We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian on Sunset Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sugar Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Victorian on Sunset Hill
122 Sunset Hill Road, Sugar Hill, NH 03586   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Sugar Hill B&B and Inns
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

If you are looking for a one-sentence reason why you should stay at The Victorian on Sunset Hill, this was the nicest B&B we have stayed at -- ever. The B&B is right on the road where "scenic view" is marked on the tourist map (truly, it is). And while the view out front is indeed incredible, looking out the big back yard is almost as good! The home itself is a renovated mid-1800's building, though you would never know it. The owners - John and Nancy - have both been in the construction business for many years, and they personally supervised a 2-year project to totally rebuild the home. It is a small B&B with only 5 rooms, and the attention to detail is amazing. They have been in business for several years, but the rooms look brand new. We occupied the king suite on the third floor where the view from the luxurious bed looks out past a private deck and straight to the White Mountains and Franconia Notch State Park. We have been to many nice places, but this room had the best view from the bed that I have ever seen. I woke up early one morning to a sunrise so pretty I HAD to get out of bed and get my camera! Breakfasts are also outstanding with specialities like Grand Marnier french toast, lemon-blueberry pancakes, and huge made-to-order omelets. Tell John to go easy on the bacon or he will pile up about a half pound on your plate. They serve a large selection of cut fruit each morning as well as an excellent yogurt parfait to go with the main entree. If the weather is moderate you can eat on a beautiful patio overlooking the mountains.

John and Nancy are great hosts who welcome conversation but also respect your privacy. John kept saying we were "too easy", but we couldn't think of anything to ask for that he hadn't already provided! The B&B is in the (very) small community of Sugar Hill, but was only a few minutes and a very easy drive from the bigger-town conveniences of Littleton as well as the wonderful natural attractions of the state park. If you are planning a trip to the Franconia Notch area, DO NOT miss this place! Don't let the small number of reviews concern you. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms looked great, but the 3rd floor king suite was outstanding. Grab it if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coronado, california
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The loveliest inn in Sugar Hill by far. We have been visiting this area for 30 years. What a find! Nancy and John graced us with warm hospitality from the moment of our arrival. Breakfasts are awesome - you won't need lunch. The inn itself is stunning and immaculate.
AND THE VIEWS are without parallel. Your hosts are well versed in the area - just a lovely
Retreat, you will love it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

My husband and I needed a last minute place to stay on our way up north and we could not have found a better location! John and Nancy are the more amazing hosts...from the moment we arrived with the offer to carry my bag up three flights of stairs, to the wine and cheese on the porch, to the beautiful third floor king suite with the breathtaking view, to the incredible gourmet breakfast that could have satisfied us all day...we truly could not have asked for more. Their home is spectacular yet very comfortable and the setting is unbeatable.

We've stayed at many bed and breakfasts and this is the best we've ever stayed at by far. Do not hestitate to stay here...you will most definately not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I have stayed at the Victorian several times and have never been disappointed with the accommodations and the breakfast. Wonderful host and hostess, very accommodating at all times. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

" The Victorian on Sunset Hill" is absolutely beautiful and in a stunning location with glorious views and we could not have chosen a lovelier place to stay before our
Wedding and kick start what we considered our Honeymoon.

Nancy and John are born hosts and so friendly we actually felt we were almost staying with family. There is an atmosphere of Country-House Party about the place and nothing seemed too much trouble for this wonderful , friendly and sweet couple.

John's breakfasts are simply gorgeous and the man is a true artist in the kitchen, his concoctions as delicious as they are copious. Nancy's yoghurt invention is delightful and will now feature on our own table as she gracefully gave up her secrets. Breakfast at "The Victorian " was one of the highlights of our Honeymoon , served in grand surroundings, with the lovely garden as a back-drop .

Stylish and full of character "The Victorian on Sunset Hill" is a little Gem which we certainly intend to revisit next time we are in the White Mountains as nowhere else will quite do from now on....

Service is exceptional, friendliness and helpfulness the order of the day . The house is also spotless.

You feel cossetted and wrapped up in a warm embrace of kindness and hospitality and John and Nancy have managed to find the difficult and rare balance between somewhere elegant and gracious and a homely, relaxed and laid back home from home.

Perfect place for a Romantic Stay and once again a big thank you to John and Nancy for making us feel so Welcome and sending us on our way to our Wedding and Honeymoon in such Grand Style. You two are rare and percious hosts and we wish you both all the very best in your future .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Victorian on Sunset Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian on Sunset Hill

Address: 122 Sunset Hill Road, Sugar Hill, NH 03586
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Sugar Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sugar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victorian on Sunset Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Victorian on Sunset Hill to your Saves list