We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe Andre - A Little Local Secret !!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Andre - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Andre
699 Route 103, Sunapee, NH 03782-3715
603-863-1842
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brooksville, FL
1 review
“Cafe Andre - A Little Local Secret !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have to share with you all, a Little Local secret called Cafe Andre. This rustic little Cafe has the Best Food, Custom Made to Order by Chef Andre. Everything is made Fresh !
Andre whipped me up a Fettecini Alfredo Laced with a Tomatoe Sauce that was So Delicious, along with a Garden Salad of Fresh Veggies and a Razz-Berry Vinegret. Topped off with Andre's Own Oven Baked French Bread. If you call ahead (approx. 1 hr.) to let them know that you are coming , Andre will have his Homemade French Bread Baked and Ready for You When You Arrive!
My meal was So Good, I brought my Doggie Bag home and finished it all before I went to bed !
Please Don't miss out on Mary's Deserts ! Her recipes have been handed down from Generations of Desert Bakers. Please try Mary's CheeseCake with Fresh Strawberries. It's Absolutely Scrumptuous !!!! Any Local in the Cafe will tell you that Mary's CheeseCake Is The Best !
On Wed. Nights, Cafe Andre has Live Entertainment / Music. So I suggest that you Stop In and Unwind, Enjoy a Great Meal, Great Deserts, Play a game of PooL, Enjoy the Live Music, and have some Laughs with The Locals !!!!
This Rustic Little Cafe is only a 2 person operation So, Remember to Call Ahead to give Mary and Chef Andre time to prepare a Delicious Custom Made Dinner and to get the French Bread Baking, Just For You !!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunapee, NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the bathroom floor fool you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

In response to the following post after this one, yes the building is in bad shape but the bread tasted good because it is good. I'm sorry you had a bad experience with the food but I've never had a bad meal there and I've had, literally, over 100 meals there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“When the floor of the ladies toilet is squishy, rotten, you know it's bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My title says it all. In addition to the rotten floor, with the toilet angled at a 37% angle, the chef was hammered. The bread took forever to arrive and I suspect tasted good because I was so hungry. When the main course finally arrived, it was so unappealing looking... cafetaria style ice cream scoop of mashed potatoes!!!!!!, plus all the vegtables covered in some sauce. I will never go there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My sister and I stopped in last month to eat, and had not made reservations, but were seated nonetheless. No one else was there but for us - I thought it was because it was so early. I was wrong. We could hear the chef yelling in the kitchen about how we didn't have reservations and shouldn't have been seated in the first place. Yelling! I went to the ladies room after we ordered and it must have been 40 degress in there - and it was filthy. The food was not as great as everyone raves about on this page. The sauce was very heavy and old fashioned, the meat was not cooked to our request, and the vegetables were cold. Dessert tasted like a Betty Crocker mix. We won't be back, nor will we ever recommend the place. Unless you don't mind bad food, a freezing toilet seat and a screaming chef...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Chef in the Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Andre will delight you with his creations. Venue could stand some tuning up but the food is great. He gets his food fresh and can offer the clients one of the best creations in the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Andre also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Andre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.