We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend! Romantic and amazing in every way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn to your Saves list
The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn
100 Lower Bay Rd, Sanbornton, NH 03269 (Formerly Ferry Point House Bed and Breakfast)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Sanbornton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Highly recommend! Romantic and amazing in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent the weekend here and we cannot rave enough about this B&B. Cindy and John were beyond helpful and attentive from the moment we set foot to the moment we left. They offer great suggestions on where to go varying on what you're looking to do and even make reservations for you! We stayed in the Lake Winnisquam room and had the most amazing view of the lake, which was covered in ice/snow. The room doesn't share walls with any other room which gives it a much more intimate/private feel. The house overall is beautiful - a huge granite fireplace and large windows overlooking the lake. There is plenty to do if you like the outdoors, plenty of wineries to visit, Tanger Outlet Mall if you like to shop, and amazing restaurants like The Local Eatery if you're a foodie. We look forward to going back in the summer and enjoying the beautiful lake. We strongly recommend this place for a romantic weekend getaway.
My boyfriend proposed to me while watching the sunrise from our room (yes, the view is that great!) and this B&B will forever represent a magic and beautiful moment.

Room Tip: The only TV in the house is in the living room. At first, you feel like you won't be able to mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Rosemary, Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you and getting to know you and Randal. You mentioned that your room (Lake Winnisquam) doesn't share walls with any other room. Since we have completed our renovation of the Webster Lake room, NONE of our rooms share walls with any other bedroom. Kind of a neat feature for a 200 year old house! We look forward to seeing the two of you again before to long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
91
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent a wonderful week end here at the end of October for a last minute, romantic get-a-way. The Inn is very clean and the location perfect. The big front porch or the dock, hammock or lawn chairs right on the lake offer great options for a quiet conversation, a glass of wine together or a place to simply relax and contemplate. The beds are really comfortable and the sheets are very soft. (we actually bought a set of the sheets and had them shipped home - John ordered them for us). The Innkeepers, John and Cindy, were delightful and offered great suggestions about where to eat. We had targeted a few restaurants and they helped us narrow down the choice. If you are a breakfast fan, John cooks an amazing breakfast.This would be a great place to escape with the girls for a week end, or have a small, intimate wedding. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you, and look forward to your return. I am glad you found the bed comfortable, and hope that you are enjoying your sheets. We really try to focus on the two things that make a B&B special. Our Beds, and our Breakfasts. It is good to hear that we hit the mark for you. Thanks again, and we will see you soon, we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The house is absolutely idealistic in every way for a fall and winter getaway. It is very cozy with a classic New England feel to the decor. The highlight is definitely the beautiful fireplace with granite and quartz accents. The owners are very friendly and personable and will do whatever they can to make you comfortable. My boyfriend and I stayed in the suite which gets quite cold at night (most New England homes do) so dress warm! The thermostat was acting up and wouldn't go above 55 at night which is why I didn't give them 5 stars. However, the downstairs of the suite is great for privacy if you don't want to watch television with other guests. There's unlimited coffee, apple cider, and tea. The breakfast the first day was blueberry swirl crumb cake, fresh berries, and five cheese frittata (which I personally didn't care for) and the second day was apple cinnamon muffins, cantaloupe and berries, and peach melba toast. The second day was fantastic for the breakfast and totally redeemed the day before. Overall, the family is great, home is perfect, and we plan on coming back this summer or fall.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Samantha, Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you and David as guests at the Lake House. We are glad that you had a great time while you were here, and we want to apologize for the temperature issues that you experienced on your visit. You will be happy to know that we are having the whole Inn insulated, as I write this. The Lake House at Ferry Point is over 200 years old, and until now, did not have any insulation in the walls or attic. That has been remedied now, and the Inn is warm and cozy, even on the coldest nights! We look forward to seeing you both again before to long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a very relaxing weekend here in mid-November to
Celebrate our 38th. Wedding anniversary. The innkeepers, Cindy and John were very friendly and had great suggestions about where to eat for dinner and things to do in the area. The breakfasts served were delicious. The Winnisquam Room we stayed in was very comfortable and had a beautiful view of the lake. We would like to return in the warmer weather to enjoy the lake and maybe bring our kayaks to explore the lake area. We met two other couples during our stay and had some great conversations with them. We had dinner with one of the couples and enjoyed talking with them, since the husband was originally from our home state and grew up near us. Hope to see Cindy and John next summer!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Irene, Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We would love to have you back in the warmer weather. You are welcome to bring your kayaks, or we do have several that our guests are welcome to use while staying at the Inn. We also have a peddleboat that you may want to try. It was nice meeting you and getting to know you a little. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My daughter and her husband to be decided on the Lake HoUse venue for their wedding. We were treated to an excellent, well appointed home to enjoy the festivities. There was room for everyone. The rooms were perfect, the food was perfect and our hosts were quite amiable and helpful. I would recommend this spot for a getaway or a full happening such as the wedding. If I had not liked it,,, the whole thing would have been moved elsewhere...as it was it was the dream come true for the couple and since all of the guests were treated to the weekend, how could anyone who attended have a complaint. When you get your room and meals gratis, you should probably not express anything other than gratitude and high praise....(P> just a little suggestion when attending someone elses happening. THe MOM. feel free to browse the weekend pics at Mary Roueche Hill page on facebook.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent, if you have physical issues ask for one downstairs or with one flight of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We were honored to be the site for your daughter's wedding, and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The wedding went off beautifully, and it seemed that everyone had a wonderful time. We know it was a long trip for you to come from California, and we are glad that you and your brother were able to spend some additional time here at the Lake House. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I hosted our wedding at the Lake House this past November and had an unforgettable time. We rented all nine rooms (including the adjoining suite) and could not have felt more at home. Each bedroom was immaculate and individually charming, the owners were inviting and hospitable, and the breakfast each morning was to die for. We wanted a cozy and comfortable scene for our intimate 16 person ceremony and got exactly that.
Thank you again John and Cindy!

Room Tip: The downstairs room has a tub that will change your life :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Joe, Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to welcome you, Kelin, and your guests for your wedding celebration. Even though it was a little cold outside, the day was beautiful. We wish you both every success and happiness as you journey through life together. We look forward to seeing you again before to long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The breakfast was excellent. The rest was average, with very little hospitality. The rooms are nice and the house is very clean. I over stated the amount of hospitality, there was actually none. There is a place in town called the local, eat there. It was soooo good. I tried a few different items off the menu and each on was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntrepidTraveler64, Owner at The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Jason, Thank you for your review. We really value feedback from our guests, and use it to improve the way we do things. We were, quite frankly, confused by your opinion that there was "very little" or [no] hospitality during your stay. You were here as a guest at a wedding, and raised no concerns with us, the Bride, or the Groom about needs, or expectations of "hospitality" that you had that went unfulfilled. The Bride and her family booked the entire Inn, and carefully planned the ceremony, the menus, the restaurant, and the activities for their day and their celebration with their family and friends. As innkeepers, we are, and were, always available to our guests, however, we are not guests of the wedding, and as such, we take a role that is far more in the background than would ordinarily be the case. In this particular instance, we provided the presence that Kelin, the Bride, and Joe, the Groom, wanted for their wedding and guests.

We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant where the wedding couple hosted their "rehearsal" dinner. It is called "the Local Eatery." We will pass along your complements to Kevin, the Chef/Owner.

If you have specific concerns that you would like to discuss, we would welcome a call at 603-524-0087.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn

Address: 100 Lower Bay Rd, Sanbornton, NH 03269 (Formerly Ferry Point House Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Sanbornton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanbornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake House at Ferry Point is the only lakefront bed and breakfast in New Hampshire's Lakes Region. On our quiet, scenic property, you will be treated to idyllic views of Lake Winnisquam and its glistening water, our luscious gardens, and guardian mountains in the distance. The Lake House at Ferry Point is the perfect New Hampshire Inn. At our lake front location you will enjoy relaxing on the big front porch, or if you prefer, a more activity-filled lake house getaway, we are conveniently located near all of the best attractions that New Hampshire has to offer. You will love our comfortable ambiance, delectable breakfasts and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake House at Ferry Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.