We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timberland Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timberland Campground
Save
You added Timberland Campground to your Saves list
809 State Route 2, Shelburne, NH 03581   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The cabins were very clean and well kept. The owners made us feel welcome and took care of anything we needed. There is a lot to do in the area. A wonderful get away. We enjoyed hiking and kayaking. The campground had an evening wagon or firetruck ride and a community campfire to share stories and make new friends.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Parrish, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We are seasonal campers and if you love the mountains , this is the place to stay. You are surrounded by mountains and a river .The owners are always there if you need help or just want to ask a question .Their camp store is well stocked with what you might need. We have been here for 3 years and hope to be here many more.The only draw back is the railroad tracks but after awhile you barely even notice. The amenities more than make up for any drawback ,and the surroundings are breathtaking. There are many attractions in the area including Mt Washington. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The campground looked nice online, and when we pulled in to register. That's when we were told that a freight train runs behind the campground. As in, about 15 feet from our camp site. From site 100 where we stayed, the tracks were in plain sight.
To be fair, the tracks are shown on the campground map on their website, but they aren't labeled, so they're easily mistaken for a walking path or something. The train came by twice during the night and wasn't as loud as I expected, but still, it wasn't ideal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our tent site was described ahead of time as being "quiet". Ironic because it was sandwiched between railroad tracks and a major highway. Only two trains came through during the night but semi's and other traffic were constantly roaring down the highway. Between the headlights, the vibrating ground and the noise it was impossible to sleep. We left early the next morning to start a three day trek through the white mountains exhausted.

I think it could be a great place to stay if you had an RV or were planning to stay awake all night anyway. Also, Laurie and Dave were friendly and genuinely interested in our travels which gave it a homey feel. I think all the amenities would have been nice, it was apparent that the grounds were well maintained and cleaned.

We just needed a place to sleep for the night and were incredibly disappointed in our "quiet" site. It didn't appear that any of the other sites would have been better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberland_NH, Owner at Timberland Campground, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for trying us out and posting your review; you are right the road noise is a problem; however we do have sites that are further away from the road which are usually booked ahead of time. This is our 4th year of ownership and we are looking forward to developing another piece of our property that will be more secluded for our guests; in the meantime we have added some cabin rentals for our guests and people are really enjoying them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently stayed there for a week in their Pine Lodge and it was wonderful! Such a home away from home, when making meals and sleeping arrangements for 5 people it was a blessing. Has a full size fridge, stove, toaster, pots and pans, plates, coffeemaker, etc. Bed in master bedroom was brand new and sooo comfortable. Second bedroom had 2 twin size cots, and there was a futon in living room. Also another couch in beautiful porch. Very nice private setting from other sites, clearly must have been previous owners living quarters.
Other tent and rv sites looked clean and flat, although very close to your neighbor. Very clean campground, public showers and bathrooms were very clean. Laundry room clean and machines worked great. Has a pool table and a few arcade games. Adult rec area with TV, books and plenty of pamphlets for local attractions. This building is only place you can get WiFi. Pool was nice and clean. Campground overall was very quiet all week (with 3 kids is a blessing at night), seems like a campground people stop for the night as they're traveling on. There is a train that goes by at around 1:00am on week nights and you can hear trucks going down rte 2 but they can't stop that.
Owners were very nice, asking how everything was going. Dave gives "hayless" rides or fire truck rides every night around campground at 6:30. Fire truck was the hit, I know they just got it but a step ladder to get up to the top would have been helpful and some sort of safety bar at the back so kids don't slip off would have been nice. As I said though they just got it so they may have that in the works. Kids did candy bar bingo and had a blast! Very close to Mt Washington and other attractions.
Overall a great relaxing place to go. Would go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stumbled upon TImberland mostly by fluke. We were travelling from New Brunswick back to Ottawa, and had decided to find a place about half way there. The first campground we passed in New Hampshire was Timberland, and my first impression was one of reservation. I had spent the last eight nights camping in Provincial Parks, and generally avoid private campsites in Ontario. But within minutes, my reservation had changed to surprise. The park seems to be mostly comprised of folks spending longer period of times in their RV. The general populace is friendly and helpful. Smiles and waves were all we ever experienced from the residents at the park.The hosts (Dave and Laurie) are likely the friendliest folks you'll come across in the north-east. Dave just recently purchased a firetruck, and at 6:30 everynight, he offers tours around the park. Additionally, they offer a $35 kayak ride down the river that encompasses the north part of the park. I'd hesitate to call it a "lazy river", as the current does pick up at times, but being able to sit back in a kayak and take in the scenery with minimal effort was absolutely enjoyable, and I'd recommend it to anybody. There is also a walking trail close to the river. It's fairly short (maybe a 15 minute walk), but the view is delectable. There are also a couple of adirondack chairs provided to take in the view during sunset, with the mountainous region off in the distance. The showers were clean and well maintained. I would offer that the water pressure was a little low, but all in all, they were better than most I've come across. The Adult Rec Room is full of board games, and a flat screen TV, and is where you will find WiFi. The pool in the front is a good size, and seemed generally unused. There is also an arcade sporting a half a dozen games (albeit fairly dated). The sites differ in terms of size and privacy. We stayed at site 61, which provided more than enough privacy from other sites, but I did notice that some of the sites would be better suited for a larger group occupying consecutive sites together. We ended up there on a whim, but enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay a second night. A big thanks to Dave and Laurie.

Room Tip: Find a nice and secluded site. You'll have an excellent time. Quiet time is 10:00 PM, so as long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The best time I ever had camping. The owners Dave and Laurie make yo feel at home, like family. There is allot to do around the area during the day, at night they have a community campfire, where anyone can come up to sit around and enjoy other campers. Met some amazing people from far away places, like Canada, Wisconsin to name a few. The grounds are kept clean and tidy, the bathrooms are clean as well as the showers. This definitely an awesome place to camp, the atmosphere and area is just so tranquil. They also have theme weekends, one is coming up on Columbus day weekend, it is a Halloween/costume bash. Sounds like fun, We are gonna come back up then for sure to join in on the fun.
I have also read some of the other reviews, I'm not sure where they can have negative thoughts about Timberland Campground, the place is so peaceful, clean and relaxing. It just goes to show you can't please everyone. Keep up the great job Dave and Laurie.

Room Tip: The cabins are wonderful to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberland_NH, Owner at Timberland Campground, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Timberland! We work hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable time; hope we see you again Columbus Day Weekend; we have fun at the Halloween Bash!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timberland Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberland Campground

Address: 809 State Route 2, Shelburne, NH 03581
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 100 sites for tenters and RVs. Now offer cabins and rental trailers. Our hay wagon ride is a hit. Everyone loves it! Enjoy activities, crafts as well as our popular playground and heated pool. Close to MT Washington, hiking trails. River walks will give you beautiful views without leaving the campground. Offering Kayak Rentals with Tubing soon to follow! Ask us for more details. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timberland Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.