We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girl's Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sugar Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop Inn
Save
You added Hilltop Inn to your Saves list
9 Norton Lane, Sugar Hill, NH 03586   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Sugar Hill B&B and Inns
Cape Cod
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Girl's Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

By far, the best getaway for you and your friends any time of year! I recently stayed there with my 2 sister-in-laws and we had a blast. The x-country skiing was fabulous, and right out in the fields behind the Inn. Plenty of hiking and snowshoeing trails and minutes from the best downhill skiing around.
The rooms are cozy, very comfortable beds,well appointed and very private for some get-a-way time.
Of course, the friendly owners are always there with helpful tips for restaurants and shopping.
Relaxing in front of the wood stove every morning and watching the birds on the deck with morning coffee topped off each day!
Thanks for a fun time!!

Room Tip: The suites are fun and roomy but my favorite is room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Warm, comfortable and laid back, Mike and Meri's place is the perfect spot to enjoy the White Mountains. Close to trails (some great ones right out the back door), views, skiing, picture-perfect small New England towns, and excellent dining -- and Meri can point you in the right direction no matter what your interests. You'll never feel that uptight, not-sure-what-I-can-touch-or-say feeling you get at some B&Bs. It's not a museum, it's a home. Very relaxing, great hospitality (these folks like to laugh), great food, and your dog will love it even more than you do.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have stayed at the Hilltop Inn in Sugar Hill NH on a few occasions; Mike and Meri Hern are wonderful hosts and the Inn is a delight! You can't beat the beauty of Sugar Hill either; with the mountain views, Polly's Pancake Parlor up the road. The rooms are quaint and the hospitality is great! Totally recommend; also they are pet friendly if you have a dog.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at the Inn have at least a queen bed, nicely decorated. The beds were very comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Over Thanksgiving, my extended family was looking for a place in Northern NH where we could all stay together. We discovered the Hilltop Inn and the Innkeepers graciously rented the Inn to us! The Inn is dog and kid friendly, the rooms cozy, the beds comfortable and piled high with quilts, the water hot and plentiful in the bath! The Innkeepers are wonderful and friendly and put up with a big family for three days with much grace and patience! The Hilltop is in centrally located to all the attractions. We will definitely go back next year and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Mike and Meri Hern run a warm, inviting, dog friendly B and B with spectacular breakfasts and everything you could want in the wonderfully decorated rooms. Their Inn is truly a get-a-way but you can still bring your laptop and take advantage of the Wi-Fi if you feel the need!
Every detail puts this Inn at the top of the list for our family. We've been coming here every summer for many years. Don't miss out!

Room Tip: Every one is unique and different. All good choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I keep returning to the Hilltop Inn for summer getaways, and it's a delight. The Hilltop is dog-friendly, meaning not merely that it allows dogs but that the owners LOVE dogs. When I leave for the evening, my dog spends a few hours with Meri in the inn and in the enclosed back yard, returning to his room only when Meri retires for the night.

The breakfasts are spectacular, and Meri will make whatever you like.

The inn itself is lovely, and the rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. Sugar Hill is minutes away from trails, lakes, the performing home of the North Country Chamber Players, and a surprising amount of night life in the nearby towns of Littleton, Bethlehem, and Whitefield.

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and 6 are larger than the other four and recommended if you're traveling with more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife, my yellow lab, and I stayed for one very enjoyable night. Lovely to find a place that really means it when they say they welcome dogs. Had a charming, homey room and delicious breakfast, too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Address: 9 Norton Lane, Sugar Hill, NH 03586
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Sugar Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sugar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop is a lovely very welcoming B&B that has been owned and operated for 28 years by Meri and Mike Hern.We welcome you to share our magical home with us when you are in the Franconia Notch area.Our 6 guest rooms are all unique.They feature full private baths; antiques; lots of fluffy towels and crisp comfortable linens on our newly upgraded beds. This spring we have added new hotel mattress toppers which make every bed incredibly comfortable.Sleep well and awake to a large country breakfast and the many wonderful nearby adventures.We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.