We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Amalfi

Trattoria Amalfi
385 S Broadway Ste A, Salem, NH 03079-4328
(603) 893-5773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 93 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food - pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Unexpected quality and service in a strip mall location. We went on a Thursday evening and the place was packed. Reasonable spacing between the patrons. Recommend you ask for alcove booth seating for a bit more intimacy. We had the veal and the stuffed cheese ravioli. Both came very hot to the table and had pleasant flavors.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice find close to home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were looking for a restaurant this past Friday night that we hadn't tried and I remembered seeing this one while driving south on Rte 28 in Salem. So we decided to try it and it was a good experience. We didn't have a reservation and arrived about 7:30. We waited just about 20 minutes at the bar. While sitting there, the people to the left of us received their food and the dish I could see was two very nice looking stuffed pork chops. The gentleman said that they come here frequently and always have a nice meal.

Once seated, we ordered and finished our wine - which were very generous pours. The white was Cavit Pinot Grigio, not my favorite but drinkable. The bread came - nothing special with little containers of butter and Promise. This is a pet peeve of mine...with all the good Italian bread floating around the area, why not serve a good crusty Italian with dipping oil?

We ordered Chicken Danielle and a chicken ravioli special, plus a caesar salad to share. All were more than ample servings and good, once we added salt and pepper. I'm always amazed at kitchens that are afraid to season their food. And while the place had that nice "garlicky" smell, there wasn't a trace of it in my chicken dish. That, some capers, and more than a couple sprinkles of the Kalamata olives that were supposedly part of the dish would have made a big difference. My dish came with a side of pasta with marinara. I don't like sweet sauce, and this one didn't disappoint. But again, a little more seasoning would transform a dish from ordinary to outstanding.

The service was spot-on, the atmosphere very nice - white tablecloths, strands of white lights adding a little sparkle, and some tables are in little alcoves for a bit of romantic privacy. The bar area is big with two flat screen tvs mounted high on one wall but silenced. It might be a pleasant place to hang out and watch your favorite sporting event without a loud bar scene. Because it's located in a strip mall area, parking is ample.

We'll go again and make a few requests to have our food seasoned more to our preferences. It's an easy fix.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tucked Away Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Amalfi is tucked away in a small plaza on Rt 28. You can easily miss it if you've never been there, but it's well worth the effort to find!

The food at Amalfi is great and the portions big sand the prices very fair. Authentic, rustic Italian flavors. We ordered the garlic bread, which to be honest, we could have done without. That was about the only thing we can say wasn't really good, The garlic cheese bread is something anyone can do at home, with little to no effort. Other than that, the food is consistantly good and diners will most likely enjoy whatever they order.

The decor is a bit peculiar, not exactly "high end" but there are many very booths that help to make you feel like you're enjoying a very private dining experience. This is a great place to have a romantic dinner!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
methuen, ma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favorite restauant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My huband and I love Trattoria Amalfi! I have never had a bad meal there. The atmosphere is romantic, the service is good, and the food is delicious.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had been here a couple of times and this restaurant is always a nice elegant italian restaurant with great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trattoria Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.