We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel in Salem, NH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Salem

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn Salem
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Red Roof Lane, Salem, NH 03079   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Salem
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fine hotel in Salem, NH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. Salem is located only about 45 minutes north of Boston, so if you're looking to save money while visiting the city or just passing through, I suggest staying here. Breakfast is not included at this particular hotel, so keep this in mind if that is something that is important.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szagzoug, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Salem, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are conveniently located less than an hour away from Boston and right off of the highway. Making it a perfect location where you are close enough to any of the major cities but far enough away that you do not have the city prices. We are very close drive to a couple of great breakfast restaurants. If you were not able to visit any of them, I do hope that you give them a try the next time that you are in the area. We are having our rooms renovated this winter and would love for you to come by the next time that you are in the area and see our new rooms. Our RediCard program is another great plus if you are interested and you can start earning points immediately towards free nights. You can sign up and learn more about the program and what it has to offer online or at any Red Roof. Thank you again and I am pleased to hear about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    15
    14
    12
See reviews for
32
30
17
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flin Flon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a very nice Red Roof Inn. It was very modern. Our room had a very nice new flat screen TV; was clean and spacious. The front desk staff was very friendly. If you are on a budget I cannot imagine a better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
szagzoug, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Salem, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will be going through room renovations soon and the rooms will be updated even more than they alread are. I do hope that the next time that you are in the area, you will come by and see the changes that are done to the rooms. All of the staff members take great pride in their work. I will share your comments with them.

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerport, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had made 5 reservations, for 15 people and two dogs, months in advance, trying to confirm on-line using the confirmation numbers did not work. I had arrived ahead of the party and the desk clerk on duty, Amy, worked through the computer being down found all 5 reservations in the system and had everyone at ease. Thank You Amy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LILLE, MAINE
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This property continues to be my favorite place to stay when going to Boston. It was last reviewed on Nov. 27, 2009. I have yet to be disappointed after staying here over a dozen times in the past couple years. The rooms are always clean and comfortable and the staff will go out of their way to making my stay here stress-free. The addition of WiFi access in the rooms is greatly appreciated. This is the place to stay if you want an affordable room within an easy drive to Boston.

Room Tip: Rooms with a refrigerator and microwave command a slightly higher rate. A bus terminal abutting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have stayed at this Red Roof several times but this will be our last. I know the hotel is pet friendly and from past experience I made a request at time of booking for a room with no pet odours. Perhaps they read my request wrong since our room had a nice feline urine smell in the corner beside the TV cabinet. But this wasn't the worst part! The bathroom had been very poorly cleaned. When the bathroom door was closed behind it was plenty of dirt and plenty of little pieces of toilet paper....yuk!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Since I'm away approx. 130 nights per year the combination of facility and service is important to me. Recently, I've added Red Roof Salem, NH as oneof my regular stops. The facility is always clean and lives up to my expectations. But, the main reason I go back, as frequently as I do, is the staff...especially Doris. She has a way of making me feel important and appreciated even when the facility is full and there are lots of guests that need attention. She is professional and competent and if I have a special request I know that Doris will take care of it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel was clean. Free WI-FI in rooms and a safe for which there is a charge.
BUT the towels were like sandpaper and the people at the desk did not know or care to share information about local restuarants. They did send a questionnaire the day after we stayed which I took the time to fill out and they sent a note of apology and told us they would take $20 off our bill for our inconvenience. I just wonder what they would do about the towels?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Salem

Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Salem Hotel
Red Roof Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Red Roof Inn
Address: 15 Red Roof Lane, Salem, NH 03079
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Salem 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet friendly Red Roof Inn in Salem, NH is Brand New located just off exit 2 route 93 NH just 1 mile from Canobie Lake Amusement Park in tax free New Hampshire. There you will find games and rides for all ages. It is also less than 3 miles from the tax free Rockingham Mall, many outlet stores and a large selection for your dining needs. The Ice Center is a couple of miles down the road, where there are many hockey tournaments. For your gambling needs, there is the Rockingham Race Track with simulcast horse betting. Beaches in every direction, Manchester, Concord both short drives, Boston also is only 30 minutes away, The Red Roof Inn in Salem is close to all of your travel, entertainment and vacation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.