We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time with one footnote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canobie Lake Park

Canobie Lake Park
N Policy Rd, Salem, NH 03079
918-744-1991
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This amusement park, built in 1902, has 40 rides, including a 102-year-old carousel and roller coaster.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good time with one footnote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We recently went to Canobie Lake for the first time. When we got there, the parking lot was jammed with a tons of school buses lines up too, so I thought great we'll be waiting in line all day and get on only a few rides. I couldn't have been more wrong. The lines move pretty quick and there are enough of them to distribute the guests so you can hit quite a few rides within a short period of time. We went on the Log Flume, Timber Splash, Mine ride, Boston Harbor Patrol, Over the Rainbow, Antique Cars and too many more to name. The park is very clean and the staff was young but very professional. From what I gathered, it seems every cluster of rides has an area supervisor who is never too far from the area they are assigned which leads to a tight running ship. Now for the hang-up. Try to go on a day where thunderstorms are not forecast. We were there during a thunderstorm that passed and it took some time before they were back up. They seem to do all these safety checks which is fair and fine, but running empty Boston Tea Party boats and Untamed coaster cars 25 to 30 times seemed a little excessive, especially when the sky is now sunny. All the operators seem to be waiting for a call to re-open that takes forever to come. In addition, they are pretty stringent on a lot of the height guidelines. My son who will turn 6 next months was turned away from the Dodge Em' bumper cars because he was an inch short of the 48 required. He's done bumper cars at carnivals and Santa Village many times without issue and also went on Splash Mountain and Thunder Mountain down in Disney World, so the stress on safety can feel a little over the top. The food is pricey, bit nothing out of the ordinary for amusement park prices. We ordered a pizza and had a few beers in Portifino's at a booth overlooking the lake. Bottom line, great park close to Boston to spend a day without having to stay overnight. Clean, great staff, but it does have a few quirks which are manageable. We would definitely go again

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    171
    39
    11
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pascoag, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good, clean family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Went on a weekday to avoid crowds. Got there right after the park opened, and did not leave until they were closing down. Time flew, since we were having fun! Rides for kids of ALL ages, good food, and a water playground for the kids to play, while Mom and Dad sit back and relax for a while. Best of all, the place is clean and well-maintained. We went to Six Flags last summer, and could not have been more disappointed - almost scared us away from amusement parks. Glad we decided to give this place a try. Would recommend to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small, relaxing and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I usually go to Canobie Lake when I don't want to go to the big parks. I never had a problem of waiting too much or having rides closed, but you have to keep in mind the peak season and eventualities that might happen.

The place looks fantastic and relaxing, lots of trees shadows, the rides are small and somewhat old fashioned, so don't go in thinking you are going to a six flags. The water park is very simple and mostly for kids. It's a place for the whole family, even with little ones. I love the boat rides and specially the shows! Make sure to check out the website for schedules. Parking is free, which is great, but food is bad and expensive, wish we could bring our own.

Overall the place is relaxing (considering it's an amusement park), and fun. I would rate better with cheaper rates (bellow $30), so we could go more often and better food/price stands.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great family fun. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I've been coming to this park for the last 40 years with my family. I'm so happy that I can now bring a new generation of family members to this iconic park. There are rides for everyone -- those who like roller coasters and those who don't. Young and old. They also have a small water park and several flume/water rides. There is a small section of the park for very small kids.

The park is clean and the staff are friendly. There are plenty of bathrooms in the front and the back of the park and plenty of places to grab a bite to eat. Things get a little expensive with the food. A bottle of water at the time of this review was $2.75. You cannot bring food into the park, but many people bring picnic lunches and "tail gate" outside in the parking lot. You are allowed back into the park with a stamp on your hand so you can come and go as often as you like.

They have strollers and wheel chairs (manual and electric) for rent and they also have lockers for a charge.

This is a fun, family friendly park. I highly recommend it. In the summer it opens at 11am and stays open until 10 pm weather permitting so plan to spend the day. Depending on the night, they even have fireworks in the evenings, I believe the weekends.

Parking is plentiful and FREE. The admission price is reasonable. You can use AAA for a $6 discount or get coupons at local restaurants for $4. The cost is $36 for people over 48 inches and about $27 for under.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great family outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Canobie Lake Park is an outstanding experience for families -- for the very young, the old and every age in between. Parking is ample and free. The park entrance is very smoothly operated with enough booths open to avoid long waits. The park staff is very friendly and helpful, and they accommodate your family's needs exceptionally well. There are a wide variety of rides and attractions from the tame to the absolutely wild. Basic comfort is well handled with plenty of restroom facilities, shady benches and food options galore. If you like games, you'll find more than enough to occupy you, and if you want to cool off, there are many opportunities to get wet, from the water park to the Boston Tea Party -- a tidal wave of fun! The value is terrific, it's compact, clean and safe, and you'll see smiles everywhere you look. Take a drive and have one of the best family days you can imagine.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canobie Lake Park also viewed

 

Been to Canobie Lake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canobie Lake Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.