We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre- Christmas family having fun.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Follansbee Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Follansbee Inn to your Saves list
Follansbee Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2 Keyser Street, PO Box 92, Sutton, NH 03260   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sutton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bow, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pre- Christmas family having fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

There is a charm of peacefulness as all the families setteled in at the Follansbee Inn. The children went to the play room of games, cards ,puzzles boards and were happy and content.
The sleeping quarters were outstanding and very comfortable.The morning breakfast was always a delight of different creations that were tasty.Our older children made a viedo:
http://www.magisto.com/album/video/ent-BQwCRQkfDnIHDQ?source=facebook
Hope this opens to see the smiles on all the faces.
We will be back. : )

Room Tip: ask for view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENIS S, Owner at Follansbee Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Your family was a delight and helped us to an early start of a great Christmas season. We are a great location for family gatherings with our many choices of rooms, including several with multiple beds, and with our great common rooms. And of course there are the many, many activities in and around the inn to entertain all family members. With New London so close families have many restaurants to choose from as well. So we hope you've established a family tradition of an early Christmas at Follansbee Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    12
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
29
61
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were altogether 3 families in our party who spent our new year's eve at Follansbee Inn. It was homy, cozy and warm feeling. Just like being at home. We've met the other guests and we chatted together with Dennis (the owner). Our kids indulged with chocolates that they offer at every nook of the house. The breakfast was fabulous gourmet. We found the two lounging rooms with fireplaces very comfortable and nicely decorated. There's the gaming room for quiet reading or board games, the entertaining room with bar and piano was perfect with playing or listening to music. They have selections of CDs or use your iphone. Cat and Denis were both fabulous hosts. Thank you for the great accommodation and the wonderful time we've spent at your inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENIS S, Owner at Follansbee Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank for choosing Follansbee Inn; visiting with your family helped us to usher in a fun New Year. We love family gatherings at Follansbee and have the perfect set up with both our rooms that offer multiple beds (king and twin, queen and 2 twins, queen and twin, queen and day bed, or two twin beds as well as rooms that connect to offer additional beds) and our common rooms where families can gather and visit. We are anxious for you to return for your next family gathering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We made a reservation through an on-line booking site to stay at Follansbee Inn for a ski overnight. Unfortunately, one of our kids got injured, and we called at 4 PM to cancel the reservation. The staff was gracious and did not charge us. We were grateful for the consideration.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENIS S, Owner at Follansbee Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hope the injury was not serious and that the patient has healed. Life happens and we always work with our guests. Hopefully you can reschedule; we'd love to have you at the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My friend and I wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of city living and celebrate my birthday out in a more rural place. From the moment we arrived Denis (the Inn Keeper) was very friendly and accommodating. Since we were the only ones to book for that particular night, he allowed us to upgrade and pick any room our heart's desired, for no additional charge. He took us on a tour of all the rooms and let us decide, once we decided he carried our bags up and allowed us to get settled. The house itself is very warm and cozy with an oven burning heater in the family room. The corner views of the bedrooms are lovely and there is a state park right across the street. If you like to drink, there is an open bar area and we were able to help ourselves to whatever we wanted (but we don't drink). The next morning, Denis made us a homemade made-from-scratch breakfast that consisted of roasted potatoes, omelets (with cheese and asparagus), mushroom sausage (we are vegetarian), cinnamon buns, fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice and unlimited coffee. The food was so flavorful and satisfying. Denis' dog, Angel, was just that...she was an Angel and such a nice added touch. My friend and I definitely plan on going back again in the Spring.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENIS S, Owner at Follansbee Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Having the just the two of you was fun. It's not often I get to show guests all of the rooms and allow them to choose their favorite. I suppose that's one of the advantages of staying at Follansbee in November. Each season has it's perks and if you come back in the Spring, you'll get to spend more time on the lake or hiking some of the fabulous trails in the area. So we hope to see you again once we start to warm up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Too many good things to remember - Gourmet breakfasts, lovely accomodations, very comfortable bed, delightful hosts, beautiful surroundings. The Inn is a place one would want to visit as often as the opportunity presented itself. You need not go anywhere else to have a wonderful time. We took 3 mile walks every morning around Lake Kezar, went canoeing to Blueberry Island and to the beaver dam, ate al fresco at the picnic table by the lake, relaxed and read on the hammock for two at lakes edge, ate burgers and an 8 scoop chocolate frappe at the diner/grocery store across the street and just plain enjoyed ourselves. The only things we didn't get to do were go kayaking and bike riding........so I guess we'll just have to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENIS S, Owner at Follansbee Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. We certainly hope you return soon. We think you hit the nail on the head; one can stay at Follansbee for a weekend, a week, or even longer and find so much to do right here. Whether swimming in Kezar or using one of our many boats to explore the lake, or making the inspiring walk around the lake, or using our many bicycles, or walking to Musterfield farm. . . . the list goes on and on. And in the winter snowshoe, snowmobile, or cross country ski on the lake and the trails throughout the area. So come back soon and enjoy more activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This B&B is in a great location, next to a lake, and a short drive to many places in the New England area!

The only thing that could have made our stay perfect would have been if we had gotten one of the rooms on the second floor that had wifi, a comfortable bed that was softer and had a down comforter that was warm, along with a view of the lake. Unfortunately our room didn't have all those amenities so I can't giving the raving reviews others are giving. Our bed was so hard that I had to sleep sitting up, our blankets consisted if two quilted coverlets that were stiff and not warm. Additionally the pillows were so hard I ended up sleeping on a rolled up tshirt. I was a little disappointed, as I wanted to be as excited about this place as everyone else but it didn't happen.

That being said, the food was as good as everyone else says it is! The stuffed French toast was my favorite.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENIS S, Owner at Follansbee Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your candid review, we are most pleased that you found our location and our breakfast to your liking. I have developed and tweaked the stuffed french toast recipe over the last 18 months and it has become very popular among our guests. As for those things not to your liking I will first address the easily remedied issues, and then will touch on those that present a more difficult problem.

Regarding your comfort, when a guest stays at Follansbee Inn for multiple nights we certainly hope and always expect that they will bring any problems they have to our attention. Had you made us aware of your concerns we absolutely would not have let your first night's issues extend through your second and third nights at the inn. When a guest informs us of a problem we are only to happy to help with the issues we can address, but alas, unless we are made aware of the problems we can do nothing to help. At the time of your stay we were (and in fact still are) experiencing a spectacularly mild and beautiful Fall. We accordingly had not yet put out the Winter down comforters. But for any guests requesting additional blankets they are readily available. Moreover, every guest room in Follansbee Inn has its own baseboard heaters that are individually controlled. We have found that many guests like to crank the heat up while others keep their rooms quite chilly. The beauty of the individually controlled heaters is that you, like any other guest, could have made your room as warm as you desired. As for pillows, we place four on every queen bed in Follansbee; two are hypoallergenic down filled and two are foam filled. The foam pillows are firm, the down pillows are much less so. Be that as it may, if that choice of pillows still leaves a guest wanting we will try to find something better than a "rolled up T shirt" for a substitute. The WiFi issue I have addressed at length in the prior comment. Suffice it to say I have new found admiration for IT departments as we have worked hard to improve the WiFi service at Follansbee. We are now adding an additional signal booster that should alleviate the remaining dead zones.

The problems I cannot easily address are your complaints about the firm mattress and your lack of a lake view. It's a simple matter of physics that not all sides of the Follansbee Inn can face Kezar Lake, and on the weekend of your visit every room was occupied. Perhaps for your next stay you can reserve a lakeside room. Our mattresses do tend towards the firm end of the spectrum and many, many guests tell us they sleep better here than anywhere else. Some do not want to get out of bed in the morning because they are so comfortable and it is so peaceful here in the country. So as inn keepers we are faced with a difficult task when we get the occasional guest who would prefer a softer mattress. We have added mattress toppers to certain beds as a compromise, and if well received, we will continue to add the toppers.

Our goal is to make everyone as excited about this place as we are. We constantly strive to make Follansbee Inn better, and we realize that there will always be more that we can do to make it so. That's why we hope that anyone who has reason to be less than excited will come to us with those reasons and at least give us the opportunity to make their stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the inn. It's location on Kezar Lake, the welcoming and cordial hosts, the delicious breakfasts, and the inviting rooms make this a keeper. Whether in the dining, living or game rooms or the individual rooms, the spaces are furnished nicely and well maintained. The inn has bikes, canoes, a sailboat and kayaks available for use, which is a great plus. The three mile walk around the lake is a pleasure. In addition, there is a wide variety of candy and chocolates available in almost every space, making this inn a diabetics nightmare. Minor complaints: the wifi did not work in the room, only in the downstairs areas and while it is really convenient for the inn to have a book with local menus, some of them are pretty outdated and should be replaced. Having stayed at other inns both in New England and other locations in the US, this inn rates among the best, in our experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENIS S, Owner at Follansbee Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We have worked very hard and will continue to strive to make our rooms inviting, and we will continue to put much effort into our morning meals. While we cannot claim responsibility for the spectacular setting we certainly take every opportunity to enjoy it. Much of the charm of Follansbee is due to its age (dating back to 1840) and its location (a country setting). While both the age and setting are special both tend to make some normally easy conveniences a bit more difficult, one of those being WiFi. We have worked to extend WiFi throughout the inn, nevertheless certain rooms obstinately remain dead zones. We have upgraded the system with a more powerful router to make it reliable (the country setting made for intermittent reception when we first arrived). With that issue resolved we are now turning to bringing service to the dead zones. We have installed one signal booster on the first floor; nevertheless, dead zones remain on the upper floors. We are now in the process of adding a second booster to the third floor (it's on order). We hope and believe that this additional signal booster will alleviate the dead zone problem.

As for our book of restaurant summaries I must humbly apologize, it is in fact in need of updating. I have pegged updating that book as a primary project for the off season. So I guess we'll just have to visit all of those restaurants and check out the local fare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Follansbee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Follansbee Inn

Address: 2 Keyser Street, PO Box 92, Sutton, NH 03260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Sutton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Follansbee Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, family-friendly, sublime, Follansbee Inn is located on beautiful Kezar Lake. Follansbee offers 17 individually decorated guest rooms, each with an en suite bathroom. As our guest you'll enjoy complimentary use of our kayaks, canoes, rowboat, sailboat, and bicycles. Enjoy your stay while connecting with yourself, with family, with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Groupon, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Follansbee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Follansbee Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.