We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stephanie @ reception desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Salem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Salem to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Red Roof Lane, Salem, NH 03079   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stephanie @ reception desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The room was suitable for our needs - good location, reasonable price, convenient parking, clean enough, and pet friendly.

What made me feel it was GREAT was the front desk persons. All three I had contact with were pleasant and competent. STEPHANIE in particular saved my day! I needed to know how to get to a drug store and also how to find two restaurants. I was tired and am terrible with directions. Stephanie took the time to really understand my needs and kindly and patiently showed me a map and even printed out directions to carefully explain where I was and the turns I had to take. I know I would have gotten lost without her special help. Thanks again Stephanie!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szagzoug, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Salem, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It means a lot to the staff as well as myself to hear comments from our guests. You are correct in that we are very lucky to have staff like Stephanie working here. The staff as a team do a great job in service and its nice to that from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    43
    22
    15
    15
See reviews for
44
38
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ripley, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here in January while working on a local Job. The desk clerk was really, nice, even giving a treat to my dog, who was travelling with me at the time. Check in was a breeze and the first floor room I checked into was clean, well equipped with a microwave and fridge, and had an excellant AC/Heater Unit. You cant beat it for the rate they charged and it was right off the expressway.

I will stay here again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szagzoug, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Salem, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It means a lot to my staff and I to get feedback from guests. We love the furry friends and treats are always here for your next visit. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Upon attempting to check in I was notified that they were overbooked for the night and they had to make other reservations at another hotel for me. This news was pretty awkward since the shuttle driver was eating chips and drinking a soda on the corner of the check in desk next to me invading my privacy.

I was promised that I would be refunded for my trouble, and put up at the other hotel (Days Inn- Methuen) at no cost to me. I noticed that they only made accommodations for one of the two night stay which I booked and went back in they said they could attempt to find a room at the inn for me. After I felt I was being made a spectacle of and having a woman behind the desk suggest I "don't take this out" on my husband and "ruin his night" I was not comfortable staying in this hotel. I was upset with the fact that I was running late for all my plans and they were inconveniencing me due to their overbooking. I was NOT upset with my husband. They said they could put us up at no cost to us for both days at the other hotel.

Unfortunately, I was never refunded my money, when we went to the other hotel the incompetent staff at the other establishment had no record of our reservation, and it took over 30 minutes to get this settled. During our 30 minute wait another customer was getting impatient and started screaming and causing a scene in the lobby.

After all this they put us in a disgusting smoking room with brown stains everywhere and filthy walls. My face swelled up from sleeping on the suspicious sheets. This whole situation was awful and now I have to deal with a credit card dispute for the accommodations which I didn't even get to stay in.

Please note they made I clear that they will not disclose over the phone when they overbook and are planning to move you somewhere else. All of this commotion and interruption ended up making me over an hour late for my plans. Awful!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szagzoug, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Salem, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We as a company do try our best not to over book the property. I am very sorry this happened to you and assure you that we did credit back your stay to the third party web site you booked it through. Often takes some time with the third party booking sites to refund charges. I also hope you received a VIP pass good for any free night at any Red Roof Inn across the country. This was a hassle for you and I am sorry about that. Please know we tried very hard to find you accommodations that would be an upgrade such as free breakfast and a pool. Sounds as if service at that hotel was lacking and I again say sorry for that. Please know this is a very rare case and I am sure that is little consolation to you, however if you ever are in the area again please contact me and I will make sure you are well take care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn because I had an early flight out of Boston Logan the next morning and most other hotels closer to the airport were either fully booked or had exorbitant prices, due to the high demand. I booked the Red Roof Inn based on the positive reviews it got on Trip Advisor. The rooms are really nicely re-done and furnished. The room was clean. Note that there are no elevators, so guests with need for an elevator should book at room on the first floor. The hotel does not offer breakfast, only free coffee. But that is ok with me. The only issue I had is that the internet was very, very slow. I needed to email a file attachment of 5MB and it took for ever. I don't know if that is the case all the time or because the hotel was fully booked and too many people were using streaming video. Internet was slow in the evening as well as early morning (prior to 6am)

Room Tip: If you cannot walk stairs book a room on first floor. No elevators at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szagzoug, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Salem, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have great news about our internet, We will be upgrading our internet the end of October 2013 to better serve our guests. We welcome you back to check it out. Thanks again for taking the time to review the Sale Red Roof Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The room was smelling quite badly. While it was declared as being a non-smoking room, it probably hadn't been at all times.

It was reasonably clean, but not perfectly so.

On checkin, I had to sign that there is an additional charge of 1.50$ for the safe deposit box, and that I could reclaim the money on checkout if I didn't use it. On checkout, the staff seemed to be surprised that I remembered the clause, but made no fuss about reimbursing the amount.

While it was acceptable to stay for one night, the combination of bad smell and the strange business practice of charging for the safe deposit box makes me rate it as below average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szagzoug, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Salem, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do offer the safe for your needs however we do not ask at check in if you have valuables for your privacy. We will refund any and all charges up to sixty days after check out. I am sorry that was not made clear at check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past. It is a good place to stay when you are going to the races at Louden. Prices every year seem to go up but they are still much better then at any other race track that we go to. This hotel is very clean the service is very good Wi-Fi connection is also a good plus. The distance from this hotel to the track is about 45 minutes but for the price it is a good distance to travel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szagzoug, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Salem, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We enjoy our race guests every year and hopr you come back again and again. I will make sure the staff gets to see your review, it makes them very happy to see our guests comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Red Roof Inn is an amazing place to stay! The service was impeccable, the rooms were spotless, and the staff exceeded expectations. The staff and hotel went above and beyond to help families with anything they needed. One staff member in particular, Samantha, was so courteous and friendly, she even recommended restaurants and daycare facilities in the area. What a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szagzoug, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Salem, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We love to here when we take care of our guests. I will be sure to share your review with the staff they take pride in great service. You are welcome back anytime you are in the area. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Salem

Address: 15 Red Roof Lane, Salem, NH 03079
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly Red Roof Inn in Salem, NH is Brand New located just off exit 2 route 93 NH just 1 mile from Canobie Lake Amusement Park in tax free New Hampshire. There you will find games and rides for all ages. It is also less than 3 miles from the tax free Rockingham Mall, many outlet stores and a large selection for your dining needs. The Ice Center is a couple of miles down the road, where there are many hockey tournaments. For your gambling needs, there is the Rockingham Race Track with simulcast horse betting. Beaches in every direction, Manchester, Concord both short drives, Boston also is only 30 minutes away, The Red Roof Inn in Salem is close to all of your travel, entertainment and vacation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.