We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dexter's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dexter's Inn to your Saves list
Dexter's Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   258 Stagecoach Road, PO Box 703, Sunapee, NH 03782   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Sunapee B&B and Inns
Brockton, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

"John,
A quick note to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at the Dexter Inn on the weekend of October 22nd,and 23rd.
The two bedroom suite was ideal for our situation and most importantly your willingness to accomodate the "canine" member of the family. "Cuma" especially enjoyed her stay with us, enjoying the clean mountain air and romp in the woods.
We enjoyed the morning breakfasts and have told many friends about our wonderful stay at the Dexter Inn in New Hampshire.
Wishing you all a wonderful winter season."
This Bed and Breakfast is ideally located near Mt. Sunapee in New Hampshire and provided magnificent views. Clean rooms and accomodations for larger family groups. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with our adult children and even the canine member of the family. Many walking trails right out the front and back door.
Morning breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We loved this cozy inn with great food last weekend. We attended a function, stayed over, and dined there and were treated wonderfully. Clean rooms, good service, and cozy areas to read, watch tv, and sit by the fire. The grounds were very well cared for as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

First off I would like to mention one thing if you are visiting Sunapee, NH. Please bring bug spray.
Dexter's Inn is from 1804 and you can definitely tell. It is a great place to stay if you need a weekend get-away in the summer or even in the winter.
During my stay my friend and I wondered the grounds and they are BEAUTIFUL. There is a pool, tennis courts, basketball courts, and you are not that far from Sunapee Lake and the ski mountain. Also they have a great game room that used to be an old barn. It has darts, ping pong, fooseball, air hoocket, pool and a poker table.
The room I was in had two twin beds which were fine. Our bathroom had a lot of room. If I had to say one bad thing about this place would be trying to open the room doors. They were kind of difficult but not that big of a deal. Also if alot of people are staying there you can hear every noise if you are sleeping, but it did not bother me too much.
Dexter's Inn was a cute place to stay and I would go back again. This is also a great place for a reunion, business gathering, or even a wedding. The landscaping is so nice. I would like to check it out in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

stayed here only night... loved the accessibility to the vast network of trails for cross country and snow shoe. Delicious hot breakfast.. friendly helpful staff... simple but clean rooms, no frills, but you don't need them.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed on night and had a great, warm room and access to a three sitting areas with fireplaces. We did XCountry and snowshoeing right on the grounds with great equipment and cheap rentals. The breakfast was hearty, hot and delicious. This inn had great service and was an awesome value for peak ski season.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

I recently stayed at Dexter's Inn to attend an intimate wedding, where I also acted as wedding coordinator as I had helped the bride and groom with the planning throughout their engagement. When I first arrived, I was overwhelmed with the beautiful property, grounds and scenic views surrounding the Inn which in itself was charming and quaint. The staff was extremely welcoming, helping to bring my luggage in and even placing it in my room while I attended to rehearsal duties. My room, as well as the bride and groom's room (and the lovely cottage which the mother-of-the-groom rented) were very comfortable with a true New England flair -- and they held all of the necessary amenities. They even had trash pails set aside for recyclables - a refreshing touch. Throughout the weekend, the staff was ever so helpful, both with the wedding details and with making certain guests were well taken care of in general. Overall, a very pleasurable experience. Many thanks to the Innkeeper and to his staff, and to the bride and groom for their excellent choice of venue!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

where to begin? the heat only worked intermittently, on three days with temps in the low 40s, when it works the rooms boil but windows cannot be opened since they are either painted or nailed shut; plumbing in two rooms was essentially non-functional: sinks did not drain, tubs did not drain, and toilets were leaking throughout the night regardless of jiggling.

breakfast poor, no choices, very basic, and prepared without any care or pride; in fact, on two occasions, we felt being pushed out by staff who urgently, it seemed, needed to clear the food away.

overall, not the experience one expects from a rural inn charging $150.00 per night in the middle of nowhere in off-season.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dexter's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dexter's Inn

Address: 258 Stagecoach Road, PO Box 703, Sunapee, NH 03782
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Sunapee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sunapee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dexter's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dexter's Inn is an affordable family-friendly country resort-inn with an award-winning location near Lake Sunapee and Mount Sunapee that combines the charm and hospitality of a bed & breakfast with the services and on-site activities of a small resort. Restaurant, weddings, reunions, meetings, retreats, vacation getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Dexter's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dexter`s Hotel Sunapee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dexter's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.