We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steele Hill Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Steele Hill Resorts to your Saves list
Steele Hill Resorts
516 Steele Hill Road, Sanbornton, NH 03269   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sanbornton
Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
“Great wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Recently had my daughter's wedding at Steele Hill. We used the Carriage House for the ceremony & their main banquet area for the reception. Penny, Renee and the rest of the event staff were amazing. They anticipated our needs & took care of everything before we knew what was needed. Restaurant & food service was top notch. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The only (slight) tarnish on the weekend was a noisy neighbor that the front desk took could have handled better. Overall an excellent experience. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    124
    68
    42
    44
See reviews for
195
125
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Went as a potential buyer. Parking lot in horrible condition , stairs not shoveled.room in east building mediocre at best, couch extremely uncomfortable to sit on. excuse was "it's vacation week you know. " never even got to see the west building.
Best part of the weekend was the restaurant. Excellent food, courteous staff. Liked the indoor pool and spa.

Room Tip: Don't stay in east building. Old and tired
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west warwick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This resort was a wonderful place to just bring the family during off season and get reacquainted!! The indoor pool with water slides were a big hit with everyone and even though the rec area was extremely busy , once we were able to get one of the games , we had a blast ! Close enough to Laconia so there were many wonderful restaurants .. Cactus jacks was our favorite but Harts turkey farm was a close second . But the restaurant on site is wonderful and gas great views !!!Funspot was open so that was a plus . A great place to go Off season or on

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at Steele Hill a couple of times with family and friends for our winter break. We really enjoyed all that the resort and surrounding area has to offer. The pools in both buildings are very nice, especially the pools in the West building. The East rooms are a little dated, but not bad. The West and South rooms are much newer. There are nice hiking trails and a good tobogganing hill. The shops at Tilton are only about 15 minutes away. Gunstock ski hill is not very far away, as well. There is also dog sled racing available nearby- our kids really enjoyed that experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had such a great time at Steele hill. We booked
A groupon and traveled 5 hours
From New York to come! We were so pleased with the resort grounds, amentitites, my children absolutely loved the pool! (Only downside would be the amount of chlorine in it their eyes were extremely itratated after Swimming) bring goggles! they stayed for hours on the slides! We enjoyed the snow while we were there, the kids used the sleigh riding hill and ice skated on the pond. The room was extremely clean and spacious. We had a room in the west building a few doors down from the atrium pool. Amazing views, and we also
Had a great meal in the restaurant the one night we decided to dine out! Overall a very lovely Experience!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had a great time Christmas week at Steele Hill East resort that we booked through RCI. This has to be the best (free - no additional fees if you are staying at the resort) indoor pool in a timeshare resort that I've seen. The indoor pool with waterslides is fantastic and the Roman Spa is huge (in the West building). Also in the West building are X-Box Kinect games with large screen tv's, they were a little difficult to figure out, even my son had trouble, which is unusual for him.. We had a 1 Bedroom which had a scenic view of a snow covered hill. Great place to make snow men, which we saw a few. We also sledded on one of the many hills (bring snow shoes in winter it can be very slippery without them). We enjoyed the activities in the activity center and playing games, which we brought back to our unit.. There is also a nice indoor pool connected to the building we were in, with a hot tub. It was a relaxing week. Beds were real comfy. The heating unit was a bit tricky (too hot or too cold), but we figured it out after a couple of days to keep it at a comfortable level. We had a great time. We were going to go skiing at Gunstock but it got a bit wet and then icy. Grocery shopping 15 minutes away near Rte. 93. The unit had a full kitchen and we stocked up on food and saved $ by cooking in most days.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed in the west wing to be close to the large pool. The resort is very spread out so be sure you stay in the area where you will spend the most time. The large pool was fun and the fitness room was good but our room was pretty poor. I'm sure we requested non smoking but the room smelled of 20 yrs of old smoke. The decor was very outdated, not at all what I thought it would be from the website. The beds were 2 full beds that can not be pushed together bc of the way they are built.
We had fun sledding and there is a nice pond for skating.
There is Only one restaurant and it only serves breakfast on Sunday and dinner is pretty expensive so be sure to bring any extra food you might need with you.
Overall it's not a bad resort but I was disappointed at how outdated and smelly the room was, so I would not be looking to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steele Hill Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steele Hill Resorts

Address: 516 Steele Hill Road, Sanbornton, NH 03269
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Sanbornton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sanbornton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Steele Hill Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steele Hill Hotel Sanbornton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steele Hill Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.