffy omelette, and homemade muffins and scones. Hosts were gracious. Proximity to Keene provided good dining experiences and was good location from which to take day trips in NH and Vermont.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Tartan Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Tartan Fox

Address: 350 Old Homestead Highway, Swanzey, NH 03446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Swanzey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swanzey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tartan Fox Inn is at The Meadmere Country Manor House located less than 10 minutes from Keene, giving you a rural setting while being close to shopping, restaurants, colleges, theater, hiking, bike trails. Four comfy rooms, each with a private bath, so you won't be sharing with other guests. They are decorated with Scottish Tartans, a different plaid for each room.This is the Monadnock Region of New Hampshire and is the perfect location for exploring surrounding towns and neighboring Vermont and Massachusetts.The inn has cable TV, wireless internet access for your computer and off street parking.With close ties to the local community, Mike has recently taken over the Inn. Local events, fun and frolicking in Keene is just min away!. Fresh eggs for your breakfast and homemade scones with jam are a separate food group! We can also accommodate special diets, such as gluten free with advance notice. Just let us know so your trip will be memorable, right down to the food.Our location gives you a nice country feel, yet you are only minutes to downtown Keene.We love gardening, but in our own way. You won't find rows of flowers lined up like soldiers, I take a more free hand approach. Volunteers grow where they pop up, weeds are pulled, and we try to have habitat that caters to our many species of song birds. The Meadmere Home is a gorgeous older structure that was built in 1832 and most recently housed the studio of Norma Stafford, an artistic icon to the Keene area. We enjoy keeping that tradition by maintaining a local artisan gift shoppe on the premises that showcases local Monadnock artistry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn of the Tartan Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Tartan Fox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.